Tomorrow – Tomorrow (1968)

Tomorrow is the homonymous, lone longplayer by the English popsike quartet that featured vocalist Keith West and guitarist Steve Howe. Released in 1968 on Parlophone, the album contains the band’s two 1967 singles, minus the b-side “Claramount Lake.” Tracklist: A1. My White Bicycle A2. Colonel Brown A3. Real Life Permanent Dream A4. Shy Boy A5. […]

The Twilights – Once Upon a Twilight (1968)

Once Upon a Twilight is a 1968 concept album by Australian beat combo The Twilights. The album culminated from months of painstaking work by the band’s mastermind Terry Britten. The band split soon afterwards when the guitarist/writer scored a gig with Cliff Richard, who covered the track “Take Action” on his 1969 Sincerely LP. Tracklist: […]

Woody Kern – The Awful Disclosures of Maria Monk (1968)

The Awful Disclosures of Maria Monk is an album by English psych/blues rockers Woody Kern, released in 1968 on Pye. Tracklist: A1. “Biography” (4:25) A2. “The Blues Keep Falling” (6:05) A3. “That’s Wrong Little Mama” (3:01) A4. “Tell You I’m Gone” (4:12) A5. “Xoanan Bay” (4:34) A6. “Uncle John” (6:19) B1. “Gramophone Man” (4:01) B2. “Fair […]

Van Morrison – Astral Weeks (1968)

Astral Weeks is the second solo album by Irish singer/songwriter Van Morrison, released in 1968 on Warner Bros. Tracklist: In the Beginning A1. “Astral Weeks” (7:00) A2. “Beside You” (5:10) A3. “Sweet Thing” (4:10) A4. “Cyprus Avenue” (6:50) Afterwards B1. “Young Lovers Do” (3:10) B2. “Madame George” (9:25) B3. “Ballerina” (7:00) B4. “Slim Slow Slider” […]

The Rolling Stones – Beggar’s Banquet (1968)

Beggar’s Banquet is an album by English rockers the Rolling Stones, released in 1968 on Decca/London. Tracklist: A1. “Sympathy for the Devil” (6:18) A2. “No Expectations” (3:56) A3. “Dear Doctor” (3:22) A4. “Parachute Woman” (2:20) A5. “Jig-Saw Puzzle” (6:06) B1. “Street Fighting Man” (3:16) B2. “Prodigal Son” (2:52) B3. “Stray Cat Blues” (4:37) B4. “Factory […]

Archie Shepp – The Magic of Ju-Ju (1968)

The Magic of Ju-Ju is an album by American jazz saxophonist Archie Shepp, released in 1968 on Impulse! Tracklist: A. “The Magic of Ju-Ju” (18:34) B1. “You’re What This Day Is All About” (1:47) B2. “Shazam” (4:43) B3. “Sorry ‘Bout That” (10:08) Credits: Archie Shepp — tenor saxophone, writer Martin Banks — trumpet, fluegelhorn Michael […]

Jimi Hendrix Experience – Electric Ladyland (1968)

Electric Ladyland is the third album by the Jimi Hendrix Experience, released on October 25, 1968, on Track (UK), Polydor (Europe), and Reprise (North America). Tracklist: A1. “…And the Gods Made Love” (1:22) A2. “Have You Ever Been (to Electric Ladyland)” (2:09) A3. “Crosstown Traffic” (2:26) A4. “Voodoo Chile” (14:58) B1. “Little Miss Strange” (2:52) […]

Cream – Wheels of Fire (1968)

Wheels of Fire is a half-studio/half-live double-album by English power trio Cream, released in 1968 on Polydor/Atco. Tracklist: In the Studio A1. “White Room” (4:56) A2. “Sitting on Top of the World” (4:56) A3. “Passing the Time” (4:31) A4. “As You Said” (4:19) B1. “Pressed Rat and Warthog” (3:13) B2. “Politician” (4:11) B3. “Those Were […]

Chick Corea – Tones for Joan’s Bones (1968)

Tones for Joan’s Bones is the debut solo album by American jazz pianist Chick Corea, recorded in December 1966 and released in 1968 on Vortex. Tracklist: A1. “Litha” (13:36) A2. “This Is New” (7:41) B1. “Tones for Joan’s Bones” (6:11) B2. “Straight Up and Down” (12:34) Credits: Chick Corea — piano Woody Shaw — trumpet […]

The Alan Bown – Outward Bown (1968)

Outward Bown is the first album by the R&B/psych-pop ensemble led by English trumpeter Alan Bown, recorded in 1967 and released in 1968 on Music Factory. Tracklist: A1. “Toyland” (2:34) A2. “Magic Handkerchief” (3:16) A3. “Mutiny” (3:04)* A4. “All Along the Watchtower” (3:09) A5. “Sally Green” (3:19) A6. “Penny for Your Thoughts” (3:39) B1. “Storybook” […]

Family – Music in a Doll’s House (1968)

Music in a Doll’s House is the debut album by English psychedelic/art-rock band Family, released in 1968 on Reprise. Tracklist: A1. “The Chase” (2:13) A2. “Mellowing Grey” (2:47) A3. “Never Like This” (2:18) A4. “Me My Friend” (2:01) A5. “Variation on a Theme of Hey Mr. Policeman” (0:23) A6. “Winter” (2:25) A7. “Old Songs New […]

The Kinks – The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society (1968)

The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society is an album by English pop-rock/music-hall foursome The Kinks, released in November 1968 on Pye in the UK and Reprise in the States. Tracklist: A1. “The Village Green Preservation Society” (2:50) A2. “Do You Remember Walter?” (2:27) A3. “Picture Book” (2:39) A4. “Johnny Thunder” (2:32) A5. “Last […]

The Zombies – Odessey and Oracle (1968)

Odessey and Oracle is the second proper album by English baroque/psych band The Zombies, released in 1968 on CBS. Tracklist: A1. “Care of Cell 44” (3:59) A2. “A Rose for Emily” (2:21) A3. “Maybe After He’s Gone” (2:38) A4. “Beechwood Park” (2:46) A5. “Brief Candles” (3:35) A6. “Hung Up on a Dream” (3:05) B1. “Changes” […]

Blood, Sweat & Tears – Child Is Father to the Man (1968)

Child Is Father to the Man is the debut album by American jazz-rock septet Blood, Sweat & Tears, released in 1968 on Columbia. The album is the band’s only release to feature trumpeter Randy Brecker and keyboardist/vocalist Al Kooper. Tracklist: A1. “Overture” (1:32) A2. “I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know” (5:58) A3. “Morning […]

The Mothers of Invention – We’re Only in It for the Money (1968)

We’re Only in It for the Money is the third album by Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention, released in 1968 on Verve. Tracklist: A1. “Are You Hung Up?” (1:23) A2. “Who Needs the Peace Corps?” (2:34) A3. “Concentration Moon” (2:32) A4. “Mom & Dad” (2:16) A5. “Bow Tie Daddy” (1:22) A6. “Harry, You’re […]

Spooky Tooth – It’s All About… (1968)

It’s All About… is the debut album by English psychedelic-pop/rock band Spooky Tooth, released in 1968 on Island Records. Tracklist: A1. “Society’s Child (Baby I’ve Been Thinking)” (4:30) A2. “Love Really Changed Me” (3:34) A3. “Here I Lived So Well” (5:07) A4. “Too Much of Nothing” (3:57) A5. “Sunshine Help Me” (3:04) B1. “It’s All […]

Lighthouse – Lighthouse (1968)

Lighthouse is the debut album by the namesake Canadian brass-rock ensemble, released in 1968 on RCA Victor. Tracklist: A1. “Mountain Man” (4:18) A2. “If There Ever Was a Time” (5:01) A3. “No Opportunity Necessary” (3:00) A4. “Never Say Goodbye” (3:00) A5. “Follow the Stars” (4:00) B1. “Whatever Forever” (4:59) B2. “Eight Miles High” (5:08) B3. “Marsha, […]

Colours – Colours (1968)

Colours is the first of two albums by American pop-psych band Colours, released in 1968 on Dot Records. Tracklist: A1. “Bad Day at Black Rock” (3:06) A2. “Love Heals” (2:38) A3. “Helping You Out” (2:57) A4. “Where Is She” (2:24) A5. “Rather Be Me” (3:35) A6. “I’m Leaving” (2:45) B1. “Brother Lou’s Love Colony” (3:56) […]

The Pretty Things – S.F. Sorrow (1968)

S.F. Sorrow is the fourth album by English psych-rockers the Pretty Things, released in 1968 on Columbia. Comprised of 13 songs that follow the lifelong journey of one Sebastian F. Sorrow, the album is cited as the first LP-length rock opera. Tracklist: A1. “S.F. Sorrow Is Born” (3:12) A2. “Bracelets of Fingers” (3:41) A3. “She […]