Manfred Mann’s Earth Band – The Roaring Silence (1976)

The Roaring Silence is the seventh album by Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, released in 1976. Consolidating their stateside breakthrough with a lavish, theatrical cover of Bruce Springsteen’s “Blinded by the Light” — the band’s prior album contained a hard rock rendition of the Jersey performer’s “Spirit in the Night” — the album refines their scaly, analogue-enmeshed sound.

Additional highlights of the album include the ARP-aglow poignancy of “This Side of Paradise,” the lithely chorused “Singing the Dolphin Through,” and the penultimate “Starbird,” on which an angelic choral entrance cuts to a rousing melange of scales and effects from each soloist.

A1. “Blinded by the Light” (7:08)
A2. “Singing the Dolphin Through” (8:19)
A3. “Waiter, There’s a Yawn in My Ear” (5:39)
B1. “The Road to Babylon” (6:53)
B2. “This Side of Paradise” (4:47)
B3. “Starbird” (3:09)
B4. “Questions” (4:00)

Manfred Mann – keyboards, backing vocals
Colin Pattenden – bass
Dave Flett – lead guitar
Chris Hamlet Thompson – lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Chris Slade – drums, backing vocals, percussion

Doreen Chanter – backing vocals
Irene Chanter – backing vocals
Susanne Lynch – backing vocals
Mick Rogers – backing vocals
Barbara Thompson – saxophone
David Millman – string arrangements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *