Tasavallan Presidentti

Tasavallan Presidentti were a Finnish psychedelic jazz-rock band that released four albums and a collaborative work on Love and Sonet between 1969 and 1974.

Members: Jukka Tolonen (guitar, piano), Frank Robson (vocals, keyboards, 1969-72, 1983-present), Vesa Aaltonen (drums, percussion), Måns Groundstroem (bass, keyboards, 1969-72, 1983-2002), Juhani Aaltonen (saxophone, flute, 1969-70, 1983-present), Pekka Pöyry (saxophone, flute, piano, 1970-74), Eero Raittinen (vocals, 1972-74, 1995, 2000), Heikki Virtanen (bass, 1972-74, 2002-present), Esa Kotilainen (keyboards, 1974, 1990, 1995)

Tasavallan Presidentti formed in 1969 when guitarist Jukka Tolonen and drummer Vesa Aaltonen teamed with singer Frank Robson and bassist Måns Groundstroem.

Tololen (b. 1952) first recorded with beatsters Arto Sotavalta and the Rogues, which cut three singles on Scandia in 1967. Aaltonen (b. 1950) was in the pop combo Caj Incorporated, which cut a 1968 single on Sonet.

Groundstroem (b. 1949) hailed from Blues Section, which released a self-titled album on Love Records in 1967. After their original singer Jim Pembroke left to form Wigwam, Blues Section cut a 1968 single with his replacement, Robson (b. 1946).

The original lineup of Tasavallan Presidentti was completed by veteran saxophonist Juhani Aaltonen (b. 1935), most recently of the R&B band Soulset.


  • Tasavallan Presidentti (1969)
  • Magneettimiehen kuolema (1970 • Pekka Streng & Tasavallan Presidentti)
  • Tasavallan Presidentti (1971)
  • Lambertland (1972)
  • Milky Way Moses (1974)
  • Six Complete (2006)


  • Discogs: Tasavallan Presidentti

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *