Todd Rundgren’s Utopia ‎– Todd Rundgren’s Utopia (1974)

Todd Rundgren’s Utopia is a 1974 album by Rundgren’s revolving-door studio ensemble, which had come together during sessions for his recent A Wizzard, a True Star and Todd LPs. Expanding on the musical directions of that latter release, the four tracks on this album weave contrapuntal interplay with intergalactic sonics. The 30-minute suite that occupies […]

Utopia – POV (1985)

POV is a 1985 album by Utopia. The release would mark the eighth and final studio outing of the classic lineup of Rundgren, Sulton, Powell, and Wilcox. Musically, the album advances the hi-tech approach of Oblivion. Highlights include the neon-powered “Zen Machine” and “More Light,” the vibe-toned Fairlight mid-pacer “Mimi Gets Mad,” and the anthemic […]

Todd Rundgren ‎– Nearly Human (1989)

Nearly Human is a 1989 album by Todd Rundgren. The album marked his first release of new material in four years, during which time he’d been engrossed in production work. In contrast to his mostly self-contained post-Runt solo recordings, he assembled a full studio ensemble for this album. Included in the lineup are keyboardist Brent […]

Todd Rundgren – Healing (1981)

Healing is a 1981 album by Todd Rundgren, issued on Bearsville as a single LP with a bonus 7″. The material ranges from blue-eyed soul reminiscent of associates Hall & Oates (“Compassion”) to vocal/xylo jigsaw pieces in the vein of Gentle Giant (“Pulse”). Side two consists of a three-part electro-meditation suite. The Magritte-themed video for […]

Todd Rundgren – The Ever Popular Tortured Artist Effect (1982)

The Ever Popular Tortured Artist Effect is a 1982 album by Todd Rundgren. The album continues the modernized, synth-laden approach of its predecessor, replete with lyrics that further probe the human psyche on several numbers. The angular, neon-toned “Influenza” and the self-harmonized, humorously worded “Don’t Hurt Yourself” are among the highlights. Tracklist: A1. Hideaway A2. […]

Utopia – Oblivion (1983)

Oblivion is a 1983 album by American foursome Utopia. The music refines the player’s recent embrace of hi-tech electronic equipment — a trend previewed on the earlier Swing to the Right LP, as well as on Todd Rundgren’s two most recent solo albums, Healing and The Ever Popular Tortured Artist Effect. In contrast to the […]


Utopia was an American maximalist-rock band that released six studio albums and a live disc on Bearsville between 1974 and 1982, followed by three further albums on Network and Passport. The band was formed by musician/producer Todd Rundgren and initially featured a six man lineup, as heard on Todd Rundgren’s Utopia (1974). By the time […]

Todd Rundgren

Todd Rundgren (born June 22, 1948) is an American vocalist, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, bandleader, and producer, originally from Philadelphia. He first emerged in psych-rockers the Nazz, which released two proper albums in 1968–69. He initially recorded solo under the band moniker Runt, issuing the 1970/71 Bearsville albums Runt and The Ballad of Todd Rundgren. Under his […]

Nazz – Nazz (1968)

Nazz is the debut album by the namesake American psych-rock/pop band, released in 1968 on SGC/Atco. Tracklist: A1. “Open My Eyes” (2:38) A2. “Back of Your Mind” (3:45) A3. “See What You Can Be” (2:55) A4. “Hello It’s Me” (4:00) A5. “Wildwood Blues” (4:37) B1. “If That’s the Way You Feel” (4:49) B2. “When I Get […]

Nazz ‎– Nazz Nazz (1969)

Nazz Nazz is the second album by American psych-rock/orchestral-pop band Nazz, released in 1969 on SGC/Atco. Tracklist: A1. “Forget All About It” (3:15) A2. “Not Wrong Long” (2:30) A3. “Rain Rider” (3:52) A4. “Gonna Cry Today” (3:15) A5. “Meridian Leeward” (3:20) A6. “Under the Ice” (5:40) B1. “Hang On Paul” (2:42) B2. “Kiddie Boy” (3:30) […]

XTC ‎– Skylarking (1986)

