Riff Raff

Riff Raff was an English jazz-rock band that released the 1973–74 RCA albums Riff Raff and Original Man. Pre-contract, they recorded an album that later appeared as Outside Looking In. Keyboardist Tommy Eyre made three subsequent albums with Zzebra.

Members: Bud Beadle (saxophone), Aureo de Souza (drums), Tommy Eyre (keyboards, vocals), Pete Kirtley (guitar, vocals), Roger Sutton (bass, vocals), Steve Gregory (woodwind), Joanna Newman (vocals), Joe O’Donell (viola)

Riff Raff formed in 1972 when keyboardist Tommy Eyre teamed with two members of Crikey: drummers Rod Coombes and Joe Czarnecki (aka Joe Peters).

Bud Beadle – saxophone
Rod Coombes – drums, percussion and songwriter
Joe Czarnecki aka Joe Peters – drums, percussion
Aurero De Souza – drums
Tommy Eyre – keyboards, vocals
Pete Kirtley – guitar, vocals
Roger Sutton – bass guitar, vocals
Steve Gregory – woodwind

Outside Looking InTheir Unreleased Debut Album

In 1972 Riff Raff recorded their first album, later released as Outside Looking InTheir Unreleased Debut Album.

1. Strabismus – “Outside Looking In” (9:12)
2. Strabismus – “The Blind Man” (8:16)
3. Strabismus – “Bach B. Minor Prelude” (2:58)
4. Strabismus – “Feeling Paranoic” (0:43)
5. Strabismus – “Buthelezi” (3:42)
6. Strabismus – “So You Want to Be Free” (10:52)
7. Strabismus – “Changes” (3:23)
8. Riff Raff – “Child of the Summer” (5:59)
9. Riff Raff – “For Every Dog” (4:05)
10. Riff Raff – “Morning” (5:57)
11. Riff Raff – “The Garden” (6:59)

Recorded at Morgan Studios, London 1972. Track 2 recorded on two-track at the Guilford Cathedral, June 1972.
Producer – Riff Raff

Bass, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals – Roger Sutton
Drums – Aureo De Souza (8 to 11), Joe Peters (1 to 7), Kenny Slade (8 to 11)
Drums, Percussion, Acoustic Guitar – Rod Coombes (1 to 7)
Guitar – Martin Ball (1 to 7), Peter Kirtley (8 to 11)
Keyboards, Organ [Hammond], Acoustic Guitar – Tommy Eyre
Saxophone – Ritchie Dalton
Vocals – Alan Marshall

Written-By – R. Coombes, R. Sutton

Liner Notes [New] – Tommy Eyre
Liner Notes [Original] – Jerry Gilbert
8-11 are bonus tracks.

Strabismus: Alan Marshall, Martin Ball, Ritchie Dalton, Rod Coombes, Roger Sutton, Tommy Eyre

Riff Raff

Riff Raff released their self-titled album in June 1973 on RCA Victor.
Written By – Richardson (tracks: A3), Thorpe (tracks: A3)
Written-By – Kirtley* (tracks: A2, A4, B2), Sutton* (tracks: A1, A3, B3), Eyre* (tracks: B1, B3)

A1. “Your World” (7:36)
A2. “For Every Dog” (3:42)
A3. “Little Miss Drag” (3:12)
A4. “Dreaming” (4:30)
B1. “Times Lost” (4:14)
B2. “You Must Be Joking” (7:30)
B3. “La Meme Chose” (12:00)

Recorded At – The Manor
Producer – Riff Raff
Engineer – Tom Newman
Remix – Eddy Offord

Bass – Roger Sutton
Drums – Aureo De Souza
Guitar – Pete Kirtley
Keyboards – Tommy Eyre
Saxophone – Bud Beadle

“Copper Kettle”

A. “Copper Kettle”
Arranged By – Riff-Raff
Producer – Ken Burgess
Written-By – Trad.

B. “You Must Be Joking”
Producer – Riff-Raff
Written-By – Kirtley

Original Man

Riff Raff’s second-released album, Original Man, appeared in June 1974 on RCA Victor.

A1. “Original Man” (7:40)
A2. “Havakak” (6:06)
A3. “Goddamm The Man” (6:09)
A4. “In the Deep” (3:59)
B1. “The Waster” (5:09)
B2. “Tom’s Song” (4:22)
B3. “Speed” (9:16)

Bass, Cello, Vocals – Roger Sutton
Drum, Percussion – Aureo De Souza
Guitar, Vocals – Pete Kirtley
Keyboards, Synthesizer, Vocals – Tommy Eyre
Saxophone – Bud Beadle
Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet – Steve Gregory

Bass Vocals – Joanna Newman (tracks: A4)
Viola – Joe O’Donnell (tracks: A1)


  • Riff Raff (1973)
  • Original Man (1974)
  • Outside Looking InTheir Unreleased Debut Album (1999, recorded 1972)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *