Return to Forever

Return to Forever was an American jazz-rock supergroup that evolved from a namesake 1972 solo album by bandleader Chick Corea. Members: Chick Corea (keyboards), Stanley Clarke (bass), Joe Farrell (reeds, 1971-73, 1977), Airto Moreira (percussion, 1971-73), Flora Purim (vocals, 1971-73), Bill Connors (guitar, 1973-74), Steve Gadd (drums, 1973), Mingo Lewis (percussion, 1973), Lenny White (drums, […]

Stanley Clarke – School Days (1976)

School Days is the fourth solo album by American jazz-rock bassist Stanley Clarke, released in 1976 on Epic/Nemperor. Tracklist: A1. “School Days” (7:50) A2. “Quiet Afternoon” (5:05) A3. “The Dancer” (5:23) B1. “Desert Song” (6:53) B2. “Hot Fun” (2:50) B3. “Life Is Just a Game” (9:00) Credits: Stanley Clarke – electric bass guitar (A1,A3,B2,B3), vocals […]

Stanley Clarke – Journey to Love (1975)

Journey to Love is the third album by American jazz-rock bassist Stanley Clarke, released in 1975 on Nemperor. Tracklist: A1. “Silly Putty” (4:40) A2. “Journey to Love” (4:54) A3. “Hello Jeff” (5:16) A4. “Song to John (Part 1) (Dedicated to John Coltrane)” (4:20) B1. “Song to John (Part 2) (Dedicated to John Coltrane)” (6:05) B2. “Concerto […]

Fuse One ‎– Silk (1982)

Silk is the second of three albums by American jazz-funk supergroup Fuse One, released in 1982 on CTI. Tracklist: A1. “Silk” (8:00) A2. “In Celebration of the Human Spirit” (9:08) B1. “Hot Fire” (6:58) B2. “Sunwalk” (9:15) Credits: Stanley Turrentine — tenor saxophone Tom Browne — trumpet Wynton Marsalis — trumpet Dave Valentine — flute Eric […]

Return to Forever ‎– Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy (1973)

Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy is an album by American jazz-rock quartet Return to Forever, released in 1973 on Polydor. The album is the first of four RtF studio releases in an electrified, instrumental-rock vein. Tracklist: A1. “Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy” (3:25) A2. “After the Cosmic Rain” (8:33) A3. “Captain Señor Mouse” (8:56) B1. […]

Return to Forever Featuring Chick Corea ‎– No Mystery (1975)

No Mystery is an album by American jazz-rock quartet Return to Forever, released in 1975 on Polydor. Tracklist: A1. “Dayride” (3:15) A2. “Jungle Waterfall” (3:15) A3. “Flight of the Newborn” (7:20) A4. “Sofistifunk” (3:20) A5. “Excerpt From the First Movement of Heavy Metal” (2:45) B1. “No Mystery” (6:06) B2. “Interplay” (2:15) B3. “Celebration Suite Part […]

Chick Corea ‎– My Spanish Heart (1976)

My Spanish Heart is a 1976 solo album by American jazz-rock keyboardist/composer Chick Corea, originally released as a double-LP set on Polydor. Tracklist: A1. “Love Castle” (4:47) A2. “The Gardens” (3:11) A3. “Day Danse” (4:29) A4. “My Spanish Heart” (1:37) A5. “Night Streets” (6:02) B1. “The Hilltop” (6:15) B2. “The Sky” (5:01) — Part I: […]

Return to Forever ‎– Romantic Warrior (1976)

Romantic Warrior is an album by American jazz-rock quartet Return to Forever, released in 1976 on Columbia. Tracklist: A1. “Medieval Overture” (5:15) A2. “Sorceress” (7:33) A3. “The Romantic Warrior” (10:48) B1. “Majestic Dance” (5:01) B2. “The Magician” (5:26) B3. “Duel of the Jester and the Tyrant (Part I & Part II)” (11:25) Credits: Chick Corea […]

Santana ‎– Borboletta (1974)

Borboletta is the sixth studio album by American Latin/jazz-rock band Santana, released in 1974 on Columbia. Tracklist: A1. “Spring Manifestations” (1:05) A2. “Canto de los flores” (3:46) A3. “Life Is Anew” (4:16) A4. “Give and Take” (5:47) A5. “One With the Sun” (4:23) A6. “Aspirations” (5:12) B1. “Practice What You Preach” (4:32) B2. “Mirage” (4:43) B3. […]

Return to Forever ‎– Where Have I Known You Before (1974)

Where Have I Known You Before is an album by American jazz-rock quartet Return to Forever, released in 1974 on Polydor. Tracklist: A1. “Vulcan Worlds” (7:51) A2. “Where Have I Loved You Before” (1:01) A3. “The Shadow of Lo” (7:34) A4. “Where Have I Danced With You Before” (1:12) A5. “Beyond the Seventh Galaxy” (3:11) […]

Dee Dee Bridgewater – Just Family (1977)

Just Family is the third solo album by American soul/jazz vocalist Dee Dee Bridgewater, released in 1977 on Elektra. Tracklist: A1. “Just Family” Stanley Clarke, Richard Duncan, Gilbert Moses (5:06) A2. “Maybe Today” Gilbert Moses (6:54) A3. “Children Are the Spirit (Of the World)” Stanley Clarke, George Duke, Ray Gomez, Gilbert Moses (3:07) A4. “Sorry […]

Bill Evans / George Russell Orchestra ‎– Living Time (1972)

Living Time is a collaborative album between pianist Bill Evans and conductor George Russell, recorded with the latter’s jazz-rock orchestra and released in 1972 on Columbia/CBS. Tracklist: A1. “Event I” (3:50) A2. “Event II” (8:22) A3. “Event III” (2:47) A4. “Event IV” (5:30) B1. “Event V” (11:52) B2. “Event VI” (4:13) B3. “Event VII” (2:07) […]

Chick Corea & Return to Forever ‎– Light as a Feather (1972)

Light as a Feather is an album by American/Brazilian samba-jazz ensemble Return to Forever, recorded in October 1972 and released in January 1973 on Polydor. Tracklist: A1. “You’re Everything” (5:10) A2. “Light as a Feather” (10:53) A3. “Captain Marvel” (4:52) B1. “500 Miles High” (9:06) B2. “Children’s Song” (2:46) B3. “Spain” (9:50) CD bonus: “Matrix” […]

Luiz Bonfá – Jacarandá (1973)

Jacarandá is an album by Brazilian samba-pop guitarist/songwriter Luiz Bonfá, released in 1973 on Som Livre. Tracklist: A1. “Apache Talk” (6:40) A2. “Jacarandá” (3:59) A3. “Gentle Rain” (5:45) A4. “You or Not to Be” (2:30) A5. “Strange Message” (3:26) B1. “Don Quixote” (3:28) B2. “Song Thoughts” (3:23) B3. “Danse V” (5:43) B4. “Empty Room” (6:52) B5. […]

Gato Barbieri – Under Fire (1973)

Under Fire is the fifth solo headlining album by Argentinian Latin-jazz saxist Gato Barbieri, released in 1973 on Flying Dutchman. Tracklist: A1. “El Parana” (9:00) A2. “Yo le Canto a la Luna” (4:40) A3. “Antonico” (3:46) B1. “Maria Domingas” (9:35) B2. “El Sertao” (8:17) Credits: Gato Barbieri — tenor saxophone James M’tume — congas Stanley […]