Trumpetmachine was the name given to a multinational jazz-rock collective assembled by Swiss keyboardist/bandleader George Gruntz for a series of recording sessions conducted over three days in June 1977. The fruits of these sessions were collected on the album For Flying Out Proud, released the following year on the German MPS label. Members: Franco Ambrosetti […]

Chick Corea – Tones for Joan’s Bones (1968)

Tones for Joan’s Bones is the debut solo album by American jazz pianist Chick Corea, recorded in December 1966 and released in 1968 on Vortex. Tracklist: A1. “Litha” (13:36) A2. “This Is New” (7:41) B1. “Tones for Joan’s Bones” (6:11) B2. “Straight Up and Down” (12:34) Credits: Chick Corea — piano Woody Shaw — trumpet […]

Woody Shaw

Woody Shaw (Dec. 24, 1944 — May 10, 1989) was an American trumpeter and composer from Laurinburg, N.C. Discography: Jazz Patterns (1970 • Joe Henderson and Woody Shaw) Blackstone Legacy (1971) Song of Songs (1972) The Moontrane (1975) Love Dance (1976) Concert Ensemble at the Berliner Jazztage (1977) Stepping Stones: Live at the Village Vanguard […]

Woody Shaw ‎– Love Dance (1976)

Love Dance is an album by post-bop trumpeter Woody Shaw, released in 1976 on Muse. Tracklist: A1. “Love Dance” (12:37) A2. “Obsequious” (9:28) B1. “Sunbath” (6:33) B2. “Zoltan” (6:48) B3. “Soulfully I Love You (Black Spiritual of Love)” (8:13) Credits: Woody Shaw — trumpet, composer Steve Turre — trombone, bass trombone René McLean — alto […]

Azar Lawrence ‎– Bridge into the New Age (1974)

Bridge into the New Age is the debut album by American spiritual-jazz saxophonist Azar Lawrence, released in 1974 on Prestige. Tracklist: A1. “Bridge Into the New Age” (6:45) A2. “Fatisha” (4:05) A3. “Warriors of Peace” (7:59) B1. “Forces of Nature” (8:41) B2. “The Beautiful and Omnipresent Love” (10:07) Credits: Azar Lawrence — soprano saxophone, tenor […]

Sonny Fortune ‎– Serengeti Minstrel (1977)

Serengeti Minstrel is the fourth album by American post-bop/jazz-funk saxist Sonny Fortune, released in 1977 on Atlantic. Tracklist: A1. “Bacchanal” (5:42) A2. “The Afro-Americans” (7:26) A3. “There’s Nothing Smart About Being Stupid” (6:47) B1. “Not All Dreams Are Real” (5:53) B2. “Never Again Is Such a Long Time” (4:45) B3. “Serengeti Minstrel” (10:53) Credits: Sonny […]