Charles Earland – Odyssey (1976)

Odyssey is a jazz-funk album by American keyboardist/composer Charles Earland, released in 1976 on Mercury. Notable players on the album include guitarist John Abercrombie, trumpeter Randy Brecker, drummer Norman Connors, and violinists Michał Urbaniak and John Blair. The album was the first of four on Mercury for Earland, who had just wrapped a six-year, 10-album stint […]

Flora Purim ‎– Stories to Tell (1974)

Stories to Tell is a 1974 album by Brazilian vocalist Flora Purim. The release is her third as a solo performer and the second after a two-album stint with Chick Corea’s Return to Forever. Tracklist: A1. Stories to Tell A2. Search for Peace A3. Casa Forte A4. Insensatez A5. Mountain Train B1. To Say Goodbye […]

Gato Barbieri – Yesterdays (1974)

Yesterdays is an album by Argentine Latin-jazz saxist Gato Barbieri, released in 1974 on Flying Dutchman. Tracklist: A1. “Yesterdays” (10:45) A2. “A John Coltrane Blues” (8:17) B1. “Marnie” (7:07) B2. “Cariñoso” (10:51) Credits: Gato Barbieri — tenor saxophone Ron Carter — bass Paul Metzke — guitar Bernard Purdie — drums Ray Mantilla — timbales Babafemi — […]

Azar Lawrence – Summer Solstice (1975)

Summer Solstice is the second album by American jazz saxophonist Azar Lawrence, released in 1975 on Prestige. Tracklist: A1. “From the Point of Love” (7:58) A2. “Novo Ano” (6:42) A3. “From the Point of Light” (6:55) B1. “Summer Solstice” (9:30) B2. “Highway” (9:48) Credits: Azar Lawrence — saxophone Raul de Souza — trombone Albert Dailey […]

Miles Davis Quintet – Miles Smiles (1967)

Miles Smiles is an album by American jazz trumpeter Miles Davis, released in 1967 on Columbia Records. Tracklist: A1. “Orbits” (4:35) A2. “Circle” (5:52) A3. “Footprints” (9:44) B1. “Dolores” (6:20) B2. “Freedom Jazz Dance” (7:11) B3. “Ginger Bread Boy” (7:40) Credits: Miles Davis — trumpet, composer Wayne Shorter — tenor saxophone, composer Herbie Hancock — […]

Miles Davis – Miles in the Sky (1968)

Miles in the Sky is an album by American jazz trumpeter Miles Davis, released in 1968 on CBS/Columbia. Tracklist: A1. “Stuff” (17:00) A2. “Paraphernalia” (12:36) B1. “Black Comedy” (7:26) B2. “Country Son” (13:50) Credits: Miles Davis — trumpet Wayne Shorter — tenor saxophone Tony Williams — drums Herbie Hancock — piano, electric piano Ron Carter […]

Pharoah Sanders ‎– Karma (1969)

Karma is the third headlining album by American spiritual jazz saxist Pharoah Sanders, released in 1969 on Impulse! Tracklist: A. “The Creator Has a Master Plan” (19:20) B1. “The Creator Has a Master Plan (continued)” (13:36) B2. “Colors” (5:37) Credits: Pharoah Sanders — tenor saxophone, composer Leon Thomas — percussion, vocals, composer Julius Watkins — French […]

Hermeto Pascoal – Slaves Mass (1977)

Slaves Mass is the third headlining studio album by Brazilian samba-jazz keyboardist/composer Hermeto Pascoal, released in 1977 on Warner Bros. Tracklist: A1. “Mixing Pot (Tacho)” (9:20) A2. “Slaves Mass (Missa dos escravos)” (4:17) A3. “Little Cry for Him (Chorinho pra ele)” (2:20) A4. “Cannon (Dedicated to Cannonball Adderley)” (5:13) B1. “Just Listen (Escuta meu piano)” […]

Flora Purim – Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly (1976)

Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly is the fourth album by Brazilian experimental samba/jazz vocalist Flora Purim, released in 1976 on Milestone. Tracklist: A1. “Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly” (4:29) A2. “Time’s Lie” (5:09) A3. “Sometime Ago” (4:45) A4. “San Francisco River” (4:07) B1. “Andei (I Walked)” (6:12) B2. “Medley: Ina (Trip to Bahia) […]

McCoy Tyner ‎– Fly With the Wind (1976)

Fly With the Wind is an album by American jazz pianist McCoy Tyner, released in 1976 on Milestone. Augmenting his post-bop quartet for these sessions is a 14-piece orchestra conducted by arranger/co-producer William Fischer. The title-track leads with a chamber into of violin, cello, oboe, and flute in C♯m. During the first minute, the tone […]

Flora Purim – Encounter (1977)

