Utopia – Oblivion (1983)

Oblivion is a 1983 album by American foursome Utopia. The music refines the player’s recent embrace of hi-tech electronic equipment — a trend previewed on the earlier Swing to the Right LP, as well as on Todd Rundgren’s two most recent solo albums, Healing and The Ever Popular Tortured Artist Effect. In contrast to the […]

Icehouse – Sidewalk (1984)

Sidewalk is the third album by Australian modern-rockers Icehouse, released in 1984 on Chrysalis. Tracklist: A1. “Taking the Town” (3:32) A2. “This Time” (4:12) A3. “Someone Like You” (4:13) A4. “Stay Close Tonight” (5:01) A5. “Don’t Believe Anymore” (5:15) B1. “Sidewalk” (4:06) B2. “Dusty Pages” (4:45) B3. “On My Mind” (3:38) B4. “Shot Down” (4:47) B5. […]

Univers Zero ‎– Uzed (1984)

Uzed is the fourth album by Belgian chamber-rock ensemble Univers Zéro, released in 1984 on Cryonic. Tracklist: A1. “Présage” (9:48) A2. “L’étrange mixture du docteur Schwartz” (3:52) A3. “Célesta (For Chantal)” (6:55) B1. “Parade” (6:37) B2. “Émanations” (15:43) Credits: Daniel Denis — drums, percussion, synthesizer Dirk Descheemaeker — soprano saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet Christian Genet — […]

Microdisney ‎– Everybody Is Fantastic (1984)

Everybody Is Fantastic is the debut album by Irish art-pop band Microdisney, released in 1984 on Rough Trade. Tracklist: A1. “Idea” (2:53) A2. “A Few Kisses” (3:16) A3. “Escalator in the Rain” (3:36) A4. “Dolly” (3:20) A5. “Dreaming Drains” (2:49) A6. “I’ll Be a Gentleman” (3:32) A7. “Moon” (3:02) B1. “Sun” (3:14) B2. “Sleepless” (2:35) […]

Laura Nyro ‎– Mother’s Spiritual (1984)

Mother’s Spiritual is the seventh album of original material by singer/songwriter Laura Nyro, released in 1984 on Columbia. Tracklist: A1. “To a Child” (3:53) A2. “The Right to Vote” (3:02) A3. “A Wilderness” (2:56) A4. “Melody in the Sky” (3:45) A5. “Late for Love” (2:57) A6. “A Free Thinker” (3:15) A7. “Man in the Moon” (2:55) […]

Patrick Moraz ‎– Time Code (1984)

Time Code is a synthpop/modern-rock album by Swiss keyboardist/composer Patrick Moraz, released in 1984 on Lamborghini/Passport. Tracklist: A1. “No Sleep Tonight (Includes Take Off)” (4:50) A2. “I Want U” (3:57) A3. “Beyond the Pleasure” (3:48) A4. “Life in the Underworld” (4:13) A5. “Overload” (3:27) B1. “Black Brains of Positronic Africa” (5:00) B2. “Elastic Freedom (In […]

Vulcain ‎– Rock’n’Roll Secours (1984)

Rock’n’Roll Secours is the debut album by French metal band Vulcain, released in 1984 on Devil’s Records. Tracklist: A1. “Ebony” (3:24) A2. “Le King” (3:20) A3. “Les damnés” (4:05) A4. “Pile ou face” (2:04) A5. “Rock ‘n’ Roll Secours” (4:46) A6. “La digue du cul” (1:18) B1. “Le fils de Lucifer” (5:03) B2. “Vulcain / […]

The Pale Fountains ‎– Pacific Street (1984)

Pacific Street is the first of two albums by Liverpudlian sophisti-pop band the Pale Fountains, released in 1984 on Virgin. Tracklist: A1. “Reach” (4:10) A2. “Something on My Mind” (3:55) A3. “Unless” (4:40) A4. “Southbound Excursion” (2:32) A5. “Natural” (3:20) B1. “Faithful Pillow (Pt.1)” (1:39) B2. “(Don’t Let Your Love) Start a War” (3:38) B3. […]

French TV ‎– French TV (1984)

French TV is the debut album by the namesake American avant-garde/jazz-rock quartet, self-released by the band in 1984. Tracklist: A1. “Happy Armies Fight in Their Sleep” (3:45) A2. “Under Heaven Is a Great Disorder (And the Situation Is Excellent)” (3:28) A3. “The Artists’s House” (3:16) A4. “Spill” (10:33) B1. “Dream of Peace” (4:09) B2. “No […]

