Crack were a Spanish symphonic-rock band that released the album Si Todo Hiciera Crack on Chapa in 1979. Members: Alex Cabral (bass), Alberto Fontaneda (guitar, flute, vocals), Mento Hevia (keyboards, vocals), Manolo Jiménez (drums), Rafael Rodríguez (guitar) Crack was formed in the late 1970s by five young musicians from Gijón in the north-coast community of […]


Mezquita were a Spanish symphonic-rock band from Córdoba that released two albums on Chapa between 1979 and 1981. Members: José Rafael García (guitar, vocals), Rosca López (keyboards, vocals), Randy López (bass, percussion, vocals), Rafael Zorrilla (drums, percussion, vocals) Mezquita evolved from the hard-rock band Expresión, which recorded two album’s worth of material between 1972 and […]


Alacrán was a Spanish psych-rock trio that released a self-titled album in 1971. Members: Fernando Arbex (drums, percussion, guitar), Óscar Lasprilla (guitar, keyboards), Iñaki Egaña (vocals, bass) Alacrán formed in 1970 when bassist/singer Iñaki Egaña, formerly of beatsters Los Buenos, teamed with guitarist/keyboardist Óscar Lasprilla and drummer Fernando Arbex, both from rival beatsters Los Brincos. […]


Tapimán were a Spanish hard-rock/psych band that released a pair of singles and a self-titled album on Edigsa circa 1971/72, followed by a decade-ending album on Chapa. Members: Joaquim “Max” Sunyer (guitar), José María Vilaseca “Tapi” (drums), Pepe Fernández (bass), Miguel Ángel Núñez (guitar) Discography: “Hey, You!” / “Sugar Stone” (1971) “Love Country” / “Walkin […]


Zebra were a Spanish rock band that released seven singles on Novola between 1972 and 1975, followed by a self-titled album on the label in 1976. The band were a spin-off of Los Bravos and originally included Anthony Anderson — brother of Yes-frontman Jon Anderson — on vocals. Members: Joan Bibiloni (vocals, guitar), Agustí Fernández […]

Vainica Doble

Vainica Doble were a Spanish folk duo formed in 1966 by singing guitarists Gloria van Aerssen (May 1, 1932 — Oct. 22, 2015) and Carmen Santonja (1934 — July, 2000). The pair was most prolific between 1970 and 1984, releasing six albums and 12 singles on assorted labels. Members: Carmen Santonja (vocals, guitar), Gloria van […]


Vega were a Spanish Andalusian rock band that released three albums on Movieplay between 1978 and 1981. Members: Tomás Vega (guitar), Guty López (bass), J. Quiles (bass), Larry Martín (drums), J. Sanchez (drums), Pedro Ample (percussion), Rafael Guillermo (keyboards), J.L. Torres (keyboards), Richard Krull (keyboards), Jorge Pardo (saxophone), Enrique Carmona (guitar) Discography: Andaluza (1978) Jara […]


Tribu were a Spanish jazz-rock band that released two albums on Odeon between 1978 and 1980. Members: Santi Arisa (drums), Lluis Martí (bass, vocals), Maurizi Villavecchia (piano, accordion, vocals), Josep M. Durán (guitars), Ferran Saló (violin, vocals), Tita Soler (flute), Liba Villavecchia (winds), Josep Lluis Soler (trumpet, piano) Discography: Barriu Chinu (1978) Que em de […]


Triana were a Spanish rock trio from Sevilla, Andalucía, formed in 1973 and active in their first iteration for 10 years. The band released their debut album on Movieplay in 1975, followed by five further albums on the label’s Gong subsidiary between 1977 and 1983. Members: Eduardo Rodríguez Rodway (guitar), Jesús de la Rosa (organ, […]


Tílburi were a Spanish symphonic-folk trio that released two albums on Movieplay in 1975 and 1976. Members: José Luis Barceló (guitar, mandolin, bass, violin, vocals), Antonio Rentería (guitar, vocals), Nano Domínguez (bass, guitar) Discography: ¡Al Fin! (1975) Alcocebre (1976)

