L.A. Express

L.A. Express was an American jazz-funk band that released four albums between 1974 and 1976, the first two with featured saxophonist Tom Scott. Their first album features keyboardist Joe Sample and guitarist Larry Carlton, who cleared out respectively for Larry Nash and Robben Ford. Members: David Luell, Joe Sample, John Guerin, Larry Carlton, Larry Nash, […]

Joni Mitchell – Hejira (1976)

Hejira is the eighth studio album by Canadian singer–songwriter Joni Mitchell, released in November 1976 on Asylum. The title is an Islamic word for “exodus,” a departure from one place or situation for another. Across the album’s nine songs, Joni recounts her experiences on three recent journeys, starting with Bob Dylan’s Rolling Thunder Revue, a ramshackle […]

Minnie Riperton – Adventures in Paradise (1975)

Adventures in Paradise is the third album by American soul singer Minnie Riperton, released in 1975 on Epic. Tracklist: A1. “Baby, This Love I Have” (4:06) A2. “Feelin’ That Your Feelin’s Right” (4:30) A3. “When It Comes Down to It” (3:24) A4. “Minnie’s Lament” (4:14) A5. “Love and its Glory” (5:13) B1. “Adventures in Paradise” […]

Toto ‎– The Seventh One (1988)

The Seventh One is the seventh studio album by American melodic-rock band Toto, released in 1988 on CBS/Columbia. Tracklist: A1. “Pamela” (5:10) A2. “You Got Me” (3:12) A3. “Anna” (4:56) A4. “Stop Loving You” (4:29) A5. “Mushanga” (5:36) A6. “Stay Away” (5:29) B1. “Straight for the Heart” (4:10) B2. “Only the Children” (4:09) B3. “A […]

Lee Garrett – Heat for the Feets (1976)

Heat for the Feets is the only album by American R&B vocalist/songwriter Lee Garrett, released in 1976 on Chrysalis. Tracklist: A1. “Better Than Walkin’ Out” (4:42) A2. “Heart Be Still” (4:58) A3. “You’re My Everything” (3:24) A4. “How Can I Be a Man” (7:20) B1. “Broken Down D.J.” (3:42) B2. “Sad, Sad Story” (5:44) B3. […]

Dan Fogelberg ‎– The Innocent Age (1981)

The Innocent Age is the sixth solo album by American singer/songwriter Dan Fogelberg, released in 1981 as a double-LP on Full Moon. Tracklist: A1. “Nexus” (6:04) A2. “The Innocent Age” (4:15) A3. “The Sand and the Foam” (4:19) A4. “In the Passage” (6:28) B1. “Lost in the Sun” (3:53) B2. “Run for the Roses” (4:18) B3. […]

Bill Champlin ‎– Runaway (1981)

Runaway is the second solo album by West Coast musician/vocalist/songwriter Bill Champlin, released in 1981 on Elektra. Tracklist: A1. “Runaway” (3:58) A2. “One Way Ticket” (3:03) A3. “Sara” (3:15) A4. “Tonight Tonight” (3:47) A5. “Runaway Reprise” (0:47) A6. “Take It Uptown” (4:24) B1. “Satisfaction” (3:42) B2. “Stop Knockin’ on My Door” (4:16) B3. “Gotta Get Back […]

The Muffins ‎– Manna/Mirage (1978)

Manna/Mirage is an album by American avant-garde/jazz-rockers The Muffins, released in 1978 on Random Radar Records. The album is the first of two proper studio sets released in the band’s lifetime, though a string of 1975–76 sessions had already produced nearly a double-album’s worth of material. Tracklist: A1. “Monkey With the Golden Eyes” (3:50) A2. […]

Boz Scaggs ‎– Silk Degrees (1976)

Silk Degrees is the seventh album by American blue-eyed soul singer Boz Scaggs, released in 1976 on Columbia Records. Tracklist: A1. “What Can I Say” (2:59) A2. “Georgia” (3:54) A3. “Jump Street” (5:10) A4. “What Do You Want the Girl to Do” (3:49) A5. “Harbor Lights” (5:55) B1. “Lowdown” (5:15) B2. “It’s Over” (2:48) B3. […]

The Muffins ‎– Chronometers (1976)

Chronometers is a collection of pre-LP material by American avant-garde/jazz-rock band The Muffins, recorded between November 1975 and June 1976 and released in 1993 on Cuneiform. Tracklist: 1. “Chronometers” (22:59) 2. “Come What Molten Cloud” (2:52) 3. “Apparently” (3:31) 4. “Courtesy of Your Focal Interest Span” (0:44) 5. “Please Do Not Open Dr. Fischer” (2:23) […]

Alphonse Mouzon ‎– The Man Incognito (1976)

The Man Incognito is the fourth album by American jazz-funk drummer Alphonse Mouzon, released in 1976 on Blue Note. Tracklist: A1. “Take Your Troubles Away” (5:03) A2. “Snake Walk” (3:49) A3. “Before You Leave” (4:26) A4. “Just Like the Sun” (6:30) B1. “You Are My Dream” (3:30) B2. “New York City” (4:06) B3. “Without a […]

UPP ‎– This Way (1976)

This Way is the second album by English soul/funk operative UPP, released in 1976 on Epic. Tracklist: A1. “Never Turn My Back on You” (8:25) A2. “Groovin’ Mood” (3:20) A3. “Say Goodbye” (5:00) B1. “Dance Your Troubles Away” (3:40) B2. “I Don’t Want Nothing (To Change)” (3:25) B3. “There’s Still Hope” (4:00) B4. “Nitto” (3:50) […]

Diana Ross – Baby It’s Me (1977)

Baby It’s Me is the seventh solo album by American soul/pop vocalist Diana Ross, produced by Richard Perry and released in 1977 on Motown. Tracklist: A1. “Gettin’ Ready for Love” (2:45) A2. “You Got It” (3:55) A3. “Baby It’s Me” (3:09) A4. “Too Shy to Say” (3:15) A5. “Your Love Is So Good for Me” […]

Joni Mitchell – Court and Spark (1974)

Court and Spark is the sixth album by Canadian singer–songwriter Joni Mitchell, released in 1974 on Asylum. It features ten originals, including the singles “Free Man In Paris,” “Raised on Robbery,” and the Top 10 hit “Help Me,” an evergreen of soft-rock playlists. This was her first album with groups of backing musicians on every […]

Daryl Hall and John Oates ‎– Beauty on a Back Street (1977)

Beauty on a Back Street is the sixth album by American rock/soul duo Daryl Hall & John Oates, released in 1977 on RCA. Tracklist: A1. Don’t Change (3:30) A2. Why Do Lovers Break Each Other’s Heart? (3:13) A3. You Must Be Good for Something (3:28) A4. The Emptyness (3:32) A5. Love Hurts (Love Heals) (3:08) […]

Steven Feigenbaum, Tom Scott – Things are More Like They are Now Than They Ever Were Before (1980)

Things are More Like They are Now Than They Ever Were Before is a collaborative album between avant-garde Maryland musicians Steve Feigenbaum and Tom Scott, released in 1980 on Random Radar. Tracklist: A1. “And Night Into Day” (3:00) A2. “The Earbenders” (6:43) A3. “Cirrus Mist” (2:18) A4. “A Sunday Drive” (2:33) A5. “Mountain Thrash” (4:43) […]