Charlie Mariano – Reflections (1974)

Reflections is an album by American big-band saxophonist Charlie Mariano, recorded with Finnish jazz-rock musicians and released in 1974 on RCA Victor. Tracklist: A1. “Glenford Crescent” (5:40) A2. “Naima” (8:48) A3. “Brother Muthaiah” (7:16) A4. “Spanish Dance No. 2” (4:26) B1. “Blue in Green” (5:52) B2. “Thiruvarankulam” (4:53) B3. “Chile” (6:03) B4. “Rambling” (10:57) Credits: Charlie […]

The Group

The Group were a Finnish jazz-rock super-band that released a self-titled album on Finnlevy-subsidiary Dig It in 1978. It features bassist Pekka Pohjola and keyboardist Olli Ahvenlahti, who previously partnered in the jazz-rock supergroup Uni Sono, along with Pohjola sidemen Seppo Tyni (guitar) and Vesa Aaltonen (drums). All four would appear on Pohjola’s 1979 release […]

Pekka Pohjola ‎– Visitation (1979)

Visitation is the fourth album by Finnish jazz-rock musician/composer Pekka Pohjola, released in 1979 on Dig It. Tracklist: A1. “Strange Awakening” (5:11) A2. “Vapour Trails” (4:44) A3. “Image of a Passing Smile” (5:38) B1. “Dancing in the Dark” (5:39) B2. “The Sighting” (3:32) B3. “Try to Remember” (7:10) Credits: Pekka Pohjola — bass guitar, producer, […]

Eero Koivistoinen Music Society ‎– Wahoo! (1973)

Wahoo! is the seventh headlining album by Finnish jazz-funk saxophonist Eero Koivistoinen, released in 1973 on RCA Victor. Tracklist: A1. “Hot C” (7:39) A2. “7 Up” (4:56) A3. “6 Down” (7:55) B1. “Suite 19” (10:50) B2. “Bells” (5:42) B3. “Wahoo!” (4:16) Credits: Alto Saxophone, Flute – Juhani Aaltonen Baritone Saxophone, Bass Clarinet – Unto Haapa-Aho […]

Olli Ahvenlahti ‎– Bandstand (1975)

Bandstand is the debut album by Finnish jazz-rock keyboardist Olli Ahvenlahti, released in 1975 on Love Records. Tracklist: A1. “Breeze” (6:45) A2. “Countenance” (6:12) A3. “The Daughter” (6:31) B1. “Cadenza for Christina” (5:45) B2. “Sandy” (6:50) B3. “Havana Two” (8:14) Credits: Olli Ahvenlahti — piano, electric piano, Clavinet, synthesizer, composer Bertil Lövgren — trumpet, flugelhorn Pekka […]

Olli Ahvenlahti ‎– The Poet (1976)

The Poet is the second album by Finnish jazz-rock pianist/composer Olli Ahvenlahti, released in 1976 on Love Records. Tracklist: A1. “The Poet” (6:29) A2. “Sunday’s Stuff” (7:03) A3. “Aura” (6:28) B1. “Sambatown (Rock Ridge)” (7:29) B2. “A Day at the Zoo” (6:29) B3. “Grandma’s Rocking Chair” (5:21) Credits: Olli Ahvenlahti — piano, electric piano, organ, […]

Uni Sono

Uni Sono were a Finnish jazz-rock supergroup of the mid-1970s comprised of distinguished players on the Helsinki music scene. The band released a self-titled album on Hi-Hat in 1975. Members: Paroni Paakkunainen (saxophone, flute, percussion), Olli Ahvenlahti (electric piano, synthesizer), Reino Laine (drums), Mike Koskinen (trumpet, 1973-?), Hasse Walli (guitar, 1973-?), Make Lievonen (bass, 1973-?), […]

Olli Ahvenlahti

Olli Ahvenlahti (born Aug. 6, 1949) is a Finnish jazz-rock keyboardist who has been active since the early 1970s. In 1975, he participated in the Hi-Hat one-off Uni Sono with Nono Söderberg and Pekka Pohjola. That same year, Ahvenlahti released his first of two popular albums on Love Records. In 1978, he re-teamed with Pohjola […]