Apollo was a Finnish psych-rock band that released a self-titled album on Blue Master in 1970. Percussionist Edward Vesala became a prominent ECM recording artist. Members: Edward Vesala (drums, percussion, flute, vocals), Harri Saksala (vocals, accordion, harmonica), Eero Lupari (guitar, vocals), Heimo Holopainen (bass, vocals) Background Apollo formed in 1969 when jazz drummer Martti “Edward” […]


Kalevala were a Finnish art-rock/psych band from Helsinki that was active for nine years, starting in 1969. In 1972, the band debuted with the popular People No Names album on Finnlevy. Between 1975 and 1977, the band released two further albums on Hi-Hat. Members: Juha “Lido” Salonen (guitar, bass, vocals), Beaver Aitto-Oja (drums, 1969), Remu […]


Organ were a Finnish synthpop band that released two singles in 1981/82 and the album Nekrofiilis, all on Poko Rekords. Members: Pekka Tolonen (synthesizer), Mikko Saarela (synthesizer), Tapani Lahtinen (synthesizer), Seppe Parkkinen (synthesizer, percussion) Discography: Nekrofiilis (1982) “Kundi meikkaa” / “Kaavakekauhu” (1981) “Suajele mua vähän jostain päin” / “Neekerisuukkoja” (1982)

The Group

The Group were a Finnish jazz-rock super-band that released a self-titled album on Finnlevy-subsidiary Dig It in 1978. It features bassist Pekka Pohjola and keyboardist Olli Ahvenlahti, who previously partnered in the jazz-rock supergroup Uni Sono, along with Pohjola sidemen Seppo Tyni (guitar) and Vesa Aaltonen (drums). All four would appear on Pohjola’s 1979 release […]


Ferris were a Finnish jazz-rock/psych band from Helsinki that released a self-titled album on Love Records in 1971. Members: Dave Lindholm (guitar, vocals), Heikki Hiekkala (organ, guitar, vocals), Matti Saxelin (drums, percussion), Jaakko Itävaara (bass), Klaus Stolt (bass, 1971) Discography: Ferris (1971)


Sukellusvene were a Finnish jazz-rock band from Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, that released a standalone single and the album Vesi- ja lintumusiikkia, both on Love Records in 1979. Members: Lassi Talasmo (alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, clarinet), Kari Litmanen (keyboards), Jukka Mäkinen (guitar), T. Tuomanen (guitar, bongos), Pekka Muhli (bass), Timo Kotineva (drums) Discography: Vesi- ja lintumusiikkia (1979) […]


Piirpauke are a Finnish ethno-jazz/rock band from Piippola, Pohjois-Pohjanmaa, that released two albums and a live disc on Love between 1975 and 1978, followed by a round of titles on Ponsi, Kerberos, and Rockadillo during the 1980s. Members: Sakari Kukko (wind instruments, keyboards, kantele, percussion, vocals), Antti Hytti (bass), Hasse Walli (guitar), Jukka Wasama (percussion), […]


Nova were a Finnish symphonic-rock band from Helsinki that released a standalone single in 1975 and the album Atlantis in 1976, both on Love Records. Members: Antti Ortamo (keyboards, vocals, guitar, harmonica), Jukka Marjala (drums), Veikko Kumpula (bass, 1975), Junnu Kostia (guitar, 1975), Michael Wasenius (guitar, 1975-?), Petri Peltola (bass, 1975-?) Discography: “Käytävä” / “Kaupungin […]


Yellow were a Finnish hard-rock/psych band from Turku, Varsinais-Suomi, that released the album Keltakuume on Finnlevy in 1975. Members: Hannu Takala (lead vocals, piano, percussion), Melvin McRae (guitar, vocals), Helge Koskela (bass), Raimo Osterman (drums) Discography: Keltakuume (1975)

Björninen Band

Björninen Band was a jazz-rock project headed by Finnish guitarist Juha Björninen. The project yielded the album Space Traveller Lost on the Music Makers label in 1985. Members: Juha Björninen (guitar), Jartsa Karvonen (percussion), Paul “Tubbs” Williams (vocals, bass), Olli Ahvenlahti (piano, synthesizer), Lauri Valjakka (drums), Heikki Virtanen (bass), Timo Pratskin (synthesizer), Vesa Aaltonen (drums) […]

Frank Robson

Frank Robson (April 27, 1946) is a Finnish keyboardist and vocalist who first emerged in 1968 as a member of Blues Section. Between 1969 and 1972, he was a member of Tasavallan Presidentti, playing on the Helsinki band’s first three albums. As a solo artist, he released two art-rock/jazz-rock albums on the Blue Heart and […]

Esa Helasvuo

Esa Helasvuo (born March 9, 1945) is a Finnish jazz pianist, composer, and arranger who released five albums between 1973 and 1985 on Finnlevy, Polarvox and Love Records. Discography: Think Tank Funk (1973) Omat hommat (1974) Onnimanni (1977) Q (1977) Huomenna sinä tulet (1985)


Kaseva were a Finnish pop/rock band from Tampere that released two albums and five singles on Love Records between 1974 and 1978, then another album for the local branch of EMI in 1982. Members: Mikko Jokela (guitar, vocals), Asko Raivio (guitar, vocals, ?-1989), Nils Jokela (drums, percussion), Tapio Rauma (guitar, vocals, 1974-present), Jouko Järvinen (bass, […]

Heikki Sarmanto

Heikki Sarmanto (born June 22, 1939) is a Finnish jazz-rock pianist, composer, and bandleader who has released more than 30 albums in solo and combo configurations since 1969. Discography: Flowers in the Water (1969 • Heikki Sarmanto Sextet) Counterbalance (1971 • Heikki Sarmanto Quintet) Like a Fragonard (1971 • Heikki Sarmanto Serious Music Ensemble) Everything […]

Jukka Gustavson

Jukka Gustavson (born Oct. 17, 1951) is a Finnish organist, vocalist, and composer who played with Wigwam between 1969 and 1974. Since 1978, he has released solo nine albums on assorted labels. Discography: …jaloa ylpeyttä yletän… ylevää nöyryyttä nousen (Pride’s an Exalted Purchase… Humility’s the Lever Sublime) (1978) Valon vuoksi (1979) Toden toistoa (1981) Bluesion […]

Jukka Linkola

Jukka Linkola (born July 21, 1955) is a Finnish pianist, composer, and conductor who first emerged as a member of Jupo Group, which issued the 1975 album Ahmoo on Hi-Hat. In 1976, he debuted as a solo artist on the label with the album Banana. Discography: Banana (1976) Protofunk (1979 • Jukka Linkola Octet) Kuinka […]

Uni Sono

Uni Sono were a Finnish jazz-rock supergroup of the mid-1970s comprised of distinguished players on the Helsinki music scene. The band released a self-titled album on Hi-Hat in 1975. Members: Paroni Paakkunainen (saxophone, flute, percussion), Olli Ahvenlahti (electric piano, synthesizer), Reino Laine (drums), Mike Koskinen (trumpet, 1973-?), Hasse Walli (guitar, 1973-?), Make Lievonen (bass, 1973-?), […]