Encounter is an album by Brazilian jazz vocalist Flora Purim, released in 1977 on Milestone. Tracklist: A1. “Windows” (5:33) A2. “Latinas” (3:43) A3. “Uri (The Wind)” (8:07) A4. “Dedicated to Bruce” (4:15) B1. “Above the Rainbow” (3:28) B2. “Tomara (I Wish)” (4:03) B3. “Encounter” (7:13) B4. “Black Narcissus” (6:36) Credits: Flora Purim — vocals, backing vocals […]

The V.S.O.P. Quintet

The V.S.O.P. Quintet were an American post-pop/jazz supergroup featuring the seasoned talents of keyboardist Herbie Hancock, saxophonist Wayne Shorter, trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Tony Williams. The band released two live double-LPs in 1977 and a third in 1979, followed by a studio album, all on CBS/Sony. Members: Herbie Hancock (keyboards), Freddie […]

The V.S.O.P. Quintet ‎– Tempest in the Colosseum (1977)

Tempest in the Colosseum is a live album by post-bop supergroup V.S.O.P., released in 1977 on Japanese Columbia. The recording was taken from a July 23, 1977, date at Tokyo’s Den-En Colosseum. Tracklist: A. “Eye of the Hurricane” (15:54) B1. “Diana” (4:26) B2. “Eighty-One” (12:50) C1. “Maiden Voyage” (11:48) C2. “Lawra” (8:08) D. “Red Clay” […]

Freddie Hubbard ‎– Red Clay (1970)

Red Clay is an album by American jazz trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, released in June 1970 on CTI. Tracklist: A1. “Red Clay” (12:05) A2. “Delphia” (7:25) B1. “Suite Sioux” (8:40) B2. “The Intrepid Fox” (10:40) CD bonus track: “Cold Turkey” (10:26) Credits: Freddie Hubbard – trumpet, writer Joe Henderson – tenor saxophone, flute Herbie Hancock – […]

Hermeto Pascoal ‎– Hermeto (1970)

Hermeto is the debut solo album by Brazilian samba-jazz musician/composer Hermeto Pascoal, released in 1970 on Cobblestone. Tracklist: A1. “Mourning (Velorio)” (8:30) A2. “Pliers (Alicate)” (3:52) A3. “Bells (Guizos)” (6:13) A4. “Yogurt (Coalhada)” (2:53) B1. “The Marianas (As Marianas)” (4:26) B2. “Hermeto” (4:18) B3. “The Love Flower (Flor do Amor)” (5:43) B4. “Fabiola” (3:44) Credits: […]

William S. Fischer ‎– Circles (1970)

Circles is an album by American jazz-rock keyboardist William S. Fischer, produced by Herbie Mann and released in 1970 on Embryo. Tracklist: A1. “Patience Is Virtue” (4:45) A2. “Saigon” (4:06) A3. “Electrix” (5:00) A4. “Chains” (4:30) B1. “There’s a Light That Shines” (3:31) B2. “Circle” (3:03) B3. “Green Forever” (4:35) B4. “Capsule” (7:00) Credits: William S. […]

Gato Barbieri ‎– Fenix (1971)

Fenix is the third album by Argentinean saxophonist Gato Barbieri, released in 1971 on Flying Dutchman. Tracklist: A1. “Tupac Amaru” (4:13) A2. “Carnavalito” (9:10) A3. “Falsa bahiana” (5:48) B1. “El día que me quieras” (6:10) B2. “El arriero” (7:24) B3. “Bahía” (6:23) Credits: Gato Barbieri — tenor saxophone, composer Na Ná — berimbau, conga Gene Golden […]

Bill Evans / George Russell Orchestra ‎– Living Time (1972)

Living Time is a collaborative album between pianist Bill Evans and conductor George Russell, recorded with the latter’s jazz-rock orchestra and released in 1972 on Columbia/CBS. Tracklist: A1. “Event I” (3:50) A2. “Event II” (8:22) A3. “Event III” (2:47) A4. “Event IV” (5:30) B1. “Event V” (11:52) B2. “Event VI” (4:13) B3. “Event VII” (2:07) […]

Grover Washington, Jr. – Soul Box (1973)

Soul Box is a double album by American jazz-funk saxist Grover Washington Jr., released in 1973 on CTI-subsidiary Kudu, which also released the records separately as Soul Box Vol. 1 and Vol. 2. Tracklist: A1. “Aubrey” (3:40) A2. “Masterpiece” (13:20) B. “Trouble Man” (15:55) C1. “You Are the Sunshine of My Life” (6:00) C2. “Don’t […]

Billy Cobham – Spectrum (1973)

Spectrum is the debut solo album by American jazz-rock drummer Billy Cobham, released in 1973 on Atlantic. Tracklist: A1. “Quadrant 4” (4:30) A2. “Searching for the Right Door / Spectrum” (6:33) A3. “Anxiety / Taurian Matador” (4:45) B1. “Stratus” (9:50) B2. “To the Women in My Life / Le lis” (4:00) B3. “Snoopy’s Search / Red […]