Return to Forever

Return to Forever was an American jazz-rock supergroup that evolved from a namesake 1972 solo album by bandleader Chick Corea. Members: Chick Corea (keyboards), Stanley Clarke (bass), Joe Farrell (reeds, 1971-73, 1977), Airto Moreira (percussion, 1971-73), Flora Purim (vocals, 1971-73), Bill Connors (guitar, 1973-74), Steve Gadd (drums, 1973), Mingo Lewis (percussion, 1973), Lenny White (drums, […]

Flora Purim ‎– Stories to Tell (1974)

Stories to Tell is a 1974 album by Brazilian vocalist Flora Purim. The release is her third as a solo performer and the second after a two-album stint with Chick Corea’s Return to Forever. Tracklist: A1. Stories to Tell A2. Search for Peace A3. Casa Forte A4. Insensatez A5. Mountain Train B1. To Say Goodbye […]

Miles Davis – Get Up With It (1974)

Get Up With It is an album from the electric phase of American jazz trumpeter Miles Davis, released in 1974 on CBS/Columbia. Tracklist: A. “He Loved Him Madly” (30:29) B1. “Maiysha” (14:52) B2. “Honky Tonk” (5:54) B3. “Rated X” (6:50) C. “Calypso Frelimo” (32:07) D1. “Red China Blues” (4:10) D2. “Mtume” (15:08) D3. “Billy Preston” […]

Hermeto Pascoal – Slaves Mass (1977)

Slaves Mass is the third headlining studio album by Brazilian samba-jazz keyboardist/composer Hermeto Pascoal, released in 1977 on Warner Bros. Tracklist: A1. “Mixing Pot (Tacho)” (9:20) A2. “Slaves Mass (Missa dos escravos)” (4:17) A3. “Little Cry for Him (Chorinho pra ele)” (2:20) A4. “Cannon (Dedicated to Cannonball Adderley)” (5:13) B1. “Just Listen (Escuta meu piano)” […]

Flora Purim – Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly (1976)

Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly is the fourth album by Brazilian experimental samba/jazz vocalist Flora Purim, released in 1976 on Milestone. Tracklist: A1. “Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly” (4:29) A2. “Time’s Lie” (5:09) A3. “Sometime Ago” (4:45) A4. “San Francisco River” (4:07) B1. “Andei (I Walked)” (6:12) B2. “Medley: Ina (Trip to Bahia) […]

Leon Ware ‎– Leon Ware (1982)

Leon Ware is the fifth album by the namesake American R&B/soul vocalist/composer/producer, released in 1982 on Elektra. This is be the artist’s second eponymous release after his 1972 self-titled debut album. Tracklist: A1. “Slippin’ Away” (4:14) A2. “Lost In Love With You” (3:52) A3. “Shelter” (3:56) A4. “Why I Came to California” (4:11) A5. “Deeper […]

Santana ‎– Borboletta (1974)

Borboletta is the sixth studio album by American Latin/jazz-rock band Santana, released in 1974 on Columbia. Tracklist: A1. “Spring Manifestations” (1:05) A2. “Canto de los flores” (3:46) A3. “Life Is Anew” (4:16) A4. “Give and Take” (5:47) A5. “One With the Sun” (4:23) A6. “Aspirations” (5:12) B1. “Practice What You Preach” (4:32) B2. “Mirage” (4:43) B3. […]

Flora Purim – Encounter (1977)

Encounter is an album by Brazilian jazz vocalist Flora Purim, released in 1977 on Milestone. Tracklist: A1. “Windows” (5:33) A2. “Latinas” (3:43) A3. “Uri (The Wind)” (8:07) A4. “Dedicated to Bruce” (4:15) B1. “Above the Rainbow” (3:28) B2. “Tomara (I Wish)” (4:03) B3. “Encounter” (7:13) B4. “Black Narcissus” (6:36) Credits: Flora Purim — vocals, backing vocals […]

Dee Dee Bridgewater – Just Family (1977)

Just Family is the third solo album by American soul/jazz vocalist Dee Dee Bridgewater, released in 1977 on Elektra. Tracklist: A1. “Just Family” Stanley Clarke, Richard Duncan, Gilbert Moses (5:06) A2. “Maybe Today” Gilbert Moses (6:54) A3. “Children Are the Spirit (Of the World)” Stanley Clarke, George Duke, Ray Gomez, Gilbert Moses (3:07) A4. “Sorry […]

Joni Mitchell – Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter (1977)

Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter is the ninth studio album by Canadian singer/songwriter Joni Mitchell, released in 1977 as a two-LP set on Asylum. Tracklist: A1. “Overture / Cotton Avenue” (6:35) A2. “Talk to Me” (3:40) A3. “Jericho” (3:25) B. “Paprika Plains” (16:19) C1. “Otis and Marlena” (4:05) C2. “The Tenth World” (6:45) C3. “Dreamland” (4:37) […]

Hummingbird – Diamond Nights (1977)

Diamond Nights is the third album by English jazz-funk ensemble Hummingbird, released in 1977 on A&M. Tracklist: A1. “Got My “Led Boots” On” (3:41) A2. “Spirit” (3:35) A3. “Cryin’ for Love” (3:14) A4. “She Is My Lady” (5:01) A5. “You Can’t Hide Love” (4:25) B1. “Anaconda” (5:50) B2. “Madatcha” (3:48) B3. “Losing You (Ain’t No […]

George Duke ‎– A Brazilian Love Affair (1980)

A Brazilian Love Affair is the fourteenth studio album by American jazz-funk keyboardist George Duke, released in 1980 on Epic. Tracklist: A1. “Brazilian Love Affair” (7:22) A2. “Summer Breezin’” (4:48) A3. “Cravo e Canela” (3:05) A4. “Alone-6 AM” (1:07) A5. “Brazilian Sugar” (5:33) B1. “Sugar Loaf Mountain” (4:09) B2. “Love Reborn” (4:27) B3. “Up From […]

Airto Moreira

Airto Moreira (born Aug. 5, 1941) is a Brazilian vocalist and percussionist, married to vocalist Flora Purim since 1967. The couple featured in the original lineup of Chick Corea’s Return to Forever, appearing on the 1972 album that launched the name and its 1973 followup Light as a Feather. As a solo artist, Moreira released […]

Hermeto Pascoal ‎– Hermeto (1970)

Hermeto is the debut solo album by Brazilian samba-jazz musician/composer Hermeto Pascoal, released in 1970 on Cobblestone. Tracklist: A1. “Mourning (Velorio)” (8:30) A2. “Pliers (Alicate)” (3:52) A3. “Bells (Guizos)” (6:13) A4. “Yogurt (Coalhada)” (2:53) B1. “The Marianas (As Marianas)” (4:26) B2. “Hermeto” (4:18) B3. “The Love Flower (Flor do Amor)” (5:43) B4. “Fabiola” (3:44) Credits: […]

Weather Report ‎– Weather Report (1971)

Weather Report is the debut album by the namesake multinational jazz-rock ensemble, released in 1971 on CBS/Columbia. Tracklist: A1. “Milky Way” (2:30) A2. “Umbrellas” (3:24) A3. “Seventh Arrow” (5:20) A4. “Orange Lady” (8:40) B1. “Morning Lake” (4:23) B2. “Waterfall” (6:18) B3. “Tears” (3:22) B4. “Eurydice” (5:43) Credits: Joe Zawinul — piano, electric piano Wayne Shorter […]

Chick Corea – Return to Forever (1972)

Return to Forever is an album American pianist Chick Corea, recorded with a multi-national cast of players and released in 1972 on ECM. The lineup subsequently renamed itself after the album and released a followup under the nameplate. Tracklist: A1. “Return to Forever” (12:06) A2. “Crystal Silence” (6:55) A3. “What Game Shall We Play Today” […]

Chick Corea & Return to Forever ‎– Light as a Feather (1972)

Light as a Feather is an album by American/Brazilian samba-jazz ensemble Return to Forever, recorded in October 1972 and released in January 1973 on Polydor. Tracklist: A1. “You’re Everything” (5:10) A2. “Light as a Feather” (10:53) A3. “Captain Marvel” (4:52) B1. “500 Miles High” (9:06) B2. “Children’s Song” (2:46) B3. “Spain” (9:50) CD bonus: “Matrix” […]

Luiz Bonfá – Jacarandá (1973)

Jacarandá is an album by Brazilian samba-pop guitarist/songwriter Luiz Bonfá, released in 1973 on Som Livre. Tracklist: A1. “Apache Talk” (6:40) A2. “Jacarandá” (3:59) A3. “Gentle Rain” (5:45) A4. “You or Not to Be” (2:30) A5. “Strange Message” (3:26) B1. “Don Quixote” (3:28) B2. “Song Thoughts” (3:23) B3. “Danse V” (5:43) B4. “Empty Room” (6:52) B5. […]

Grover Washington, Jr. – Soul Box (1973)

Soul Box is a double album by American jazz-funk saxist Grover Washington Jr., released in 1973 on CTI-subsidiary Kudu, which also released the records separately as Soul Box Vol. 1 and Vol. 2. Tracklist: A1. “Aubrey” (3:40) A2. “Masterpiece” (13:20) B. “Trouble Man” (15:55) C1. “You Are the Sunshine of My Life” (6:00) C2. “Don’t […]

Gato Barbieri – Under Fire (1973)

Under Fire is the fifth solo headlining album by Argentinian Latin-jazz saxist Gato Barbieri, released in 1973 on Flying Dutchman. Tracklist: A1. “El Parana” (9:00) A2. “Yo le Canto a la Luna” (4:40) A3. “Antonico” (3:46) B1. “Maria Domingas” (9:35) B2. “El Sertao” (8:17) Credits: Gato Barbieri — tenor saxophone James M’tume — congas Stanley […]