Container were a Swiss jazz-rock band band that released a self-titled album in 1976 on local-press Image. Three of the members hailed from the Jazz Rock Experience. Saxophonist/keyboardist Bruno Spoerri became a prolific electronic musician. Members: Bruno Spoerri (alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, tenor saxophone, sopranino saxophone, Lyricon, synthesizer, producer), Nick Bertschinger (piano, electric piano, Clavinet, […]


Welcome were a Swiss rock trio active from the mid-to-late 1970s. Signed to the local branch of Columbia Records, the band released its homonymous debut LP in 1976. Members: Tommy Stebel (percussion, acoustic guitar, vocals), Bernie Krauer (keyboards, vocals, 1975-80), Francis Jost (bass, vocals, 1975-77), Helmi Erdinger (bass, 1978-80), Jean De Anthony (guitar, 1979-81) With […]

Blue Motion

Blue Motion were a Swiss avant-classical keyboard trio that sprung from the ashes of Circus. They snuck into a Riehen studio on the night of October 1–2, 1980, and recorded their singular album, released that year on local-press Amos. The clandestine recording was later issued by archivists Laser’s Edge (1992) and Belle Antique (2013). Members: […]

After Shave

After Shave were a Swiss hard rock band that was active during the early 1970s. The band locally released one album, Skin Deep, in 1972. Members: Pierre-Alain “Pakman” Kessi (guitar, vocals), André “Dédé” Pascal (drums, 1968-70), Bruno Zuest (vocals, 1968-70), “Noudi” (bass, 1968-70), Jean-Claude “Cacou” Fontana (vocals, bass, 1970-73), Rodolphe “Jötu” Baumgartner (drums, 1970-75), Barry […]


Trumpetmachine was the name given to a multinational jazz-rock collective assembled by Swiss keyboardist/bandleader George Gruntz for a series of recording sessions conducted over three days in June 1977. The fruits of these sessions were collected on the album For Flying Out Proud, released the following year on the German MPS label. Members: Franco Ambrosetti […]

Round House

Round House were a Swiss brass-rock band that released two albums and a standalone single on Harvest in 1972 and 1973. Members: Bernd Heil (guitar, bass, vocals), Ralph Bloch (drums), Jean-Pierre Wuttke (tenor saxophone, alto saxophone), Gustav Csik (organ, tenor saxophone), Laszlo Juhasz (trumpet, bass), Kurt Weil (trombone, vibraphone) Discography: ‘Scuse Me (1972) “Listen People” […]


Eloiteron were a Swiss symphonic-rock band from Zürich that released the album Lost Paradise on their eponymous self-press in 1981. Members: Martin Frey (piano, organ, synthesizer, Mellotron, ARP Solina string ensemble), Dani Reimann (drums), Christian Frey (piano, organ, synthesizer, Mellotron, ARP Solina string ensemble, vocals), Harry Schärer (bass, guitar, vocals, synthesizer), Stefan Frey (flute, trumpet, […]


Sicher were a Swiss symphonic-rock band that self-released an eponymous album in 1981. Members: Markus Sibler (keyboards), Klaus Caspar (keyboards, tenor saxophone), Beat Lustenberger (drums), Kuno Müller (electric guitar), Peter Müller (bass, acoustic guitar), Stefan Sieber (cello, bass), Paul Sieber (flute), Catherine Graf (flute) Discography: Sicher (1981)


Om were a Swiss avant-jazz quartet from Luzern that debuted with a half-live/half-studio album on Indian Records in 1975, followed by four albums on Japo Records between 1976 and 1980. Members: Christy Doran (guitar), Fredy Studer (drums), Bobby Burri (bass), Urs Leimgruber (saxophone) Discography: Montreux (live) & More (1975) Kirikuki (1976) Om with Dom Um […]

Larsen Rupin

Larsen Rupin were a Swiss avant-rock band that released the album A Ban on Ayaa in 1991, followed by two self-pressed discs during the 2000s. Members: Daniel Spahni (drums), Gilbert Ummel (saxophone, vocals), André Schenk (bass), Pier-Luigi Pision (guitar, 2007-08), Julien Baillod [aka Bio] (guitar, 2008-present) Discography: A Ban (1991) Contredanses (2003) Procès Verbal (2007)

Diethelm / Famulari

Diethelm / Famulari were a Swiss avant-rock duo comprised of guitarist/keyboardist Thomas Diethelm and keyboardist Santino Famulari. The pair released a self-titled album on Polydor in 1983 that was reissued the following year as The Flyer on Philips. In 1984, the pair released Valleys in My Head on Mercury. Individually, Diethelm released the 1981 album […]


Coroner were a Swiss heavy metal band from Zürich that issued a cassette album on self-press Rip Rec in 1986, followed by five albums on Noise International between 1987 and 1993. Members: Marquis Marky (drums, 1983-2014), Tommy Ritter (guitar, 1983-84), Phil Puzctai (bass, 1983-84), Pete Attinger (vocals, 1983-84), Oliver Amberg (guitar, vocals, 1984-85), Ron Royce […]

No Secrets in the Family

No Secrets in the Family were a Swiss art-pop band from Zürich that released the album In a Certain Light We All Appear Green on Ex Libris/Musikszene Schweiz in 1987, followed by the 1990/92 titles Play & Strange Laughter and Kleinzeit on local ReR-subsidiary RecRecMusic. Members: Annette Schönholzer (keyboards, synthesizer, vocals), Markus Schönholzer (guitar, vocals), […]


Nimal were a Swiss chamber-rock/folk band from Neuchâtel that released a self-titled album on local ReR-subsidiary RecRec Music in 1987, followed by the disc Voix de Surface in 1990. The band’s third and final album, DisTanz, appeared on the French ReR branch Ayaa in 1992. Members: Jean-Maurice Rossel (guitar, hurdy-gurdy, bouzouki), Tom Cora (cello), Bratko […]


Yello was a Swiss electro/art-pop combo from Zürich that emerged on Ralph Records with the 1980/81 albums Solid Pleasure and Claro que Si. In 1983, they scored a crossover hit with “I Love You” from their Stiff release You Gotta Say Yes to Another Excess. Trimmed to the duo of Boris Blank and Dieter Meier, […]


Toad were a Swiss hard-rock band from Basel that released two albums with accompanying singles on Hallelujah during 1971 and 1972, followed by a third album on Frog Records in 1975. Additional live and studio recordings from the period were later released by archivists Arkama. Members: Vittorio “Vic” Vergeat (guitar, vocals, piano), Cosimo Lampis (drums, […]


Starter were a Swiss coldwave/synthpop trio from Bern that released a self-titled album on Repertoire Records in 1981. A change in lineup yielded three 1985–87 singles on Bariton Records and a final 12″ on Atina Records in 1989. Members: Francis Foss (keyboards, vocals), Claudine Chirac (saxophone, keyboards, 1981-84), Jet Harbour (keyboards, 1981-84), Pauchard (1985-89), Reto […]