Teresa Cano

Teresa Cano is a Spanish singer who collaborated with songwriter Antonio Resines on the album Canciones de Carcel de Ho Chi, released in 1976 on Movieplay. Her singular solo album, Si las Cosas no Fueran tan Enojosas, appeared in 1978 on the Nevada label. Discography: Canciones de Carcel de Ho Chi (1976 • Antonio Resines […]

Teclados Fritos

Teclados Fritos were a Spanish art-rock band that released two albums on Movieplay and Mayra between 1978 and 1980, followed by a standalone single on Columbia in 1983. Members: Manolo Benítez (guitar, vocals), Jaime Llorca (keyboards, vocals), José María Suárez (bass, vocals), Emilio Molina (drums) Discography: Teclados Fritos (1978) Decadencia (1980) “Crisis de Personalidad” / […]


Tarántula were a Spanish symphonic/hard-rock band that released a self-titled album on Novola in 1976, followed by a numerically titled second effort on Chapa in 1978. Members: Rafael Cabrera (vocals), Emilio Santonja (drums), Manolo Peydró (guitar), Vicente Guillot (keyboards), José Pereira (bass), José Vicente (guitar), Ana María González Pazos (vocals), Enrique Alfonso Almiñana (vocals), Manuel […]


Tabletom were a Spanish rock band that issued the album Mezclalina on RCA in 1980, followed by a cassette-only release on Fonodis in 1983. Further albums appeared at sporadic intervals over the subsequent three decades. Members: Roberto “Rockberto” González (vocals, 1976-2011), Pedro Ramírez (guitar), José Manuel “Pepillo” Ramírez (flute), Jesús Ortiz (bass, violin, 1976-85), Javier […]


N.H.U. were a Spanish symphonic/jazz-rock band that released a self-titled album on Novola in 1978. Members: Tino Grandío (bass), Roberto Abal (guitar), Xurxo Pérez (Hammond, keyboards), Xosé Garea [aka Xosé Ferreiro] (drums, vocals), Julio Garea [aka Xulio Ferreiro] (percussion), Antonio Fernández [aka Bretch] (guitar), Xoan Piñón Prado (guitar, 1974-76), Emilio Cao (violin), Jesús Alonso [aka […]

The Storm

The Storm were a Spanish hard-rock band that released a self-titled album on BASF in 1975. Dropping the definite article from their nameplate, the band issued a second album on Alba in 1979. Members: Luis Genil (keyboards, vocals), Ángel Ruiz (guitar, vocals), Diego Ruiz (drums, vocals), José Torres (bass, vocals), Pedro García (bass) Discography: The […]

Secta Sónica

Secta Sónica were a Spanish jazz-rock band that released two albums on Zeleste during 1976 and 1977. Members: Xavier Aparicio [aka Gato Pérez] (bass), Jordi Bonell (guitar), Rafael Zaragoza [aka Zarita] (guitar), Victor Cortina (guitar), Nacho Quixano (drums, 1975), Toni Arasil (drums, 1976), Jordi Vilella [aka Dum Dum] (drums, 1977), Noel Mujica (percussion, 1977), Dabe […]


Sakre were a Spanish symphonic-rock band that released the album Bizitako Gauzak on Elkar in 1978. Members: Iñaki Mezquita (guitar, vocals), Imanol Aramburu (piano, organ, vocals), J. Victor Carracedo (bass), Juan Carlos Badiola (drums) Discography: Bizitako Gauzak (1978)


Programa were a Spanish electronic/coldwave duo that released two albums on PDI and Picap between 1983 and 1985. The band was co-founded by Neuronium alumnus Carlos Guirao just after the release of his 1982 solo album Revelation. Members: Josep Antoni López (1983-87, 1999-2003), Carlos Guirao (1983-87), Maria Ciria (1999-2003) Discography: Síntesis Digital (1983) Acrópolis (1985)

Pedro Ruy-Blas

Pedro Ruy-Blas (born 1949) is a Spanish singer/songwriter who released five singles on Poplandia between 1970 and 1972. In 1975, he released the jazz-rock album Luna llena on Polydor with musicians who would eventually form Dolores. After a second co-headlining release from this liaison, the band became autonomous with Ruy-Blas serving as their vocalist and […]