Charlie Mariano – Reflections (1974)

Reflections is an album by American big-band saxophonist Charlie Mariano, recorded with Finnish jazz-rock musicians and released in 1974 on RCA Victor. Tracklist: A1. “Glenford Crescent” (5:40) A2. “Naima” (8:48) A3. “Brother Muthaiah” (7:16) A4. “Spanish Dance No. 2” (4:26) B1. “Blue in Green” (5:52) B2. “Thiruvarankulam” (4:53) B3. “Chile” (6:03) B4. “Rambling” (10:57) Credits: Charlie […]

Blues Section

Blues Section was a Finnish rock band that played a mix of blues-jazz and psychedelic pop and released a self-titled 1967 album on Love Records, which issued six non-album singles by the band, including three co-billed to frontman Jim Pembroke and one co-billed to his temporary replacement, English singer Frank Robson. Pembroke formed Wigwam with […]

Pekka Pohjola ‎– Visitation (1979)

Visitation is the fourth album by Finnish jazz-rock musician/composer Pekka Pohjola, released in 1979 on Dig It. Tracklist: A1. “Strange Awakening” (5:11) A2. “Vapour Trails” (4:44) A3. “Image of a Passing Smile” (5:38) B1. “Dancing in the Dark” (5:39) B2. “The Sighting” (3:32) B3. “Try to Remember” (7:10) Credits: Pekka Pohjola — bass guitar, producer, […]

Eero Koivistoinen Music Society ‎– Wahoo! (1973)

Wahoo! is the seventh headlining album by Finnish jazz-funk saxophonist Eero Koivistoinen, released in 1973 on RCA Victor. Tracklist: A1. “Hot C” (7:39) A2. “7 Up” (4:56) A3. “6 Down” (7:55) B1. “Suite 19” (10:50) B2. “Bells” (5:42) B3. “Wahoo!” (4:16) Credits: Alto Saxophone, Flute – Juhani Aaltonen Baritone Saxophone, Bass Clarinet – Unto Haapa-Aho […]

Olli Ahvenlahti ‎– The Poet (1976)

The Poet is the second album by Finnish jazz-rock pianist/composer Olli Ahvenlahti, released in 1976 on Love Records. Tracklist: A1. “The Poet” (6:29) A2. “Sunday’s Stuff” (7:03) A3. “Aura” (6:28) B1. “Sambatown (Rock Ridge)” (7:29) B2. “A Day at the Zoo” (6:29) B3. “Grandma’s Rocking Chair” (5:21) Credits: Olli Ahvenlahti — piano, electric piano, organ, […]

Eero Koivistoinen ‎– The Front Is Breaking (1976)

The Front Is Breaking is an album by Finnish jazz saxophonist Eero Koivistoinen, released in 1976 on Love Records. Tracklist: A1. “Homefree” (5:39) A2. “Safari” (5:33) A3. “Mean Meat Blues” (5:43) A4. “Kukkuluuruu” (1:06) B1. “The Front Is Breaking” (8:23) B2. “Clear Dream” (3:09) B3. “Sci-Fi” (6:17) Credits: Eero Koivistoinen — tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, […]

Eero Koivistoinen

Eero Koivistoinen (Jan. 13, 1946) is a Finnish jazz-rock saxophonist, composer, and bandleader who first emerged in 1967 as part of the Helsinki blues-rock/psych combo Blues Section. Since 1968, he has released more than 20 albums as a jazz-band leader. His most popular works include the 1973 RCA releases 3rd Version and Wahoo!, as well […]