Skylarking is the eighth album by English art-pop band XTC, released in 1986 on Virgin. Tracklist: A1. “Summer’s Cauldron” (3:15) A2. “Grass” (3:08) A3. “The Meeting Place” (3:13) A4. “That’s Really Super, Supergirl” (3:20) A5. “Ballet for a Rainy Day” (2:57) A6. “1000 Umbrellas” (3:36) A7. “Season Cycle” (3:29) B1. “Earn Enough for Us” (2:51) […]


The Nazz was an American psych-rock band from Philadelphia that released the 1968–69 albums Nazz and Nazz Nazz on SGC. Frontman Todd Rundgren launched a prolific solo career and later fronted Utopia. Drummer Thom Mooney resurfaced in the hard-rock super-trio Paris. Members: Robert “Stewkey” Antoni (piano, organ, lead vocals), Thom Mooney (drums), Todd Rundgren (guitar, […]

Zerra I ‎– Zerra I (1984)

Zerra I is the debut album by the namesake Irish New Wave/rock band, produced by Todd Rundgren and released in 1984 on Mercury. Tracklist: A1. “Mountains and Water” (4:40) A2. “Tumbling Down” (3:42) A3. “Diaries” (5:35) A4. “I Feel It” (3:37) A5. “The Other Side” (4:14) B1. “Rain” (4:03) B2. “I Know” (5:03) B3. “Nothing” (3:34) […]

Todd Rundgren ‎– Hermit of Mink Hollow (1978)

Hermit of Mink Hollow is the eighth solo album by American songwriter/musician/vocalist Todd Rundgren, released in 1978 on Bearsville. Tracklist: A1. “All the Children Sing” (3:08) A2. “Can We Still Be Friends” (3:34) A3. “Hurting for You” (3:20) A4. “Too Far Gone” (2:38) A5. “Onomatopoeia” (1:34) A6. “Determination” (3:11) B1. “Bread” (2:48) B2. “Bag Lady” […]

Daryl Hall & John Oates ‎– Along the Red Ledge (1978)

Along the Red Ledge is the seventh album by American rock/soul duo Daryl Hall & John Oates, released in 1978 on RCA. Tracklist: A1. It’s a Laugh (3:49) A2. Melody for a Memory (4:50) A3. The Last Time (2:47) A4. I Don’t Wanna Lose You (3:45) A5. Have I Been Away Too Long (4:19) B1. […]

Todd Rundgren ‎– A Wizard, a True Star (1973)

A Wizard, a True Star is the fourth solo album by American songwriter/musician/vocalist Todd Rundgren, released in 1973 on Bearsville. Tracklist: A1. “International Feel” (2:53) A2. “Never Never Land” (1:25) A3. “Tic Tic Tic It Wears Off” (1:15) A4. “You Need Your Head” (1:07) A5. “Rock and Roll Pussy” (1:10) A6. “Dogfight Giggle” (1:10) A7. […]

Todd Rundgren ‎– Initiation (1975)

Initiation is the sixth solo album by American musician/composer Todd Rundgren, released in 1975 on Bearsville. Tracklist: A1. “Real Man” (4:25) A2. “Born to Synthesize” (3:40) A3. “The Death of Rock and Roll” (3:48) A4. “Eastern Intrigue” (5:06) A5. “Initiation” (7:05) A6. “Fair Warning” (8:07) A Treatise on Cosmic Fire B1. “Intro-Prana” (4:27) B2. “II […]

Todd Rundgren ‎– Todd (1974)

Todd is the fifth solo album by American songwriter/musician/vocalist Todd Rundgren, released in 1974 on Bearsville. Tracklist: A1. “How About a Little Fanfare?” (0:57) A2. “I Think You Know” (3:48) A3. “The Spark of Life” (6:43) A4. “An Elpee’s Worth of Toons” (2:08) A5. “A Dream Goes On Forever” (2:21) A6. “Lord Chancellor’s Nightmare Song” […]

Daryl Hall & John Oates ‎– War Babies (1974)

War Babies is the third album by American rock/soul duo Daryl Hall & John Oates, released in 1974 on RCA. Tracklist: A1. Can’t Stop the Music (He Played It Much Too Long) (2:49) A2. Is It a Star (4:45) A3. Beanie G. and the Rose Tattoo (3:00) A4. You’re Much Too Soon (4:07) A5. 70’s Scenario […]