Esperanto was a multi-national art-rock/flamenco ensemble, formed in Brussels by violinist Raymond Vincent (Wallace Collection) and pianist Bruno Libert. The project yielded three albums on A&M Records between 1973 and 1975, the first featuring English-born vocalist Glenn Shorrock, formerly of the Aussie pop acts The Twilights and Axiom. He soon found fame fronting the Little […]

The Twilights – Once Upon a Twilight (1968)

Once Upon a Twilight is a 1968 concept album by Australian beat combo The Twilights. The album culminated from months of painstaking work by the band’s mastermind Terry Britten. The band split soon afterwards when the guitarist/writer scored a gig with Cliff Richard, who covered the track “Take Action” on his 1969 Sincerely LP. Tracklist: […]

The Twilights

The Twilights were an Australian beat combo from Elizabeth that released numerous singles and two albums on Columbia (EMI) between 1965 and 1968. Their second album, Once Upon a Twilight, is one of rock’s pioneering concept albums. The band included future Axiom/Little River Band vocalist Glenn Shorrock and songwriter Terry Britten, who later penned global […]

Little River Band ‎– First Under the Wire (1979)

First Under the Wire is the fifth album by Australian soft rockers the Little River Band, released in 1979 on Capitol Records. Tracklist: A1. “Lonesome Loser” (3:58) A2. “The Rumor” (4:18) A3. “By My Side” (4:25) A4. “Cool Change” (5:14) A5. “It’s Not a Wonder” (3:56) B1. “Hard Life (Prelude)” (2:42) B2. “Hard Life” (4:46) […]

Little River Band ‎– Sleeper Catcher (1978)

Sleeper Catcher is the fourth album by Australian soft rockers the Little River Band, released in 1978 on Harvest. Tracklist: A1. “Shut Down Turn Off” (3:55) A2. “Reminiscing” (4:11) A3. “Red-Headed Wild Flower” (4:35) A4. “Light of Day” (8:33) B1. “Fall From Paradise” (3:58) B2. “Lady” (4:55) B3. “Sanity’s Side” (4:12) B4. “So Many Paths” […]

Esperanto ‎– Danse Macabre (1974)

Danse Macabre is the second album by multinational orchestral/art-rock ensemble Esperanto, released in 1974 on A&M. Tracklist: A1. “The Journey” (10:13) A2. “The Castle” (3:31) A3. “The Duel” (7:03) B1. “The Cloister” (5:28) B2. “The Decision” (5:57) B3. “The Prisoner” (7:20) B4. “Danse Macabre” (1:58) Credits: Bass – Gino Malisan Cello – Tim Kraemer Drums […]

Little River Band

The Little River Band was an Australian rustic-rock/soul supergroup that released nine albums on Capitol between 1975 and 1986. They formed as super-group comprised of players from popular Down Under acts (The Twilights, Zoot, Axiom, Mississippi). LRB were one of the first antipodean acts to achieve commercial success in the Northern Hemisphere. Their popularity peaked […]

Axiom ‎– Fool’s Gold (1970)

Fool’s Gold is the debut album by Australian rustic-pop quintet Axiom, released in 1970 on Parlophone. Tracklist: A1. “Arkansas Grass” A2. “Baby Bear” A3. “Ford’s Bridge” A4. “Samantha” A5. “Take It or Leave It” A6. “A Little Ray of Sunshine” B1. “Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow” B2. “Mansfield Hotel” B3. “Can’t Let Go of This Feeling” […]