The Chris Hinze Combination

The Chris Hinze Combination were a Dutch revolving-door jazz-rock ensemble led by the namesake flutist. The band released 10 albums between 1970 and 1978, mostly on CBS. Nine further albums have appeared at sporadic intervals since 1984.

Members: Chris Hinze (flute, alto flute, bass flute, bamboo flute, organ), Henk Alkema (piano), Wim van der Beek (castanets, guiro, cowbell), Roger Cooke (bass), Louis Debij (drums), Wim Stolwijk (electric piano, spinet), John Lee (bass), Gerry Brown (drums, percussion), Rob van den Broeck (piano, electric piano), Henny Vonk (vocals, percussion), Philip Catherine (guitar), Jan Huydts (piano, synthesizer), Jasper van ‘t Hof (electric piano, organ), Robert Jan Stips (organ), Bo Stief (bass), Chieli Minucci (guitar), Ramesh Shotham (percussion), Fodé Youla (percussion), Salimata Diabaté (vocals)

The Combination was formed in 1969 by reedist/keyboardist Chris Hinze (born June 30, 1938) who debuted the band with the 1970 CBS release Stoned Flute. The lineup on this album also consists of Henk Alkema (piano), Roger Cooke (bass), and Louis Debij (drums). The album features three lengthy Hinze originals: “Stoned Flute – Suite” (22:20), “Ann” (12:24), and “Bamboo Dick” (9:24). Percussionist Wim VanderBeek guests on two tracks.


  • Stoned Flute (1970)
  • Live at Montreux Vol. 1 (1971)
  • Virgin Sacrifice (1972)
  • Who Can See the Shadow of the Sun (1972)
  • Charlie Mariano With The Chris Hinze Combination (1973)
  • Mission Suite (1973)
  • Sister Slick (1974)
  • Parcival (with The Metropole Symphonic Orchestra, 1976)
  • Bamboo Magic (1978)
  • Summer Dance: Live at Montreux Vol.II (1978)
  • Saliah (1984)
  • Nazali (1986)
  • The Hunter (1987)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *