Deaf School

Deaf School are an English art-rock band that released three albums on Warner Brothers between 1976 and 1978. On its first two albums — 2nd Honeymoon (1976) and Don’t Stop the World (1977) — the band pairs ’30s/’40s ambience (cabaret, music hall) with the lavish arrangements of contemporary theatrical pop (Sparks, Sailor, Cockney Rebel, Brian […]

Dalek I

Dalek I were an English electro/art-pop combo from Liverpool that released two albums and a clutch of singles between 1979 and 1983. Originally called Dalek I Love You — a space-age play on the phrase “darling I love you” — the band distilled from a late-’70s Liverpudlian conglomerate that would also yield future members of […]


Wah! was the revolving band-moniker of Liverpudlian guitarist/vocalist Pete Wylie. The name first appeared as Wah! Heat on a pair of singles issued by small-press Inevitable Music in 1980. In 1981, the band dropped “Heat” from its name and issued a standalone single and the album Nah=Poo – The Art of Bluff on WEA-subsidiary Eternal, […]


Godot were an English coldwave/synthpop combo from Liverpool that self-released a four-song EP in 1981, followed by a standalone single on Pinnacle Records in 1982. Keyboardist David Hughes had been one-half of Dalek I on its two 1979/80 singles and the album Compass Kum’pas. He briefly played with Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, appearing on […]

Modern Eon

Modern Eon were an English New Wave/goth band from Liverpool that released an EP on self-press Eon Records in 1979, followed by the album Fiction Tales with accompanying b-sides on DinDisc in 1981. Members: Alix Plain [aka Alex Johnson] (guitar, vocals, percussion, keyboards, horn), Danny Hampson (bass, vocals), Tim Lever (guitar, saxophone, 1980-81), Joey McKechnie […]

The Pale Fountains

The Pale Fountains were an English quartet that was active during the early-to-mid 1980s. Between 1982 and 1985, the band released several singles and two albums on Virgin. Members: Michael Head (guitar, vocals), John Head (guitar), Chris McCaffery (bass), Thomas Whelan (drums), Andy Diagram (trumpet)   Discography: Pacific Street (1984) …From Across the Kitchen Table […]

The Lotus Eaters

The Lotus Eaters were an English sophiti-pop combo of the mid-1980s. Spawned from the ever-thriving Merseyside, the band released several singles and one album on Arista/Sylvan. Members: Peter Coyle (vocals), Jeremy ‘Jerry’ Kelly (guitar), Michael Dempsey (bass), Gerard Quinn (keyboards), Steve Creese (drums) In 1982, The Lotus Eaters formed around the trio of Peter Coyle, […]

It’s Immaterial

It’s Immaterial were an English sophisti-pop band from Liverpool that released a string of shortplayers on assorted small-press labels between 1980 and 1985, followed by two albums on Siren between 1986 and 1990. Members: John J. Campbell (vocals), Martin Dempsey (guitar, 1980-84), Henry Priestman (keyboards, 1980-84), Paul Barlow (drums, 1980-84), Jarvis Whitehead (guitar, keyboards, 1982-90) […]

Hambi & the Dance

Hambi & the Dance were an English New Wave band from Liverpool that released the album Heartache with accompanying singles on Virgin in 1982. Alongside A Flock of Seagulls, the band were the second significant spinoff to emerge from the 1979 Mersey-side shortplayer act Tontrix. Namesake vocalist/guitarist Hambi Harolambous released further singles and the album […]