Freddie Hubbard ‎– The Black Angel (1970)

The Black Angel is a jazz-funk album by American trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, released on Atlantic in 1970. It was recorded on May 16, 1969, at NYC’s Regency Sound Studios with keyboards by Kenny Barron. “Coral Keys” Two-note bass figure by Reggie workman, modulates to trumpet theme… hazy, mellow vibe reminiscent of the late 1950s.. full-on […]

Freddie Hubbard

Freddie Hubbard (April 7, 1938 — Dec. 27, 2008) was an American jazz trumpeter from Indianapolis. Freddie was born Frederick Dwayne Hubbard on April 7, 1938, in Indianapolis. He first performed mellophone and trumpet in his high school band and later attended the Arthur Jordan Conservatory of Music, where he studied under trumpeter Max Woodbury […]

Freddie Hubbard – Liquid Love (1975)

Liquid Love is a jazz-funk album by American trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, released in 1975 on Columbia. Tracklist: A1. “Midnight at the Oasis” (5:29) A2. “Put It in the Pocket” (4:17) A3. “Lost Dream” (12:27) B1. “Liquid Love” (5:44) B2. “Yesterday’s Thoughts” (3:39) B3. “Kuntu” (13:20) Credits: Freddie Hubbard — trumpet, vocals, arrangements, flugel horn, producer […]

Charles Earland ‎– Leaving This Planet (1974)

Leaving This Planet is an album by American jazz-funk organist Charles Earland, released in 1974 on Prestige. Tracklist: A1. “Leaving This Planet” (7:29) A2. “Red Clay” (7:05) A3. “Warp Factor” (6:18) B1. “Brown Eyes” (11:45) B2. “Asteroid” (6:40) C1. “Mason’s Galaxy” (7:17) C2. “No Me Esqueca” (7:41) C3. “Tyner” (6:03) D1. “Van Jay” (8:36) D2. […]

The V.S.O.P. Quintet

The V.S.O.P. Quintet were an American post-pop/jazz supergroup featuring the seasoned talents of keyboardist Herbie Hancock, saxophonist Wayne Shorter, trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Tony Williams. The band released two live double-LPs in 1977 and a third in 1979, followed by a studio album, all on CBS/Sony. Members: Herbie Hancock (keyboards), Freddie […]

The V.S.O.P. Quintet ‎– Tempest in the Colosseum (1977)

Tempest in the Colosseum is a live album by post-bop supergroup V.S.O.P., released in 1977 on Japanese Columbia. The recording was taken from a July 23, 1977, date at Tokyo’s Den-En Colosseum. Tracklist: A. “Eye of the Hurricane” (15:54) B1. “Diana” (4:26) B2. “Eighty-One” (12:50) C1. “Maiden Voyage” (11:48) C2. “Lawra” (8:08) D. “Red Clay” […]

Freddie Hubbard ‎– Red Clay (1970)

Red Clay is an album by American jazz trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, released in June 1970 on CTI. Tracklist: A1. “Red Clay” (12:05) A2. “Delphia” (7:25) B1. “Suite Sioux” (8:40) B2. “The Intrepid Fox” (10:40) CD bonus track: “Cold Turkey” (10:26) Credits: Freddie Hubbard – trumpet, writer Joe Henderson – tenor saxophone, flute Herbie Hancock – […]