Patrice Rushen – Pizzazz (1979)

Pizzazz is the fifth solo album by American jazz-funk/soul artist Patrice Rushen, released in 1979 on Elektra. The album is the second in her vocal soul/funk phase.

A1. “Let the Music Take Me” (6:51)
A2. “Keepin’ Faith in Love” (4:08)
A3. “Settle for My Love” (5:15)
A4. “Message in the Music” (3:01)
B1. “Haven’t You Heard” (6:45)
B2. “Givin’ It Up Is Givin’ Up” (4:59)
B3. “Call on Me” (6:48)
B4. “Reprise (Message in the Music)” (0:57)

Patrice Rushen — vocals, producer, horn arrangements, string arrangements, vocal arrangements, backing vocals, executive producer, handclaps, writer, synthesizer, piano, electric piano, percussion, tambourine, drums, Clavinet
Oscar Brashear — trumpet, flugelhorn
Raymond Brown — trumpet, flugelhorn
Clay Lawrey — trombone, horns
Maurice Spears — trombone
William Henderson — strings
Jerome Reisler — strings
Barbara Thomason — strings
Harry Bluestone — strings
Kenneth Yerke — strings
Ronald Cooper — strings
Marilyn Baker — strings
Charles Veal
strings, concertmaster
Endre Granat
Carol Shive
Gerald Albright — reeds
William Green — reeds
Freddie Washington — handclaps, acoustic guitar, drums, percussion, writer
Larry Robinson — handclaps
Charles Mims, Jr. — producer, writer
Reggie Andrews — producer
Peter Chaikin — engineer
Chris Gordon — assistant engineer
F. Byron Clark — remixer
Chris Bellman — mastering
Marlo Henderson — guitar
Paul Jackson, Jr. — guitar
Al McKay — guitar
Wah Wah Watson — guitar
Wali Ali — guitar
Melvin Webb — congas, drums
Gerald Vinci — concertmaster
Leon “Ndugu” Chancler — drums
James Gadson — drums
Bill Summers — percussion
D.J. Rogers — vocals
Josie James — vocals
Lynn Davis — backing vocals
Pauline Wilson — backing vocals
Syreeta — backing vocals
Jim Gilstrap — vocals

Artist/Album Pages:

Public Image Ltd. – Metal Box [Second Edition] (1979)
Metal Box is a double-album by English art-punk combo Public Image Limited, released in 1979 on Virg...
Albert Marcœur ‎– Armes & Cycles (1979)
Armes & Cycles is the third album by French avant-pop/proto-zolo musician Albert Marcœur, releas...
Prince ‎– Prince (1979)
Prince is the second album by the namesake soul/funk artist, released in 1979 on Warner Bros. ...
David Bendeth ‎– Adrenalin (1979)
Adrenalin is an album by English/Canadian jazz-funk guitarist David Bendeth, released in 1979 on Int...
UK ‎– Danger Money (1979)
Danger Money is the second of two studio albums by English symphonic-rock supergroup UK, released in...
Flora Purim - Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly (1976)
Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly is the fourth album by Brazilian experimental samba/jazz vocalist Flora ...
Bill Nelson's Red Noise ‎– Sound on Sound (1979)
Sound-on-Sound is the sole album by Bill Nelson's Red Noise, the guitarist/vocalist's makeshift comb...
Mi-Sex ‎– Graffiti Crimes (1979)
Graffiti Crimes is the debut album by Kiwi modernist New Wave band Mi-Sex, released in 1979 on CBS. ...
Herbie Hancock ‎– Head Hunters (1973)
Head Hunters is the twelfth studio album by American jazz-funk keyboardist Herbie Hancock, released ...
Hiroshima ‎– Hiroshima (1979)
Hiroshima is an album by the American New Age/jazz ensemble of the same name, released in 1979 on Ar...
LaMont Johnson ‎– NINE.... A Mystical, Musical Allegory (1976)
NINE.... A Mystical, Musical Allegory is the second album from pianist/composer LaMont Johnson, rele...
Saga – Images at Twilight (1979)
Images at Twilight is the second album by Canadian symphonic/art-rock band Saga, released in 1979 on...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *