Patrice Rushen – Pizzazz (1979)

Pizzazz is the fifth solo album by American jazz-funk/soul artist Patrice Rushen, released in 1979 on Elektra. The album is the second in her vocal soul/funk phase. Tracklist: A1. “Let the Music Take Me” (6:51) A2. “Keepin’ Faith in Love” (4:08) A3. “Settle for My Love” (5:15) A4. “Message in the Music” (3:01) B1. “Haven’t You Heard” […]

Patrice Rushen

Patrice Rushen (born Sept. 30, 1954) is an American musician and composer who began her career as a jazz keyboardist in the mid-1970s, playing on albums by Alphonso Johnson, Azar Lawrence, Donald Byrd, Eddie Henderson, Harvey Mason, Jean-Luc Ponty, and Luis Gasca. She was born Patrice Louise Rushen on September 30, 1954, in Los Angeles. […]

Patrice Rushen ‎– Watch Out! (1987)

Watch Out! is the ninth solo studio album by American R&B musician/vocalist Patrice Rushen, released in 1987 on Arista. Tracklist: A1. “Watch Out” (5:26) A2. “Breakin’ All the Rules” (4:55) A3. “Long Time Comin’” (4:53) A4. “All My Love” (4:47) A5. “Somewhere” (5:09) B1. “Anything Can Happen” (5:03) B2. “Burnin’” (5:05) B3. “Till She’s Out […]

Harvey Mason – Earth Mover (1976)

Earth Mover is the second album by American jazz-funk percussionist/composer Harvey Mason, released in 1976 on Arista. Tracklist: A1. “K.Y. and the Curb” (4:56) A2. “Sho Nuff Groove” (3:56) A3. “The Mase” (4:10) A4. “Sweet Mercy” (5:49) B1. “Earthmover Prelude” (0:57) B2. “Bertha Baptist” (5:43) B3. “First Summer” (6:10) B4. “No Lands Man” (4:22) B5. […]

Patrice Rushen ‎– Straight from the Heart (1982)

Straight from the Heart is the seventh solo album by American jazz-funk/soul musician/vocalist Patrice Rushen, released in 1982 on Elektra. Tracklist: A1. “Forget Me Nots” (4:42) A2. “I Was Tired of Being Alone” (3:49) A3. “All We Need” (5:50) A4. “Number One (Instrumental)” (4:55) B1. “Where There Is Love” (3:07) B2. “Breakout!” (4:04) B3. “If […]

Jean-Luc Ponty ‎– Upon the Wings of Music (1975)

Upon the Wings of Music is an album by French jazz-rock violinist Jean-Luc Ponty, released in 1975 on Atlantic Records. The album marked the beginning of his decade-long run on the label, which promote his work to a global audience. Tracklist: A1. “Upon the Wings of Music” (5:24) A2. “Question With No Answer” (3:25) A3. […]

Eddie Henderson – Comin’ Through (1977)

Comin’ Through is a jazz-funk album by American trumpeter Eddie Henderson, released in 1977 on Capitol. Tracklist: A1. “Say You Will” (4:28) A2. “Open Eyes” (3:53) A3. “Morning Song” (5:38) A4. “Movin’ On” (5:54) B1. “Return to the Source” (4:32) B2. “The Funk Surgeon” (4:59) B3. “Beyond Forever” (4:38) B4. “Connie” (3:05) Credits: Bass – […]