The Group

The Group were a Finnish jazz-rock super-band that released a self-titled album on Finnlevy-subsidiary Dig It in 1978. It features bassist Pekka Pohjola and keyboardist Olli Ahvenlahti, who previously partnered in the jazz-rock supergroup Uni Sono, along with Pohjola sidemen Seppo Tyni (guitar) and Vesa Aaltonen (drums). All four would appear on Pohjola’s 1979 release […]

Pekka Pohjola ‎– Urban Tango (1982)

Urban Tango is the sixth solo album by Finnish symphonic/jazz-rock musician/composer Pekka Pohjola, released in 1982 on the artist’s own Pohjola and Breakthru’ imprints. Tracklist: A1. “Imppu’s Tango” (9:22) A2. “New Impressionist” (15:20) B1. “Heavy Jazz” (10:46) B2. “Urban Caravan” (11:46) Credits: Pekka Pohjola — bass, keyboards, producer Peter Lerche — guitar, mandolin T T […]

Pekka Pohjola ‎– Visitation (1979)

Visitation is the fourth album by Finnish jazz-rock musician/composer Pekka Pohjola, released in 1979 on Dig It. Tracklist: A1. “Strange Awakening” (5:11) A2. “Vapour Trails” (4:44) A3. “Image of a Passing Smile” (5:38) B1. “Dancing in the Dark” (5:39) B2. “The Sighting” (3:32) B3. “Try to Remember” (7:10) Credits: Pekka Pohjola — bass guitar, producer, […]

Uni Sono

Uni Sono were a Finnish jazz-rock supergroup of the mid-1970s comprised of distinguished players on the Helsinki music scene. The band released a self-titled album on Hi-Hat in 1975. Members: Paroni Paakkunainen (saxophone, flute, percussion), Olli Ahvenlahti (electric piano, synthesizer), Reino Laine (drums), Mike Koskinen (trumpet, 1973-?), Hasse Walli (guitar, 1973-?), Make Lievonen (bass, 1973-?), […]

Pekka Pohjola

Pekka Pohjola (Jan. 13, 1952 — Nov. 26, 2008) was a Finnish bassist and composer who was musically active for more than three decades, playing in the bands Wigwam, Uni Sono, and The Group. Between 1972 and 1980, he released five albums under his own name on Love Records and Dig It. Starting with 1982’s […]

Pekka Pohjola Group ‎– Kätkävaaran Lohikäärme (1980)

Kätkävaaran Lohikäärme is the fifth solo album by Finnish jazz-rock guitarist/composer/bandleader Pekka Pohjola, released in 1980 on Dig It. Tracklist: A1. “Kätkävaaran lohikäärme” (14:33) A2. “Tehdasmusiikkia” (7:34) B1. “Sampoliini” (12:08) B2. “Inke ja mä” (9:53) Credits: Pekka Tyni — keyboards Ippe Kätkä — drums Seppo Tyni — guitars Pekka Pohjola — bass

Pekka Pohjola ‎– Pihkasilmä Kaarnakorva (1972)

Pihkasilmä Kaarnakorva is the debut solo album by Finnish jazz-rock guitarist/composer Pekka Pohjola, released in 1972 on Love Records. Tracklist: A1. “Metsonpeliä” (10:38) A2. “Virtojen kiharat” (5:31) B1. “Armoton idylli” (3:50) B2. “Nipistys” (3:31) B3. “Valittaja” (9:29) Credits: Clarinet – Risto Pensola Drums – Reino Laine Flute – Pekka Pöyry Organ – Jukka Gustavson Piano, […]