Martin Dupont ‎– Just Because… (1984)

Just Because… is the debut album by French coldwave/art-pop combo Martin Dupont, released in 1984 on Facteurs d’Ambiance. Tracklist: A1. “Just Because” (4:56) A2. “Sticks in My Brain” (2:52) A3. “Under Nylon” (3:04) A4. “Take a Look” (3:42) A5. “Soft Images” (4:04) A6. “Brittle Hero” (2:58) B1. “Dirty Hands” (3:35) B2. “Willy Nilly” (3:07) B3. […]

H-Bomb ‎– Attaque (1984)

Attaque is the singular full-length album by French metal band H-Bomb, released in 1984 on Rave-On. Tracklist: A1. “Attaque” (0:32) A2. “Exterminateurs” (3:56) A3. “Dressé à tuer” (3:13) A4. “Gwendoline” (4:46) A5. “Substance mort” (3:18) A6. “Rêve de puissance” (3:29) B1. “Double bang” (4:08) B2. “Le glaive” (4:07) B3. “Crache et crève” (3:22) B4. “Fou sanguinaire” […]

Deniece Williams ‎– Let’s Hear It for the Boy (1984)

Let’s Hear It for the Boy is the seventh album by American soul singer Deniece Williams, released in 1984 on Columbia. Tracklist: A1. “Let’s Hear It for the Boy” (4:18) A2. “I Want You” (2:50) A3. “Picking Up the Pieces” (4:40) A4. “Black Butterfly” (4:25) A5. “Next Love” (4:23) B1. “Haunting Me” (4:57) B2. “Don’t […]

Griffin ‎– Flight of the Griffin (1984)

Flight of the Griffin is the first of two albums by Bay Area metal band Griffin, released in 1984 on Shrapnel. Tracklist: A1. “Hawk the Slayer” (4:20) A2. “Heavy Metal Attack” (5:05) A3. “Submission” (4:13) A4. “Creeper” (4:01) A5. “Flight of the Griffin” (6:07) B1. “Fire in the Sky” (4:45) B2. “Hell Runneth Over” (3:37) […]

Luna ‎– Nestvarne Stvari (1984)

Nestvarne Stvari is the singular album by Yugoslavian New Wave band Luna, released in 1984 on Helidon. Tracklist: A1. “Fakir” (3:10) A2. “Nestvarne stvari” (3:00) A3. “Vila” (2:45) A4. “Ogledalo Lune” (6:50) A5. “Povratak” (2:10) A6. “Okean” (3:45) B1. “Amazon” (4:07) B2. “Lambo” (3:48) B3. “Intima” (5:30) B4. “Balder na prozoru” (6:55) Credits: Drums – […]

Equilibrio Vital ‎– Kazmor el Prisionero (1984)

Kazmor el Prisionero is the second album by Venezuelan symphonic-rock band Equilibrio Vital, released in 1984 on Color. Tracklist: 1. “El Ausente” (4:28) 2. “Kazmor” (4:57) 3. “Mi Canción I” (4:44) 4. “Lluvia Cósmica” (7:19) 5. “Xskgriglam” (7:46) 6. “Yellenik” (3:17) 7. “Inocentes Perdidos” (3:04) 8. “Mi Canción II” (2:12) Bonus tracks: 9. “Sudyenin” (10:04) […]

Chris de Burgh ‎– Man on the Line (1984)

Man on the Line is the seventh studio album by Irish singer/songwriter Chris de Burgh, produced by Rupert Hine and released in 1984 on A&M. Tracklist: A1. “The Ecstasy of Flight (I Love the Night)” (4:00) A2. “Sight and Touch” (3:17) A3. “Taking It to the Top” (4:00) A4. “The Head and the Heart” (3:59) […]

Clannad ‎– Legend (1984)

Legend is the seventh studio album by Irish Celt-folk/New Age combo Clannad, recorded as the soundtrack to ITV’s Robin of Sherwood series and released in 1984 on RCA. Tracklist: A1. “Robin (The Hooded Man)” (2:48) A2. “Now Is Here” (3:32) A3. “Herne” (5:08) A4. “Together We” (3:28) A5. “Darkmere” (1:59) B1. “Strange Land” (3:10) B2. “Scarlet […]