Ahora Mazda

Ahora Mazda was a Dutch ethno/psych band that released a self-titled album on Catfish in 1970. Members: Peter Abbink (guitar, vocals, piano, trumpet, organ, bass), Rob van Wageningen (flute, saxophone, vocals, percussion, kalimba), Tony Schreuder (bass, percussion), Winky Abbink (drums, 1969-71), Paul van Wageningen (drums, percussion, 1971) Background Ahora Mazda evolved from the Free Art […]


Scope were a Dutch instrumental jazz-rock band that released two albums on Atlantic between 1974 and 1975. Members: Henk Zomer (drums, 1971-76), Rik Elings (keyboards, flute, bass), Rens Nieuwland (guitar), Erik Raayman (bass, 1971-75), Rob Franken (keyboards, 1975-76), Robert Vink (drums, 1976), Roland Zeldenrust (drums, 1976), Pablo Nahar (bass, 1976) Along with Crypto, Scope was […]


Wargaren were a Dutch trad-folk quartet active during the mid-1970s. The band released their lone album, Met Stille Trom, on the local Universe Productions label in 1976. Members: Rob Smaling (guitar, vocals), Rina de Heus (vocals, autoharp), Kees van der Poel (guitar, vocals), Jurek Willig (guitar, vocals) A balanced clarity of interplay is exhibited on […]


Drama were a Dutch hard-rock/psych band that released four singles and an eponymous album on Philips between 1971 and 1973. Members: Polle Eduard (bass, acoustic guitar, vocals), Uly Grün (Hammond organ, Mellotron, guitar, vocals), Frank van der Kloot (guitar, vocals), Shell Schellekens (drums) Discography: Drama (1972)


Störung were a Dutch coldwave duo that released the album This Is Future in 1982 on Clogsontronics, followed by a cassette-only live recording on Combinator. Members: Eugenius [Eus Otte] (guitar, vocals), Arian Brunwin [Hylkia de Jong] (synthesizer, vocals) Discography: This Is Future (1982) The Art of Combining (1983)


Tower were a Dutch pomp-rock band that released several singles and the 1982 album Titan on Dureco Benelux. Members: Marian Pijnaker (vocals), Ton Hoogeboom (drums), Cor van Hoogt (vocals, guitar), Henk van Loon (keyboards, vocals), Ben Petersen (bass) Discography: Titan (1982)

Ensemble Pittoresque

Ensemble Pittoresque were a Dutch coldwave band that released two albums on Clogsontronics and Vip Records circa 1983/84. In 2007, a 40-minute demo recorded in 1982 was issued by U.S. specialty label Minimal Wave. Members: Richard Neumöller (vocals, guitar, tapes), Paulus Wieland (synthesizer, piano), Marion Prinz (vocals, synthesizer, 1983-84), Le Biquo (synthesizer, trumpet, 1983-84), Ed […]


Flue were a Dutch coldwave/art-punk band that released a single and two albums between 1980 and 1983 on Torso. Members: Cor Bolten, Edward Gijsen (vocals, guitar, synthesizer, piano, bass), Judith Smorenberg (synthesizer), Hans (drums), Jerome (bass) Discography: “Jerome” / “Ugly People” (1980) One and a Half (1981) Vista (1983) “Some-times (in Arabia)” / “Legacy” (1987)


Mirror were a Dutch symphonic-rock quintet that self-pressed the album Daybreak in 1978. Three-fifths of the band went on to form the similarly styled Lethe. Members: Kees Walravens (guitar), Paula Mennen (vocals, keyboards), Philip de Goey (saxophone, flute, oboe), Johan Saanen (bass), Peter Fransen (drums) Discography: Daybreak (1978)

Third Eye

Third Eye were a Dutch jazz-rock band that released two albums on Ring between 1976 and 1977. Members: Jan Huydts (electric piano, synthesizer, Mellotron), Alfred Haurand (bass, percussion), Leo de Ruyter (drums), Frank Köllges (drums, Mellotron, piano), Steve Boston (congas, percussion), Wilton Gaynair (saxophone), Rob van den Broeck (keyboards), Tony Levin (drums), Alan Skidmore (saxophone), […]


Partner were a Dutch pop/rock foursome that issued three albums on Philips between 1978 and 1980. Members: Pierre Beckers (bass, vocals), Bert Bessems (vocals, guitar), Ab van Goor (vocals, drums), Erwin Musper (vocals, keyboards) Discography: A Man-Size Job Requires a Man-Size Meal (1978) On Second Thoughts (1979) The Sky Is the Limit (1980)


Trace were a Dutch symphonic-rock trio that issued three albums on Philips and Vertigo between 1974 and 1976. The band was led by ex-Ekseption multi-keyboardist Rick van der Linden and briefly included former Brainbox/Focus drummer Pierre van der Linden (no relation). Members: Rick van der Linden (vocals, keyboards, Hammond organ, clavinet, pianet, synthesizer, harpsichord, mellotron, […]


Pumpkin were a Dutch jazz-rock band that released a self-titled album on Bubble in 1975. Members: Fred Leeflang (Baritone Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Bass Clarinet, Flute, Piccolo Flute), Frank Noya (Bass), Nanning Van Der Hoop (Drums, Percussion), Peter Schön (Piano, Electric Piano [Rhodes], Clavinet, Synthesizer [Arp], Strings) Discography: Pumpkin (1975)


Panthéon were a Dutch jazz-rock band that released a standalone single on Philips and the album Orion on Vertigo, both in 1972. Members: Ruud Wouterson (vocals, keyboards), Hans Boer (saxophone, harmonica, vocals), Rob Verhoeven (drums), Albert Veldkamp (bass), John Schut (guitar), Jan Slijkhuis (drums), Guus Swerissen (bass) Discography: Orion (1972) “I Want to Know” / […]


Napalis were a Dutch jazz-rock ensemble that released a self-titled album on EMI-subsidiary Negram in 1976. Members: Dick Vennik (Saxophone, Flute), Neppie Noya (Congas, Percussion), Leo de Ruiter (Drums), Henny Vonk (Electric Bass), Michael Samson (Guitar), Rob van den Broeck (Keyboards, Synthesizer) Discography: Napalis (1976)


Mo were a Dutch art-pop combo that released three albums on Backdoor between 1980 and 1984. Members: Clemens de Lange (keyboards, 1979-81), Harm Bieger (drums, 1979-84), Heili Helder (vocals, 1979-81), Huub de Lange (bassoon, keyboards, 1979-81), Frank Pels [aka The Pels Syndicate] (keyboards, 1983-85), Hans Nieuwint (keyboards, 1981-85), Hans van der Meer (drums, 1984-85), Linda […]


Mayfly were a Dutch folk-rock band that released six singles and a self-titled album on Ariola between 1972 and 1974. Members: Gustaaf Verburg (vocals, bass, guitar, piano), Onno Verburg (vocals, guitar), Ide Min (vocals, electronics, 1971-74), Maarten Min (vocals, drums, 1971-74), Huub Nijhuis (bass, cello, 1971-73), Arie de Geus (piano, violin), Walter Tromp (bass, 1973-74), […]


The Swinging Soul Machine was a Dutch brass-rock-soul band that released the album Through The Eye on Polydor in 1969. After a change of singers, the band became Machine and issued a self-titled album in 1970. Several members carried on in Tantalus and others surfaced in Limousine. Members: Iwan Groeneveld (vocals, 1969), John Caljouw (vocals), […]

The Keyboard Circle

The Keyboard Circle were a Dutch jazz-rock trio that existed during the mid-1970s. Their one album is a 2009 archival release of a live performance recorded on February 8, 1976. Members: Jan Huydts (Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Synthesizer [Hohner String Ensemble, Arp Odyssey]), Rob Franken (Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Clavinet [Hohner], Synthesizer [Solna String Ensemble, […]