Dorian Zero — aka Kenneth J. Passante (Jan. 16, 1948 — Jan. 7, 1994) — is an American art-rock musician and songwriter from NYC who released a self-titled album on Amerama Records in 1977. Passante hailed from an unrecorded rock group called Sweet Dirt, which was active in NYC circa 1973. He was briefly in […]


Airplay were an American studio-based melodic-rock combo that released a self-titled album on RCA in 1980. The project was headed by writer/producers David Foster and Jay Graydon, both successful with other acts at the time. Members: David Foster (keyboards, vocals), Tommy Funderburk (vocals), Jay Graydon (guitars) David Foster, Jay Graydon Credits Airplay was assembled by […]


Babylon was an American symphonic-rock band from Florida that released an eponymous album on self-press Mehum in 1978. The band morphed into Helicopter for a further self-issued title, Insect Perfect, in 1981. Members: Rick Leonard (bass, vocals, bass pedals), Doroccus (lead vocals, synthesizer, electric piano), Rodney Best (drums, percussion), David Boyko (guitar), Gary Chambers (synthesizer, […]


Mirthrandir were an American symphonic-rock band from New Jersey that issued the album For You the Old Women on self-press Mirth Music Inc. in 1976. Members: Robert Arace (drums), Richard Excellente (guitar), Simon Gannett (keyboards), James Miller (bass, flute), Alexander Romanelli (guitar), John Vislocky III (vocals, trumpet), John Callahan (guitar) Mirthrandir formed in New Jersey […]


Quill were an American symphonic-rock trio that self-released the album Sursum Corda in 1977. Members: Keith Christian (vocals, bass, classical guitar), Ken DeLoria (Hammond organ, Moog, Mellotron, electric harpsichord, grand piano, ARP Solina string synthesizer, keyboards), Jim Sides (vocals, drums, bells, tubular bells, timpani) Quill formed in California in 1975. Their 1977 singular album, Sursum […]


Sunrise was an American art-rock/pop band that released a self-titled album on Buddah in 1977. The album was produced by Beach Boy Bruce Johnston and engineered by Ralph Moss, whose other credits from the era include albums by Gladys Knight & The Pips, Glass Harp, Lou Reed, Mother Goose, Norman Connors, Ruth Copeland (Take Me […]

Happy the Man

Happy the Man are an American symphonic-rock band that released two albums on Arista in 1977 and 1978. Known for its lavish and intricate sound, the band largely focused on instrumental works. Members: Stan Whitaker (guitar, lead vocals), Rick Kennell (bass), Frank Wyatt (keyboards, saxophone, woodwinds), Kit Watkins (keyboards, flute, 1972-79), Mike Beck (percussion, drums, […]

Zoldar & Clark

Zoldar & Clark were an American symphonic-rock band that released a self-titled album on Dellwood in 1977. The band was led by former-Jasper Wrath/future-Arc Angel frontman Jeff Cannata. Members: Jeff Cannata [aka Cannata] (drums, guitar, woodwinds, lead vocals), Jeff Batter (piano, synthesizer, vocals), Michael Soldan (Mellotron, synthesizer, lead vocals), James Christian (lead vocals, guitar), Phil […]


Zebra were an American symphonic/hard-rock band from New Orleans that released three albums on Atlantic between 1983 and 1986. Members: Randy Jackson (lead vocals, guitar, piano, Mellotron, synthesizer, percussion), Felix Hanemann (bass, keyboards, strings, synthesizer, vocals), Guy Gelso (drums, percussion, vocals) Discography: Zebra (1983) No Tellin’ Lies (1984) 3.V (1986)


Zazu were an American symphonic/hard-rock band that released a self-titled album on Wooden Nickel in 1975. Members: Randy Curlee (bass, vocals), Mickey Lehockey (drums), John Melnick (keyboards, vocals), Paul Ripurero (guitar, vocals) Discography: Zazu (1975)

Yezda Urfa

Yezda Urfa were an American symphonic/art-rock band that self-pressed the demo album Boris in 1975. In 1976, the band recorded an album that was ultimately released by Syn-Phonic as Sacred Baboon in 1989. Members: Brad Christoff (drums, tubular bells, metallophone, percussion), Phil Kimbrough (keyboards, accordion, mandolin, flute, recorder, vocals), Marc Miller (bass, cello, marimba, vibraphone, […]


Utopia was an American maximalist-rock band that released six studio albums and a live disc on Bearsville between 1974 and 1982, followed by three further albums on Network and Passport. The band was formed by musician/producer Todd Rundgren and initially featured a six man lineup, as heard on Todd Rundgren’s Utopia (1974). By the time […]


Trillion were an American symphonic/hard-rock band that released two albums on Epic/Sony between 1978 and 1980. Members: Fergie Frederiksen (vocals, 1978-79), Thom Griffin (vocals, guitar), Frank Barbalace (guitar), Ron Anaman (bass), Patrick Leonard (keyboards), Bill Wilkins (drums) Discography: Trillion (1979) Clear Approach (1980)

The Tubes

The Tubes were an American maximalist-rock band that released four albums and a live double-LP on A&M between 1975 and 1979, followed by three albums on Capitol during the early 1980s. Members: Roger Steen (guitar, lead vocals), Prairie Prince (drums, percussion), Rick Anderson (bass), Bill Spooner (guitar, 1972-89), Vince Welnick (keyboards, 1972-89), Michael Cotten (keyboards, […]

The Load

The Load were an American symphonic-rock trio that released the album Praise the Load on Columbus small-press Owl in 1976. In 1977, the band recorded a second album that was ultimately issued as Load Have Mercy by archivists Laser’s Edge in 1998. Members: Dave Hessler (guitar, bass), Sterling Smith (keyboards), Tom Smith (drums, percussion) Discography: […]


Survivor were an American hard-rock band that released seven albums on Atlantic/CBS-subsidiary Scotti Bros. Records between 1979 and 1988. Members: Frankie Sullivan (lead guitar, vocals), Jim Peterik (keyboards, guitar, vocals, 1978-88, 1993-96), Dave Bickler (lead vocals, synthesizer, 1978-83), Dennis Johnson (bass, 1978-80), Gary Smith (drums, 1978-80), Marc Droubay (drums, 1981-87, 1996-2014), Stephan Ellis (bass, 1981-87, […]


Surprise were an American symphonic/art-rock band from St. Louis, Mo., that released the album Assault on Merryland on self-press Carousel Records in 1977. Members: Rick Bess (electric guitar, bass, 12-string acoustic guitar), Blair Blake (Hammond organ, grand piano, MiniMoog, bass pedals, synthesizer, celeste), Dave Kelly (drums, timpani, bells, gongs, triangle, guiro), Mark Biehl (vocals, flute, […]