James Vincent ‎– Space Traveler (1976)

Space Traveler is the sophomoric solo release by guitarist James Vincent, issued in 1976 on James William Guercio’s Caribou Records label. The album features backing vocals by Vincent’s former-Exception bandmate Peter Cetera. Tracklist: A1. The Garden A2. Mankind A3. Drifting Into Love A4. Alone A5. Space Traveler A6. Firefly B1. Song for Jayme B2. How […]

Gene Harris ‎– In a Special Way (1976)

In a Special Way is the fifth solo album by American pianist Gene Harris, released in 1976. Tracklist: A1. Theme for Relana A2. Rebop A3. Zulu A4. Always in My Mind B1. Love for Sale B2. It’s Your Love B3. Soft Cycles B4. Five/Four B5. Naima Credits: Gene Harris – piano Jerry Peters – Rhodes, […]

James Brown – Hell (1974)

Hell is a double album by soul/funk vocalist/musician James Brown, released in 1974 on Polydor. Tracklist: A1. “Coldblooded” (4:45) A2. “Hell” (5:03) A3. “My Thang” (4:20) A4. “Sayin’ It and Doin’ It” (3:05) A5. “Please, Please, Please” (4:07) B1. “When the Saints Go Marching In” (2:43) B2. “These Foolish Things Remind Me of You” (3:14) […]

Donald Byrd – Street Lady (1974)

Street Lady is a jazz-funk album by American trumpeter Donald Byrd, released in 1974 on Blue Note. Tracklist: A1. “Lansana’s Priestess” (7:39) A2. “Miss Kane” (6:20) A3. “Sister Love” (6:11) B1. “Street Lady” (5:40) B2. “Witch Hunt” (9:42) B3. “Woman of the World” (6:51) Credits: Donald Byrd — trumpet, flugelhorn, vocals Roger Glenn — flute […]

Donald Byrd – Stepping Into Tomorrow (1975)

Stepping Into Tomorrow is a jazz-funk album by American trumpeter Donald Byrd, released in 1975 on Blue Note. Tracklist: A1. “Stepping Into Tomorrow” (5:13) A2. “Design a Nation” (4:20) A3. “We’re Together” (4:25) A4. “Think Twice” (6:12) B1. “Makin’ It” (3:48) B2. “Rock and Roll Again” (6:09) B3. “You Are the World” (4:31) B4. “I […]

Coke Escovedo – Coke (1975)

Coke is the debut solo album by American Latin-jazz/funk percussionist Coke Escovedo, released in 1975 on Mercury. Tracklist: A1. “No One To Depend On” (4:20) A2. “Why Can’t We Be Lovers” (3:40) A3. “Rebirth” (3:50) A4. “Easy Come, Easy Go” (3:12) A5. “Love Letters” (2:55) B1. “Hall’s Delight” (2:50) B2. “If I Ever Lose This Heaven” […]

The Brecker Brothers – The Brecker Bros. (1975)

The Brecker Bros. is the debut headlining album by the brotherly duo of trumpeter Randy Brecker and saxophonist Michael Brecker, released in 1975 on Arista. Tracklist: A1. “Some Skunk Funk” (5:52) A2. “Sponge” (4:06) A3. “A Creature of Many Faces” (7:41) A4. “Twilight” (5:45) B1. “Sneakin’ Up Behind You” (4:55) B2. “Rocks” (4:40) B3. “Levitate” […]

Herbie Hancock – Man-Child (1975)

Man-Child is the fourteenth proper studio album by jazz-funk keyboardist Herbie Hancock, released in August 1975 on Columbia Records. Tracklist: A1. “Hang Up Your Hang Ups” (7:28) A2. “Sun Touch” (5:10) A3. “The Traitor” (9:37) B1. “Bubbles” (9:01) B2. “Steppin’ in It” (8:41) B3. “Heartbeat” (5:16) Credits: Herbie Hancock — piano, fender rhodes electric piano, […]

Harvey Mason – Earth Mover (1976)

Earth Mover is the second album by American jazz-funk percussionist/composer Harvey Mason, released in 1976 on Arista. Tracklist: A1. “K.Y. and the Curb” (4:56) A2. “Sho Nuff Groove” (3:56) A3. “The Mase” (4:10) A4. “Sweet Mercy” (5:49) B1. “Earthmover Prelude” (0:57) B2. “Bertha Baptist” (5:43) B3. “First Summer” (6:10) B4. “No Lands Man” (4:22) B5. […]

Lee Garrett – Heat for the Feets (1976)

Heat for the Feets is the only album by American R&B vocalist/songwriter Lee Garrett, released in 1976 on Chrysalis. Tracklist: A1. “Better Than Walkin’ Out” (4:42) A2. “Heart Be Still” (4:58) A3. “You’re My Everything” (3:24) A4. “How Can I Be a Man” (7:20) B1. “Broken Down D.J.” (3:42) B2. “Sad, Sad Story” (5:44) B3. […]

Donna Summer ‎– Donna Summer (1982)

Donna Summer is the ninth chronological studio album by American soul/pop vocalist Donna Summer, released in 1982 on Geffen. Tracklist: A1. “Love Is in Control (Finger on the Trigger)” (4:22) A2. “Mystery of Love” (4:28) A3. “The Woman in Me” (3:57) A4. “State of Independence” (5:53) B1. “Livin’ in America” (4:44) B2. “Protection” (3:38) B3. […]

Lee Ritenour ‎– Rit (1981)

Rit is an album by West Coast jazz/pop guitarist Lee Ritenour, released in 1981 on Elektra. Vocalist Eric Tagg is featured on the first for tracks, including the hits “Mr. Briefcase” and “Is It You.” Tracklist: A1. “Mr. Briefcase” (3:20) A2. “(Just) Tell Me Pretty Lies” (4:13) A3. “No Sympathy” (4:43) A4. “Is It You?” (4:25) […]

Herbie Hancock ‎– Head Hunters (1973)

Head Hunters is the twelfth studio album by American jazz-funk keyboardist Herbie Hancock, released in October 1973 on Columbia Records. Tracklist: A1. “Chameleon” (15:41) A2. “Watermelon Man” (6:29) B1. “Sly” (10:18) B2. “Vein Melter” (9:10) Credits: Herbie Hancock — producer, fender rhodes electric piano, Clavinet, ARP Odyssey, synthesizer, pipes, composer Bennie Maupin — soprano saxophone, […]

Donald Byrd ‎– Black Byrd (1973)

Black Byrd is a jazz-funk album by American trumpeter Donald Byrd, released in 1973 on Blue Note. Tracklist: A1. “Flight Time” (8:30) A2. “Black Byrd” (8:00) A3. “Love’s So Far Away” (6:00) B1. “Mr. Thomas” (5:15) B2. “Sky High” (5:59) B3. “Slop Jar Blues” (6:00) B4. “Where Are We Going?” (4:40) Credits: Donald Byrd — […]

Bobbi Humphrey ‎– Fancy Dancer (1975)

Fancy Dancer is the fifth album by American jazz-funk flutist Bobbi Humphrey, released in 1975 on Blue Note. Tracklist: A1. “Uno esta” (6:40) A2. “The Trip” (5:36) A3. “You Make Me Feel So Good” (6:12) B1. “Fancy Dancer” (5:42) B2. “Mestizo Eyes” (4:49) B3. “Sweeter Than Sugar” (4:20) B4. “Please Set Me at Ease” (6:05) […]

Johnny Hammond ‎– Gambler’s Life (1974)

Gambler’s Life is a jazz-funk album by American keyboardist Johnny Hammond, released in 1974 on Salvation. Tracklist: A1. “Gambler’s Life” (5:45) A2. “Rhodesian Thoroughfare” (6:06) A3. “This Year’s Dream” (6:19) A4. “Star Borne” (7:51) B1. “Back to the Projects” (5:36) B2. “Yesterday Was Cool” (6:50) B3. “Virgo Lady” (6:41) B4. “Call on Me” (4:30) CD […]

Dee Dee Bridgewater – Just Family (1977)

Just Family is the third solo album by American soul/jazz vocalist Dee Dee Bridgewater, released in 1977 on Elektra. Tracklist: A1. “Just Family” Stanley Clarke, Richard Duncan, Gilbert Moses (5:06) A2. “Maybe Today” Gilbert Moses (6:54) A3. “Children Are the Spirit (Of the World)” Stanley Clarke, George Duke, Ray Gomez, Gilbert Moses (3:07) A4. “Sorry […]

The Headhunters

The Headhunters were an American jazz-funk supergroup assembled by keyboardist Herbie Hancock as a backing band for his series of albums on Columbia between 1973 and 1975. As an independent entity, the band released two albums on Arista between 1975 and 1977 Members: Herbie Hancock (keyboards, 1973-98), Bennie Maupin (saxophone, clarinet, flute), Paul Jackson (bass), […]

The Headhunters – Survival of the Fittest (1975)

Straight from the Gate is the first autonomous album by American jazz-funk five-piece the Headhunters, released in 1975 on Arista. The album was co-produced by Herbie Hancock, who assembled the band for backup on his 1973–75 releases Head Hunters, Thrust, and Man-Child. Tracklist: A1. “God Make Me Funky” (9:35 — 3:49–8:01) A2. “Mugic” (3:31) A3. […]

Jimmy Webb ‎– El Mirage (1977)

El Mirage is the sixth album by American composer/arranger Jimmy Webb, released in 1977 on Atlantic. Tracklist: A1. “The Highwayman” (3:44) A2. “If You See Me Getting Smaller I’m Leaving” (3:50) A3. “Mixed-Up Guy” (3:36) A4. “Christiaan No” (3:05) A5. “Moment in a Shadow” (3:36) A6. “Sugarbird” (3:23) B1. “Where the Universes Are” (3:31) B2. […]