Stevie Wonder

Stevie Wonder is an American R&B musician, vocalist, songwriter, and producer who began recording for Tamla/Motown in 1962 at age 12. During the mid-to-late 1960s, he scored a string of pop hits for the label, culminating with the decade-ending ballad “My Cherie Amour” and 1970’s “Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours.” Upon turning 21, he gained […]


Kashif Saleem — aka Michael Jones (Dec. 26, 1956 — Sept. 25, 2016) — was an American R&B singer, songwriter, and keyboardist from Manhattan who first emerged as a member of B.T. Express, joining the band in 1974 at age 17 and appearing on their first five albums. After leaving the band, he served as […]

Evelyn “Champagne” King

Evelyn “Champagne” King (born July 1, 1960) is an American soul-funk singer from the Bronx. Discography: Smooth Talk (1977) Music Box (1979) Call on Me (1980) I’m in Love (1981) Get Loose (1982) Face to Face (1983) So Romantic (1984) A Long Time Coming (A Change Is Gonna Come) (1985) Flirt (1988) The Girl Next […]


Sparks is the American musical partnership of keyboardist–songwriter Ron Mael and his vocalist brother Russell Mael. They’ve been active since the late 1960s when they formed the quintet Halfnelson with drummer Harley Feinstein and another set of brothers, guitarist Earl Mankey and guitarist–bassist Jim Mankey. They signed to Bearsville for the 1971 release Halfnelson, produced […]

Sonny Sharrock

Sonny Sharrock (Aug. 27, 1940 — May 25, 1994) was an American avant-jazz guitarist from Ossining, N.Y. Discography: Black Woman (1969) Monkey-Pockie-Boo (1970) Green Line (1971 • Steve Marcus, Sonny Sharrock, Miroslav Vitous & Daniel Humair) Paradise (1975 • Sonny & Linda Sharrock) Dance With Me Montana (1986 • Sonny Sharrock Trio) Guitar (1986) Seize […]


Ratt are an American hard-rock/metal band from San Diego that released a self-titled EP on Music for Nations in 1983, followed by five albums on Atlantic between 1984 and 1990. Members: Stephen Pearcy (vocals), Robbin Crosby (guitar, vocals, 1981-91), Joey Cristofanilli (bass, 1981-82), Warren DeMartini (guitar, vocals, 1982-92), Marq Torien (guitar, vocals, 1982), Juan Croucier […]

Patrice Rushen

Patrice Rushen (born Sept. 30, 1954) is an American musician and composer who began her career as a jazz keyboardist in the mid-1970s, playing on albums by Alphonso Johnson, Azar Lawrence, Donald Byrd, Eddie Henderson, Harvey Mason, Jean-Luc Ponty, and Luis Gasca. She was born Patrice Louise Rushen on September 30, 1954, in Los Angeles. […]