Sonny Fortune – Waves of Dreams (1976)

Waves of Dreams is the third album by American saxophonist Sonny Fortune. Released in 1976 on A&M/Horizon, it marked his first and only recorded pairing with keyboardist Clifford Coulter, whose Moog and ARP layers add tonal color to the saxist’s frenzied post-bop. Tracklist: A1. Seeing Beyond the Obvious A2. A Space in Time A3. In […]

Buster Williams

Buster Williams — Charles Anthony Williams (born April 17, 1942) — is an American double-bassist from Camden, NJ. Discography: Pinnacle (1975) Crystal Reflections (1976) Dreams Come True (1978) Heartbeat (1979) Music for Violin & Jazz Quartet (1981 • NY) Something More (1989) Tokudo (archival, 1989) We Three (1989 • Stanley Cowell, Frederick Waits & Buster […]

Eddie Henderson – Inside Out (1974)

Inside Out is the second headlining album by American avant-garde/jazz-funk trumpeter Eddie Henderson, released in 1974 on Capricorn. Tracklist: A1. “Moussaka” (8:59) A2. “Omnipresence” (2:14) A3. “Discoveries” (5:08) A4. “Fusion” (3:33) B1. “Dreams” (7:21) B2. “Inside Out” (9:25) B3. “Exit #1” (2:54) Credits: Eddie Henderson — trumpet, cornet, flugelhorn, writer Herbie Hancock — fender rhodes […]

René McLean Sextet – Watch Out (1975)

Watch Out is an album by American post-bop saxist René McLean, recorded 7/9/75 with a sextet that features pianist Hubert Eaves and bassist Buster Williams. The album was released in 1975 on the Danish jazz label SteepleChase. The following year, the albums was issued stateside on Inner City Records. Tracklist: A1. “Bilad as Sudan (Land […]

Norman Connors ‎– Love from the Sun (1974)

Love from the Sun is the third headlining album by American jazz drummer Norman Connors, released in 1974 on Buddah. Tracklist: A1. “Revelation” (9:00) A2. “Carlos II” (6:08) A3. “Drums Around the World” (5:40) B1. “Love From the Sun” (8:14) B2. “Kumakucha (The Sun Has Risen)” (6:09) B3. “Holy Waters” (5:28) Credits: Norman Connors — […]

McCoy Tyner – Sama Layuca (1974)

Sama Layuca is an album by American post-bop pianist McCoy Tyner, released in 1974 on Milestone. The album is one in a series of rhythmically fervent, harmonically loaded titles that he cut for the label during the 1970s. Joining him on these sessions are a slew of players who made names for themselves during the […]

Alphonse Mouzon – The Essence of Mystery (1973)

The Essence of Mystery is the debut solo album by American jazz-rock drummer Alphonse Mouzon, released in 1973 on Blue Note. Tracklist: A1. “The Essence Of Mystery” (4:55) A2. “Funky Finger” (3:40) A3. “Crying Angels” (5:23) A4. “Why Can’t We Make It” (3:27) A5. “Macrobian” (5:14) B1. “Spring Water” (6:27) B2. “Sunflower” (4:27) B3. “Thank […]