Josef K

Josef K were a Scottish New Wave/pop-rock band from Edinburgh that debuted with a single on self-press Absolute Records in 1979, followed by the album The Only Fun in Town with accompanying singles on Postcard Records in 1981. Two further singles followed on Les Disques Du Crépuscule in 1981/82. The album was preceded by the […]

Café Jacques

Café Jacques was a Scottish art-pop/soul trio from Edinburgh that released two albums on Epic/Columbia between 1977 and 1978. Members: Chris Thomson (guitar, vocals), Mike Ogletree (drums, percussion, acoustic guitar, vocals), Peter Veitch (keyboards, accordion) The band’s two albums were produced by then-Quantum Jump keyboardist/vocalist Rupert Hine with instrumental support from Spirogyra/Caravan multi-instrumentalist Geoffrey Richardson and […]

Altered Images

Altered Images were a Scottish New Wave pop band that was active during the early 1980s. The band debuted in 1981 with the Epic single “Dead Pop Stars,” followed later that year by the album Happy Birthday. Both releases were produced by Siouxsie and the Banshees bassist Steve Severin. A second Altered Images album, Pinky […]

Aztec Camera

Aztec Camera were a Scottish pop/rock combo centered on the talents of guitarist/vocalist/songwriter Roddy Frame. Formed in East Kilbride in 1980, the band released a pair of singles on Glaswegian small-press Postcard in advance of their popular debut album High Land, Hard Rain, which appeared in 1983 on Rough Trade. Mark Knopfler produced the band’s […]


Donovan (born May 10, 1946) is a Scottish folk-rock singer, guitarist, and songwriter who premiered with a pair of albums on Pye in 1965, followed by a prolific run of titles on Epic between 1966 and 1976. After a self-titled one-off on RAK in 1977, he released a further round of albums on RCA during […]

Beggars Opera

Beggars Opera are a Scottish symphonic/psych band that was initially active during the first half of the 1970s. The band released four albums on Vertigo between 1970 and 1973 — including the popular 1971/72 efforts Waters of Change and Pathfinder — followed by two mid-decade titles on Jupiter. A return to Vertigo yielded the 1980 album Life […]

Bread Love and Dreams

Bread Love and Dreams were a Scottish folk trio that released three albums on Decca between 1969 and 1971. Members: David McNiven (vocals, guitar, flute, harmonica), Angie Rew (vocals, guitar, percussion), Carolyn Davis (vocals, guitar) Discography: Bread Love and Dreams (1969) The Strange Tale of Captain Shannon and the Hunchback from Gigha (1970) Amaryllis (1971)

Modern Man

Modern Man were a Scottish New Wave band that released the album Concrete Scheme with accompanying singles on MAM Records in 1980. Members: Jim Cook (vocals), Colin King (drums), Ali McLeod (guitar), Danny Mitchell (guitar), Mike Moran (bass) Discography: Concrete Scheme (1980) “Things Could Be Better” (1981)