Sonny Fortune – Waves of Dreams (1976)

Waves of Dreams is the third album by American saxophonist Sonny Fortune. Released in 1976 on A&M/Horizon, it marked his first and only recorded pairing with keyboardist Clifford Coulter, whose Moog and ARP layers add tonal color to the saxist’s frenzied post-bop. Tracklist: A1. Seeing Beyond the Obvious A2. A Space in Time A3. In […]

Weldon Irvine – Spirit Man (1975)

Spirit Man is the fifth album by American jazz-funk keyboardist Weldon Irvine, released in 1975 on RCA. Tracklist: A1. “We Gettin’ Down” (5:50) A2. “Softly” (0:37) A3. “Pogo Stick” (6:45) A4. “Blast Off” (4:17) B1. “Jungle Juice” (8:10) B2. “Yasmin” (4:37) B3. “The Power and the Glory” (5:44) B4. “Softly” (1:26) Credits: Weldon Irvine — […]

Sonny Fortune – Awakening (1975)

Awakening is the second album by American post-bop saxophonist Sonny Fortune, released in 1975 on Horizon. Tracklist: A1. “Triple Threat” (10:25) A2. “Nommo” (9:38) B1. “Sunshower” (5:14) B2. “For Duke and Cannon” (2:58) B3. “Awakening” (12:17) Credits: Sonny Fortune — alto saxophone, flute, cowbell, chimes, percussion, claves, shaker Charles Sullivan — trumpet, flugelhorn Kenny Barron — […]

Miles Davis – Get Up With It (1974)

Get Up With It is an album from the electric phase of American jazz trumpeter Miles Davis, released in 1974 on CBS/Columbia. Tracklist: A. “He Loved Him Madly” (30:29) B1. “Maiysha” (14:52) B2. “Honky Tonk” (5:54) B3. “Rated X” (6:50) C. “Calypso Frelimo” (32:07) D1. “Red China Blues” (4:10) D2. “Mtume” (15:08) D3. “Billy Preston” […]

Sonny Fortune ‎– Long Before Our Mothers Cried (1974)

Long Before Our Mothers Cried is the debut headlining album by American post-bop/jazz saxophonist Sonny Fortune, released in 1974 on Strata-East. Tracklist: A1. “Long Before Our Mothers Cried” (14:52) A2. “A Tribute to a Holiday (Billie)” (6:01) B1. “Sound of Silents” (8:58) B2. “Five for Trane” (6:28) B3. “Wayneish” (6:45) Credits: Sonny Fortune — alto […]

Charles Sullivan ‎– Genesis (1974)

Genesis is the first of two ’70s-era albums by American jazz trumpeter Charles Sullivan, released in 1974 on Strata-East. Tracklist: A1. “Evening Song” (8:22) A2. “Good-Bye Sweet John (In Memory of John Foster: Pianist)” (5:50) A3. “Field Holler” (3:51) B1. “Now I’ll Sleep” (4:32) B2. “Genesis” (17:27) Credits: Alto Saxophone – Sonny Fortune Bass – […]

Sonny Fortune ‎– Serengeti Minstrel (1977)

Serengeti Minstrel is the fourth album by American post-bop/jazz-funk saxist Sonny Fortune, released in 1977 on Atlantic. Tracklist: A1. “Bacchanal” (5:42) A2. “The Afro-Americans” (7:26) A3. “There’s Nothing Smart About Being Stupid” (6:47) B1. “Not All Dreams Are Real” (5:53) B2. “Never Again Is Such a Long Time” (4:45) B3. “Serengeti Minstrel” (10:53) Credits: Sonny […]

McCoy Tyner ‎– Sahara (1972)

Sahara is an album by American post-bop pianist McCoy Tyner, released in 1972 on Milestone. The album marked the beginning of his decade-long stretch with the label. Half-sider “Ebony Queen” opens with a bare piano figure in B-flat. From there, the track proceeds to a brisk ensemble section where the sax of Sonny Fortune billows […]

Alphonse Mouzon – The Essence of Mystery (1973)

The Essence of Mystery is the debut solo album by American jazz-rock drummer Alphonse Mouzon, released in 1973 on Blue Note. Tracklist: A1. “The Essence Of Mystery” (4:55) A2. “Funky Finger” (3:40) A3. “Crying Angels” (5:23) A4. “Why Can’t We Make It” (3:27) A5. “Macrobian” (5:14) B1. “Spring Water” (6:27) B2. “Sunflower” (4:27) B3. “Thank […]