Charlie Mariano – Reflections (1974)

Reflections is an album by American big-band saxophonist Charlie Mariano, recorded with Finnish jazz-rock musicians and released in 1974 on RCA Victor. Tracklist: A1. “Glenford Crescent” (5:40) A2. “Naima” (8:48) A3. “Brother Muthaiah” (7:16) A4. “Spanish Dance No. 2” (4:26) B1. “Blue in Green” (5:52) B2. “Thiruvarankulam” (4:53) B3. “Chile” (6:03) B4. “Rambling” (10:57) Credits: Charlie […]

Tasavallan Presidentti ‎– Tasavallan Presidentti (1969)

Tasavallan Presidentti is the debut album by the namesake Finnish jazz-rock/pop quintet, released in 1969 on Love Records. Tracklist: A1. “Introduction / You’ll Be Back for More” (6:17) A2. “Obsolete Machine” (3:54) A3. “Who’s Free” (3:29) A4. “I Love You Teddy Bear” (3:40) A5. “Crazy Thing, No. 1” (0:45) A6. “Drinking” (3:15) B1. “Crazy Thing, […]

Jukka Tolonen

Jukka Tolonen (born April 16, 1952) is a Finnish jazz-rock guitarist, pianist, composer, and bandleader who first emerged as a member of Tasavallan Presidentti, which he co-headed between 1969 and 1974. Starting in 1971, he began releasing solo albums on Sonet and Love Records. Discography: Tolonen! (1971) Summer Games (1973) The Hook (1974) Hysterica (1975) […]

Tasavallan Presidentti

Tasavallan Presidentti were a Finnish psychedelic jazz-rock band that released four albums and a collaborative work on Love and Sonet between 1969 and 1974. Members: Jukka Tolonen (guitar, piano), Frank Robson (vocals, keyboards, 1969-72, 1983-present), Vesa Aaltonen (drums, percussion), Måns Groundstroem (bass, keyboards, 1969-72, 1983-2002), Juhani Aaltonen (saxophone, flute, 1969-70, 1983-present), Pekka Pöyry (saxophone, flute, […]