Alquin was a Dutch symphonic|hard-rock band that released four albums and a live recording on Polydor between 1972 and 1976.

Members: Dick Franssen (keyboards), Ferdinand Bakker (guitar, keyboards, backing vocals), Job Tarenskeen (vocals, saxophone, backing vocals, drums), Ronald Ottenhoff (flute, saxophone), Bart Terlaak (drums, 1971), Piet-Hein Strack van Schijndel (drums, 1971), Paul Weststrate (drums, 1971-75), Hein Mars (bass, vocals, 1971-75), Michel van Dijk (vocals, 1975-present), Rob ten Bokum (bass, 1975-76), Jan Visser (bass, 1976-77)


Threshold Fear
Negram – NG 245
A “Sally Saddlepain”
B “Thank Me Not”


Alquin released their debut album, Marks, in 1972 on Polydor.

A1. “I Wish I Could” (11:47) Bakker
A2. “You Always Can Change” (3:05) Tarenskeen
A3. “Marc’s Occasional Showers” (3:23) Bakker
A4. “Catherine’s Wig” (2:38) Bakker
B1. “Oriental Journey” (4:22) Bakker
B2. “The Least You Could Do Is Send Me Some Flowers” (2:26) Bakker
B3. “Soft Royce” (6:57) Bakker, Ottenhoff
B4. “Mr. Barnum Junior’s Magnificent & Fabulous City” (5:36) Alquin

Recorded at Phonogram Studios’s and GTB Studio’s, Holland – September 1972.
A4 recorded live at the Circustheater, Scheveningen, 1972
Producer – Hans Van Oosterhout

Bass, Vocals – Hein Mars
Drums, Vocals – Paul Weststrate
Guitar, Vocals, Piano, Violin, Synthesizer [ARP] – Ferdinand Bakker
Organ, Piano, Electric Piano – Dick Franssen
Soprano Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Flute – Ronald Ottenhoff
Vocals, Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Sopranino Saxophone, Percussion – Job Tarenskeen

Dutch gatefold
Cover Design – Josien Mars
Photography By – Frits Van Swoll
UK non-gatefold version, different cover

The Mountain Queen

Alquin released their second album, The Mountain Queen, in 1973 on Polydor.

A1. “The Dance” (13:10) Music By – Fransen, Bakker
A2. “Soft-Eyed Woman” (2:39) Bakker
A3. “Convicts of the Air” (4:32) Alquin
B1. “Mountain Queen” (15:04) Bakker
B2. “Don and Dewey” (1:26) Music By [Theme] – Don Bowman
B3. “Mr. Barnum Jr.’s Magnificent and Fabulous City (Part One)” (8:35) Alquin

Recorded August 1973
Recorded At – De Lane Lea Music Centre, Wembley, London
Producer – Derek Lawrence
Engineer – Dick Plant
Engineer [Ass.] – Richard Goldblatt
Lyrics By – Job Tarenskeen

Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Vocals, Percussion, Lyrics By – Job Tarenskeen
Bass – Hein Mars
Drums – Paul Weststrate
Guitar, Electric Violin, Piano, Vocals – Ferdinand Bakker
Organ, Piano, Electric Piano – Dick Franssen
Soprano Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Flute – Ronald Ottenhoff

Cover, Design – Martijn Reeser, Rob Mori
Photography By – Micael Toner

Nobody Can Wait Forever

Alquin released their third album, Nobody Can Wait Forever, in 1974 on Polydor.

A1. “New Guinea Sunrise” Alquin
      a. “Sunrise” (2:44)
      b. “Wake Me Up” (4:01)
A2. “Mr. Widow” (3:40) Mars, Franssen, Ottenhoff
A3. “Stranger” Alquin
      a. “Stranger” (2:32)
      b. “You Might As Well Fall” (4:11)
B1. “Darling Superstar” (8:06) Bakker, van Dijk
B2. “Farewell, Miss Barcelona” (2:58) Bakker, Tarenskeen
B3. “Wheelchair Groupie” (3:13) Bakker, Tarenskeen
B4. “Revolution’s Eve”  Alquin
      a. “Revolution’s Theme” (5:06)
      b. “Nobody Can Wait Forever” (2:25)

Recorded At – Rockfield Studios
Producer – Rodger Bain
Engineer – Vic “Bagus” Smith

Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Flute – Ronald Ottenhoff
Backing Vocals – The Thunderthighs
Bass – Hein Mars
Drums – Job Tarenskeen (A3a, B4a, B4b)
Drums, Percussion – Paul Weststrate (A1a, A1b, A2, A3b, B1, B2, B3)
Guitar, Piano, Vocals – Ferdinand Bakker
Lead Vocals – Michel van Dijk
Organ, Electric Piano, Synthesizer [Moog] – Dick Franssen
Percussion, Saxophone, Vocals – Job Tarenskeen

Photography By – Reinier Gerritsen
Photography By [Portraits] – Gijsbert Hanekroot

Best Kept Secret

Alquin released their fourth album, Best Kept Secret, in March 1976 on Polydor.

A1. “Fool in the Mirror” (8:21)
      a. “Sham Fight”
      b. “Stars End”
A2. “Central Station Hustle” (4:59)
A3. “L.A. Rendez-Vous” (4:40)
A4. “High Rockin'” (5:27)
B1. “One More Night” (9:01) Accompanied By – The Deadcenter Boys
      a. “Bootleg Ballet
      b. “Laserlights
      c. “Back at the Losing End
B2. “Amy” (4:21)
B3. “Take Any Road” (5:49)

Recorded at Ridgefarm with The Manor Mobile & at The Manor Studios.
ProducerAlquin, Vic Coppersmith-Heaven
Engineer [Assistant] – Phil Adler

Bass, Congas, Backing Vocals – Jan Visser
Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals – Job Tarenskeen
Guitar [Guitars], Electric Violin, Piano, Backing Vocals – Ferdinand Bakker
Organ, Piano, Electric Piano [Wurlitzer] – Dick Franssen
Saxophone [Saxes], Flute – Ronald Ottenhoff
Vocals – Michel van Dyk

Horns (A1) – Buddy Beadle, Geoff Wright, Martin Droner, Steve Gregory
Cover [Creation] – Norman Moore

Alquin on Tour (1976)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *