Cornucopia were a German symphonic-psych band that released the album Full Horn on Brain in 1973. Members: Wolfgang Kause (vocals), Wolfgang Bartl (bass, vocals), Christoph Hardwig (keyboards, guitar, vocals), Wolfgang Gaudes (drums, percussion, 12-string guitar), Kai Henrik Möller (guitar, vocals), Harry Koch (effects, percussion, vocals), Rudy Holzhauer (percussion) Cornucopia formed in Hamburg in 1972. None […]


Altona were a German jazz-rock/funk band from Hamburg that released two albums on RCA Victor in 1975. Guitarist Werner von Gosen hailed from the classical/jazz-rock band Thrice Mice. Members: Fritz Kahl (bass, guitar), Karl-Heinz Blumenberg (vocals, bass saxophone, soprano saxophone, bass), Klaus Gerlach (guitar), Wolfgang Wulff (tenor saxophone, percussion), Hans-Heinz Gossler (drums, percussion), Werner von […]


Frob were a German instrumental quartet that was active during the mid-1970s. Formed in 1973, the band gigged around their Rheda-Wiedenbrück homebase for several years and issued a self-titled longplayer on the Musikladen label in 1976. Members: Philippe Caillat (guitar), Peter Schmits (keyboards), Klaus-Dieter Richter (bass), Peter Meuffels (drums) A mostly high-paced affair, the album […]

Missing Link

Missing Link were a German jazz-rock sextet from Munich that released the album Nevergreen! on United Artists in 1972. Members: Markus Sing (guitar), Günther Latuschik (saxophone), Gabriel Dominik Mueller (vocals), Dieter Miekautsch (keyboards), Dave Schratzenstaller (bass), Holger Brandt (drums) The comic, colorful cover art of the band’s sole release animates the virtuosic energy of the […]

Guru Guru

Guru Guru were a German space-rock band that released two albums on Ohr in 1970 and 1971, followed by eighth titles through the remainder of the ’70s on Atlantic and Brain. More than 20 further titles appeared over the subsequent four decades. Members: Mani Neumeier (drums, percussion, vocals), Uli Trepte (bass, 1968-73), Hans Sax (vocals, […]


Iskander were a German symphonic-rock band that released the album Bohème 2000 on Herkules in 1982. Two further albums appeared on Iron Curtain between 1987 and 1990. Members: Peter Tassius (piano, 1974-78), Gabi Stolz [Gabriele Knüppel] (organ, flute, 1974-81) Klaus-Jürgen Knüppel (synthesizer, electric piano, flute, acoustic guitar, vocals), Hajo Kann (drums, percussion), Ulrich Mennenöh (bass, […]

Harald Grosskopf

Harald Grosskopf (born Oct. 23, 1949) is a German drummer and keyboardist who played in the bands Ash Ra Tempel, The Cosmic Jokers, and Wallenstein during the 1970s. In 1980, he debuted as a solo artist with the electronic album Synthesist, released on Sky Records. Discography: Synthesist (1980) Oceanheart (1986) Characters (1991 • Kistenmacher / […]


Ivory were a German symphonic-rock band that released the album Sad Cypress on Jupiter in 1979. Members: Christian Mayer (vocals, guitar), Ulrich Sommerlatte (keyboards), Thomas Sommerlatte (keyboards), Goddie Daum (guitar), Charly Stechl (bass, flute), Frederik Rittmüller (drums), Thomas Carl (drums) Discography: Sad Cypress (1979)


Information were a German/American jazz-rock super-trio that released a self-titled album on RCA Victor in 1981. Members: Joachim Kühn (piano, synthesizer, alto saxophone), George Kochbek [aka Jürgen Kochbek] (Moog, keyboards, vocals), Mark Nauseef (percussion) Discography: Information (1981)


Ikarus were a German art-rock/psych band that released a self-titled album on the +plus+ label in 1971. Members: Lorenz Köhler (lead vocals), Wolfgang Kracht (bass, backing vocals), Jochen Petersen (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet, backing vocals), Bernd Schröder (drums, percussion), Wulf-Dieter Struntz (organ, piano), Manfred Schulz (guitar, vocals) Discography: Ikarus […]