Dewey Redman – Coincide (1975)

Coincide is the third headlining album by American free-jazz saxist Dewey Redman, released in 1975 on Impulse! The album was recorded on September 9–10, 1974, at N.Y.C.’s Generation Sound Studios. Violinist Leroy Jenkins and bassist Norris Jones (aka Sirone) were cohorts in the Revolutionary Ensemble. Trumpeter Ted Daniel and drummer Eddie Moore round out the combo. […]

Joe Henderson – Canyon Lady (1975)

Canyon Lady is a jazz-funk album by American saxist Joe Henderson, released in May 1975 on Milestone. Notable players on the album include keyboardist George Duke, trombonist Julian Priester, trumpeter Luis Gasca, and reedists Hadley Caliman and Ray Pizzi. The album was recorded at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, Calif., on October 1–3, 1973. “Tres Palabras” […]

Average White Band ‎– Cut the Cake (1975)

Cut the Cake is the third album by Scottish soul-funk group the Average White Band, released in June 1975 on Atlantic. The album is their second for the label and the first to feature drummer Steve Ferrone, who stepped in following the death of founding member Robbie McIntosh. Bassist/singer Alan Gorrie and guitarist/singer Hamish Stuart […]

Supertramp ‎– Crisis? What Crisis? (1975)

Crisis? What Crisis? is the fourth album by English symphonic-pop band Supertramp, released in 1975 on A&M. The release was the band’s second to feature the “classic” lineup that premiered on the prior year’s Crime of the Century LP. Tracklist: A1. Easy Does It A2. Sister Moonshine A3. Ain’t Nobody But Me A4. A Soapbox […]

Rupert Holmes ‎– Rupert Holmes (1975)

Rupert Holmes is the second album by the namesake American composer, released in 1975 on Epic. Tracklist: A1. Too Scared To Sing A2. Brass Knuckles A3. You Burned Yourself Out A4. Deco Lady A5. I Don’t Want to Hold Your Hand B1. Rifles and Rum B2. Studio Musician B3. Everything Gets Better When You’re Drunk […]

Roxy Music ‎– Siren (1975)

Siren is the fifth album by Euro-style English sextet Roxy Music. Released in 1975, the album — which completes the Jobson trilogy that also includes Stranded (1973) and Country Life (1974) — would be the band’s last before their initial split. Continuing the trilogy’s romanticism of decadence and dissonance, the album is highlighted by the […]

Peter Hammill ‎– Nadir’s Big Chance (1975)

Nadir’s Big Chance is the fifth solo album by singer-songwriter Peter Hammill, released in February 1975 on Charisma. He’s backed on all eleven songs by the Pawn Hearts lineup of Van der Graaf Generator, which reformed just prior to the sessions for this album. Sleeve notes: “The way of it is this: I was sitting […]

Kansas – Song for America (1975)

Song for America is the second album by American symphonic-hard rockers Kansas, released in February 1975 on CBS-subsidiary Kirshner. Tracklist: A1. “Down the Road” (3:43) A2. “Song for America” (9:59) A3. “Lamplight Symphony” (8:11) B1. “Lonely Street” (5:41) B2. “The Devil Game” (5:01) B3. “Incomudro / Hymn to the Atman” (12:11) Credits: Steve Walsh – […]

Harmonium – Les Cinq Saisons (1975)

Les Cinq Saisons is the second album by Quebecois symphonic/folk band Harmonium, released in 1975 on Celebration Records. Tracklist: A1. “Vert” (5:34) A2. “Dixie” (3:26) A3. “Depuis l’automne” (10:25) B1. “En Pleine Face” (4:51) B2. “Histoires sans Paroles” (17:12) Credits: Serge Fiori — vocals, guitar, 12-string guitar, transverse flute, mandolin, zither, cymbals, bass drum, spoons, […]

Finch – Glory of the Inner Force (1975)

Glory of the Inner Force is the first of three albums by Dutch instrumental symphonic/hard-rock band Finch, released in 1975 on Negram/Atco. Tracklist: A1. “Register Magister” (9:18) A2. “Paradoxical Moods” (10:30) B1. “Pisces” (9:30) B2. “A Bridge to Alice” (13:12) 1975 shortplayer: A. “Colossus Part I” (3:27) / B. “Colossus Part II” (3:35) Credits: Peter […]

Freddie Hubbard – Liquid Love (1975)

Liquid Love is a jazz-funk album by American trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, released in 1975 on Columbia. Tracklist: A1. “Midnight at the Oasis” (5:29) A2. “Put It in the Pocket” (4:17) A3. “Lost Dream” (12:27) B1. “Liquid Love” (5:44) B2. “Yesterday’s Thoughts” (3:39) B3. “Kuntu” (13:20) Credits: Freddie Hubbard — trumpet, vocals, arrangements, flugel horn, producer […]

Elton John – Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy (1975)

Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy is the ninth studio album by Elton John, released in 1975 on DJM. Tracklist: A1. “Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy” (5:46) A2. “Tower of Babel” (4:28) A3. “Bitter Fingers” (4:33) A4. “Tell Me When the Whistle Blows” (4:20) A5. “Someone Saved My Life Tonight” (6:44) B1. […]

Freda Payne – Out of Payne Comes Love (1975)

Out of Payne Comes Love is the eighth album by American soul/pop singer Freda Payne, released in 1975 on ABC. Tracklist: A1. “Look What I Found” (3:50) A2. “I Hear Rumors” (3:47) A3. “You” (3:42) A4. “Keep It Coming” (3:17) A5. “Seems So Long” (3:55) B1. “You Brought the Woman out of Me” (3:25) B2. […]

Weldon Irvine – Spirit Man (1975)

Spirit Man is the fifth album by American jazz-funk keyboardist Weldon Irvine, released in 1975 on RCA. Tracklist: A1. “We Gettin’ Down” (5:50) A2. “Softly” (0:37) A3. “Pogo Stick” (6:45) A4. “Blast Off” (4:17) B1. “Jungle Juice” (8:10) B2. “Yasmin” (4:37) B3. “The Power and the Glory” (5:44) B4. “Softly” (1:26) Credits: Weldon Irvine — […]

The Trammps – Trammps (1975)

Trammps is the first proper album by American soul act The Trammps, released in 1975 on PIR-subsidiary Golden Fleece. Tracklist: A1. “Stop and Think” (3:10) A2. “Trusting Heart” (3:20) A3. “Every Dream I Dream Is You” (3:57) A4. “Love Epidemic” (4:48) A5. “Save a Place” (5:03) B1. “Trammps Disco Theme” (3:25) B2. “Where Do We Go […]

Tim Moore – Behind the Eyes (1975)

Behind the Eyes is the second solo album by American singer/songwriter Tim Moore, released in 1975 on Asylum. Tracklist: A1. “For the Minute” (3:40) A2. “Lay Down a Line to Me” (4:45) A3. “(I Think I Wanna) Possess You” (5:00) A4. “Now I See” (3:10) A5. “Rock and Roll Love Letter” (4:24) B1. “If Somebody […]

Strawbs – Ghosts (1975)

Ghosts is the seventh album by English symphonic/folk-rock band the Strawbs, released in 1975 on A&M. Tracklist: A1. “Ghosts: Sweet Dreams / Night Light / Guardian Angel / Night Light” (8:33) A2. “Lemon Pie” (4:01) A3. “Starshine / Angel Wine” (5:15) A4. “Where Do You Go (When You Need a Hole to Crawl In)” (3:02) B1. […]