Manfred Mann’s Earth Band

Manfred Mann’s Earth Band was an English symphonic/art-rock band that released a pair of albums on Philips in 1972, followed by nine studio albums on Bronze between 1973 and 1983, plus a further pair of titles on Virgin/10 Records in the late 1980s. They are best known for the 1973 UK hit “Joybringer” (from Solar […]

Manfred Mann Chapter Three

Manfred Mann Chapter Three was an English jazz-rock/psych band that released two albums on Vertigo: Manfred Mann Chapter Three (1969) and Volume Two (1970). They were a followup to keyboardist Manfred Mann’s namesake R&B/beat combo of the 1960s. He followed this project with the Earth Band for a 13-album run between 1972 and 1987. Members: […]

Manfred Mann’s Earth Band – The Roaring Silence (1976)

The Roaring Silence is the seventh album by Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, released in 1976. Consolidating their stateside breakthrough with a lavish, theatrical cover of Bruce Springsteen’s “Blinded by the Light” — the band’s prior album contained a hard rock rendition of the Jersey performer’s “Spirit in the Night” — the album refines their scaly, […]

Manfred Mann

Manfred Mann was an English R&B/beat band from London that released a string of singles and two albums on His Master’s Voice during the mid-1960s with original vocalist Paul Jones, followed by three albums with accompanying singles on Fontana between 1966 and 1968 with singer Mike D’Abo. Guitarist/bassist Tom McGuinness later teamed with Bluesbreaker Hughie […]

Manfred Mann – Mighty Garvey! (1968)

Mighty Garvey! is the final studio album English band Manfred Mann, released in 1968 on Fontana. Tracklist: A1. “Happy Families” (2:18) A2. “No Better, No Worse” (3:02) A3. “Every Day Another Hair Turns Grey” (2:54) A4. “Country Dancing” (2:53) A5. “It’s So Easy Falling” (3:20) A6. “Happy Families” (2:09) A7. “Mighty Quinn” (2:52) B1. “Big […]

Manfred Mann Chapter Three ‎– Manfred Mann Chapter Three (1969)

Manfred Mann Chapter Three is the first of two albums by the namesake jazz-rock/psych band, released in 1969 on Vertigo. The album was issued stateside with different artwork on Polydor the following year. Tracklist: A1. “Travelling Lady” (5:48) A2. “Snakeskin Garter” (5:48) A3. “Konekuf” (5:58) A4. “Sometimes” (2:38) A5. “Devil Woman” (5:27) B1. “Time” (7:32) […]

Manfred Mann’s Earth Band ‎– Angel Station (1979)

Angel Station is the ninth studio album by Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, released in 1979 on Bronze and Warner Bros. Tracklist: A1. “Don’t Kill It Carol” (6:15) A2. “You Angel You” (4:00) A3. “Hollywood Town” (5:10) A4. “Belle of the Earth” (2:45) A5. “Platform End” (1:35) B1. “Angels at My Gate” (4:50) B2. “You Are […]

Manfred Mann Chapter Three ‎– Volume Two (1970)

Volume Two is the second of two albums by English jazz-rockers Manfred Mann Chapter Three, released in 1970 on Vertigo. Tracklist: A1. “Lady Ace” (7:59) A2. “I Ain’t Laughing” (2:36) A3. “Poor Sad Sue” (5:56) A4. “Jump Before You Think” (4:51) A5. “It’s Good to Be Alive” (2:32) B1. “Happy Being Me” (15:55) B2. “Virginia” (4:54) […]

Uriah Heep ‎– Look At Yourself (1971)

Look At Yourself is the third album by English symphonic/hard-rock band Uriah Heep, released in 1971 on Bronze/Mercury. Tracklist: A1. “Look at Yourself” (5:07) A2. “I Wanna Be Free” (3:59) A3. “July Morning” (10:36 — :01-1:22+6:29-10:20) B1. “Tears in My Eyes” (5:02) B2. “Shadows of Grief” (8:40) B3. “What Should Be Done” (4:13) B4. “Love Machine” […]

Manfred Mann’s Earth Band – Solar Fire (1973)

Solar Fire is the fourth album by Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, released in November 1973 on Bronze/Polydor. Tracklist: A1. “Father of Day, Father of Night” (9:55) A2. “In the Beginning, Darkness” (5:21) A3. “Pluto the Dog” (2:47) B1. “Solar Fire” (5:15) B2. “Saturn, Lord of the Ring; Mercury the Winged Messenger” (6:31) B3. “Earth, the […]