Joe Henderson – Canyon Lady (1975)

Canyon Lady is a jazz-funk album by American saxist Joe Henderson, released in May 1975 on Milestone. Notable players on the album include keyboardist George Duke, trombonist Julian Priester, trumpeter Luis Gasca, and reedists Hadley Caliman and Ray Pizzi. The album was recorded at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, Calif., on October 1–3, 1973. “Tres Palabras” […]

Julian Priester

Julian Priester — aka Pepo Mtoto (June 29, 1935) — is an American trombonist from Chicago, Ill. Discography: Keep Swingin’ (1960) Spiritsville (1960) Love, Love (1974 • Julian Priester Pepo Mtoto) Polarization (1977 • Julian Priester and Marine Intrusion) Koputai (1990 • Ralph Towner, Charlie Haden, Jerry Granelli, Julian Priester, Robben Ford, Denny Goodhew & […]

Bobbi Humphrey ‎– Fancy Dancer (1975)

Fancy Dancer is the fifth album by American jazz-funk flutist Bobbi Humphrey, released in 1975 on Blue Note. Tracklist: A1. “Uno esta” (6:40) A2. “The Trip” (5:36) A3. “You Make Me Feel So Good” (6:12) B1. “Fancy Dancer” (5:42) B2. “Mestizo Eyes” (4:49) B3. “Sweeter Than Sugar” (4:20) B4. “Please Set Me at Ease” (6:05) […]

Julian Priester Pepo Mtoto ‎– Love, Love (1974)

Love, Love is an album by American jazz trombonist Julian Priester, released in 1974 on ECM. The album is the veteran’s second recording as a headliner and his first since 1960. Tracklist: A1. “Prologue” A2. “Love, Love” B1. “Images” B2. “Eternal Worlds” B3. “Epilogue” Credits: Julian Priester Pepo Mtobo — tenor trombone, alto trombone, bass […]

Azar Lawrence ‎– Bridge into the New Age (1974)

Bridge into the New Age is the debut album by American spiritual-jazz saxophonist Azar Lawrence, released in 1974 on Prestige. Tracklist: A1. “Bridge Into the New Age” (6:45) A2. “Fatisha” (4:05) A3. “Warriors of Peace” (7:59) B1. “Forces of Nature” (8:41) B2. “The Beautiful and Omnipresent Love” (10:07) Credits: Azar Lawrence — soprano saxophone, tenor […]

Eddie Henderson – Comin’ Through (1977)

Comin’ Through is a jazz-funk album by American trumpeter Eddie Henderson, released in 1977 on Capitol. Tracklist: A1. “Say You Will” (4:28) A2. “Open Eyes” (3:53) A3. “Morning Song” (5:38) A4. “Movin’ On” (5:54) B1. “Return to the Source” (4:32) B2. “The Funk Surgeon” (4:59) B3. “Beyond Forever” (4:38) B4. “Connie” (3:05) Credits: Bass – […]

Billy Cobham – Inner Conflicts (1978)

Inner Conflicts is an album by jazz-rock drummer Billy Cobham, released in 1978 on Atlantic. Tracklist: A1. “Inner Conflicts” (10:49) A2. “The Muffin Talks Back” (9:52) B1. “Nickles and Dimes” (7:21) B2. “El Barrio” (6:30) B3. “Arroyo” (4:15) Credits: Bass – John Williams Drums – Billy Cobham Guitar – John Scofield Keyboards – Dawilli Gonga […]