Warm Dust

Warm Dust were an English jazz-rock/psych band from Sheffield that released the double-album And It Came to Pass on Philips-subsidiary Trend in 1970, followed by Peace for Our Time in 1971. A third, self-titled album appeared on German jazz label BASF in 1972.

Despite the presence of future singing journeyman Paul Carrack on all three Warm Dust albums, the microphone was generally occupied by vocalist/harpist/guitarist Les Walker, credited on the first release as “Dransfield Walker.” In 1976, Walker appeared on back-to-back albums by Big Jim Sullivan’s Tiger. Over the following two decades, Carrack enjoyed a sequence of high-profile roles in Ace, Squeeze, and Mechanics & the Mechanics.

Members: Les Walker (lead vocals, guitar, harmonica, vibraphone, shakers), Paul Carrack (organ, piano, guitar, timpani, vocals), John Surguy (saxophone, flute, oboe, clarinet, vibraphone, guitar, vocals), Alan Solomon (saxophone, flute, oboe, piano, clarinet), Terry “Tex” Comer (bass, guitar, recorder), Dave Pepper (drums, percussion), Keith Bailey (drums, percussion, vocals), John Bedson (drums, percussion)


  • And It Came to Pass (2LP, 1970)
  • Peace for Our Time, Neville Chamberlain, 30th September 1938 (1971)
  • Warm Dust (1972)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *