Boz Scaggs ‎– Slow Dancer (1974)

Slow Dancer is the sixth solo studio album by American vocalist/guitarist Boz Scaggs, released in 1974 on Columbia Records. The lavish sweep of “You Make It so Hard (To Say No)” and the watery glimmer of “Take It for Granted” exhibit a newfound elegance and chivalry from the crooner. Elsewhere, the cutting thrust of “Angel […]

Patrice Rushen – Pizzazz (1979)

Pizzazz is the fifth solo album by American jazz-funk/soul artist Patrice Rushen, released in 1979 on Elektra. The album is the second in her vocal soul/funk phase. Tracklist: A1. “Let the Music Take Me” (6:51) A2. “Keepin’ Faith in Love” (4:08) A3. “Settle for My Love” (5:15) A4. “Message in the Music” (3:01) B1. “Haven’t You Heard” […]

First Cosins Jazz Ensemble

The First Cosins Jazz Ensemble were an American jazz-funk supergroup that released the album For the Cos of Jazz on Capitol in 1977. Members: David Shields (bass), James Gadson (drums), Nate Neblett (drums), Wah Wah Watson (guitar), Ray Parker (guitar), Larry Farrow (keyboards), Stu Gardner (keyboards), Allen Estes (percussion), Rudy Johnson (saxophone), Doug Richardson (saxophone, […]

Herbie Hancock – Man-Child (1975)

Man-Child is the fourteenth proper studio album by jazz-funk keyboardist Herbie Hancock, released in August 1975 on Columbia Records. Tracklist: A1. “Hang Up Your Hang Ups” (7:28) A2. “Sun Touch” (5:10) A3. “The Traitor” (9:37) B1. “Bubbles” (9:01) B2. “Steppin’ in It” (8:41) B3. “Heartbeat” (5:16) Credits: Herbie Hancock — piano, fender rhodes electric piano, […]

First Cosins Jazz Ensemble – For the Cos of Jazz (1977)

For the Cos of Jazz is an album by American jazz-funk collective the First Cosins Jazz Ensemble, released in 1977 on Capitol. Tracklist: A1. “Please the Pleaser” (5:00) A2. “Psalm” (2:25) A3. “Gently But Nasty” (3:44) A4. “Flat Meat” (4:23) A5. “Beans and Sauce” (3:28) B1. “A Plush Moment” (4:09) B2. “Funky Johnson” (2:55) B3. […]