Cream was an English rock trio that was active for 28 months between July 1966 and November 1968. They released three proper albums — Fresh Cream, Disraeli Gears, and Wheels of Fire — and the leftovers roundup Goodbye. Their most recognized songs include the much-covered “Badge” and the FM evergreens “I Feel Free,” “Sunshine of […]

The Graham Bond Organization

The Graham Bond Organization was an English R&B–beat combo that released the 1965 Columbia albums The Sound of ’65 and There’s a Bond Between Us. The members, distinguished by their jazz-crossover pedigrees, achieved virtuoso status on their respective instruments. Bassist Jack Bruce went over to Manfred Mann and relinked with drummer Ginger Baker in the […]

Manfred Mann

Manfred Mann was an English R&B/beat band from London that released a string of singles and two albums on His Master’s Voice during the mid-1960s with original vocalist Paul Jones, followed by three albums with accompanying singles on Fontana between 1966 and 1968 with singer Mike D’Abo. Guitarist/bassist Tom McGuinness later teamed with Bluesbreaker Hughie […]

Cream – Disraeli Gears (1967)

Disraeli Gears is the second album by English psych/blues-rock trio Cream, released in 1967 on Reaction/Atco. Tracklist: A1. “Strange Brew” (2:49) A2. “Sunshine of Your Love” (4:12) A3. “World of Pain” (3:05) A4. “Dance the Night Away” (3:36) A5. “Blue Condition” (3:32) B1. “Tales of Brave Ulysses” (2:49) B2. “Swlabr” (2:34) B3. “We’re Going Wrong” […]

Cream – Wheels of Fire (1968)

Wheels of Fire is a half-studio/half-live double-album by English power trio Cream, released in 1968 on Polydor/Atco. Tracklist: In the Studio A1. “White Room” (4:56) A2. “Sitting on Top of the World” (4:56) A3. “Passing the Time” (4:31) A4. “As You Said” (4:19) B1. “Pressed Rat and Warthog” (3:13) B2. “Politician” (4:11) B3. “Those Were […]

Jack Bruce ‎– Songs for a Tailor (1969)

Songs for a Tailor is the debut solo album by ex-Cream bassist/vocalist Jack Bruce, released in 1969 on Polydor/Atco. Tracklist: A1. “Never Tell Your Mother She’s Out of Tune” (3:41) A2. “Theme for an Imaginary Western” (3:30) A3. “Tickets to Waterfalls” (3:00) A4. “Weird of Hermiston” (2:24) A5. “Rope Ladder to the Moon” (2:54) B1. […]

West Bruce & Laing

West Bruce & Laing were an English–American super-trio comprised of ex-Cream bassist and vocalist Jack Bruce and the guitarist and drummer of Mountain, Leslie West and Corky Laing. They released two studio albums and a live disc on Columbia/Windfall between 1972 and 1974. Members: Leslie West (guitar, vocals, dobro), Jack Bruce (bass, organ, synthesizer, guitar, […]

Jack Bruce

Jack Bruce (1943— 2014) was a Scottish-born bassist, vocalist, and composer who played in a series of popular English bands during the 1960s, followed by a successful solo career over the following half-century. He first emerged in 1965 with a two-album stint in the Graham Bond Organization, followed with brief time in Manfred Mann and […]

Jack Bruce ‎– Jet Set Jewel (1978)

Jet Set Jewel is an archival set of material by Scottish musician/composer Jack Bruce, recorded in 1978 and shelved until 2003 when it was released on Polydor. Chronologically, this would have been his sixth solo album. Tracklist: 1. “The Boy” (4:13) 2. “Head in the Sun” (4:32) 3. “Neighbour, Neighbour” (3:58) 4. “Childsong” (3:28) 5. “Jet […]

Jack Bruce ‎– Out of the Storm (1974)

Out of the Storm is the fourth solo album by Scottish musician/composer Jack Bruce, released in 1974 on Polydor/RSO. Tracklist: A1. “Pieces of Mind” (5:30) A2. “Golden Days” (5:04) A3. “Running Through Our Hands” (4:11) A4. “Keep on Wondering” (3:08) B1. “Keep It Down” (3:41) B2. “Into the Storm” (4:38) B3. “One” (4:54) B4. “Timeslip” […]

Jack Bruce and Friends ‎– I’ve Always Wanted to Do This (1980)

I’ve Always Wanted to Do This is an album by Scottish bassist/vocalist Jack Bruce, released in 1980 on Epic. The album is co-credited to “Friends” — an impromptu trio of jazz-funk players including keyboardist David Sancious and drummer Billy Cobham. Tracklist: A1. “Hit and Run” (3:36) A2. “Running Back” (3:51) A3. “Facelift 318” (3:18) A4. […]

Jack Bruce ‎– Harmony Row (1971)

Harmony Row is the third solo album by Scottish musician/composer Jack Bruce, released in 1971 on Polydor/Atco. Tracklist: A1. “Can You Follow?|” (1:27) A2. “Escape to the Royal Wood (On Ice)” (3:38) A3. “You Burned the Tables on Me” (3:41) A4. “There’s a Forest” (1:42) A5. “Morning Story” (4:46) A6. “Folk Song” (4:06) B1. “Smiles […]

John Mayall & the Bluesbreakers

John Mayall is an English guitarist and bandleader who led multiple lineups of the Bluesbreakers. They released four albums between 1966 and 1968 on Decca. The Bluesbreakers served as a launch pad for members of Cream, Fleetwood Mac, Colosseum, and Mark–Almond. Members: John Mayall (vocals, organ, piano, harmonica, guitar), John McVie (bass, 1963-65, 1965-67), Bernie […]