Joni Mitchell – Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter (1977)

Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter is the ninth studio album by Canadian singer–songwriter Joni Mitchell, released on December 13, 1977, as a two-record set on Asylum.

A1. “Overture / Cotton Avenue”

6:35 |  |

Guitar and Vocal – Joni Mitchell
Bass – Jaco Pastorius
Drums – John Guerin

A2. “Talk to Me”

3:40 |  |

Guitar and Vocal – Joni Mitchell
Bass – Jaco Pastorius

A3. “Jericho”

3:25 |  |

Guitar and Vocal – Joni Mitchell
Bass – Jaco Pastorius
Drums – John Guerin
Bongos – Don Alias
Soprano Sax – Wayne Shorter

B. “Paprika Plains”

16:19 |  |

Piano and Vocal – Joni Mitchell
Bass – Jaco Pastorius
Drums – John Guerin
Soprano Sax – Wayne Shorter
Orchestrated and Conducted by Michael Gibbs

C1. “Otis and Marlena”

4:05 |  |

Acoustic Guitar and Vocal – Joni Mitchell
Electric Guitar – Larry Carlton
Snare Drum – John Guerin
Piano – Michael Colomber

C2. “The Tenth World”

6:45 |  |

Congas Clave – Don Alias
Congas Coffee Cans – Manolo Badrena
Congas Cowbell – Alejandro Acuna
Surdo (Bass Drum) – Airto
Bongos – Jaco Pastorius
Vocals – Manolo Badrena, Joni Mitchell, Don Alias, Chaka Khan, Alejandro Acuna

C3. “Dreamland”

4:37 |  |

Vocals Joni Mitchell – Chaka Khan
Surdo (Bass Drum) – Airto
Cowbells – Jaco Pastorius
Congas – Manolo Badrena
Shakers – Alejandro Acuna
Snaredrum and Sandpaper Blocks – Don Alias

D1. “Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter”

6:40 |  |

Guitar and Vocal – Joni Mitchell
The Split Tongued Spirit – El Bwyd
Bass – Jaco Pastorius
Ankle Bells – Alejandro Acuna
Shaker – Don Alias
(In Spirit) Bobbye Hall and Manolo Badrena

D2. “Off Night Backstreet”

3:22 |  |

Vocals – Joni Mitchell, J.D. Souther Glenn Frey
Bass – Jaco Pastorius
Drums – John Guerin
Orchestrator Michael Gibbs

D3. “The Silky Veils of Ardor”

4:02 |  |

Guitar and Vocals – Joni Mitchell

A1. “Overture / Cotton Avenue” (6:35)
A2. “Talk to Me” (3:40)
A3. “Jericho” (3:25)
B. “Paprika Plains” (16:19)
C1. “Otis and Marlena” (4:05)
C2. “The Tenth World” (6:45)
C3. “Dreamland” (4:37)
D1. “Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter” (6:40)
D2. “Off Night Backstreet” (3:22)
D3. “The Silky Veils of Ardor” (4:02)

Joni Mitchell — guitar, acoustic guitar, piano, vocals, producer, writer, design
Wayne Shorter — soprano saxophone
Larry Carlton — guitar
Michel Colombier — piano
Jaco Pastorius — bass, cowbell, bongos, writer
John Guerin — drums, snare drum
Don Alias — bongos, congas, claves, vocals, writer, snare drum, wood blocks, shaker
Manolo Badrena — congas, percussive objects, lead vocals, writer
Alejandro Acuña — congas, cowbell, vocals, writer, shaker, bells
Airto — surdo, writer
Chaka Khan — vocals
J.D. Souther — vocals
Glenn Frey — vocals
Michael Gibbs — orchestration, conductor

Henry Lewy — recording engineer, mixer
Steve Katz — recording engineer, mixer
Frank Laico — recording engineer
Keith Williamson — artwork


Artist/Album Pages:

Okay Temiz ‎– Oriental Wind (1977)
Oriental Wind is a collaboration album between Turkish percussionist Okay Temiz and Swedish ethno/ja...
Justin Hayward - Songwriter (1977)
Songwriter is the debut solo album by Moody Blues frontman Justin Hayward, released in 1977 on Deram...
In Search of Orchestra ‎– In Search of... (1977)
In Search of... is a 1977 album credited to the namesake studio orchestra directed by the musical te...
Iggy Pop ‎– Lust for Life (1977)
Lust for Life is the second solo album by American rock vocalist Iggy Pop, produced by David Bowie a...
Michael Henderson – Goin' Places (1977)
Goin' Places is the second solo album by American bassist/vocalist Michael Henderson, released in 19...
John Miles ‎– Stranger in the City (1977)
Stranger in the City is the second album by English musician/vocalist John Miles, produced by Rupert...
Pat Travers ‎– Putting it Straight (1977)
Putting it Straight is the third album by Canadian blues-rock/hard-rock guitarist Pat Travers, relea...
Jean-Luc Ponty ‎– Enigmatic Ocean (1977)
Enigmatic Ocean is a symphonic/jazz-rock album by French violinist Jean-Luc Ponty, released in 1977 ...
The Wolfgang Schlüter Combo ‎– Hangover (1977)
Hangover is an album by German vibraphonist Wolfgang Schlüter, released in 1977 on Peer Internationa...
Legs Diamond - Legs Diamond (1977)
Legs Diamond is the debut album by the namesake American hard-rock band, released in 1977 on Mercury...
David Bowie ‎– Low (1977)
Low is the tenth studio album by English musician/vocalist David Bowie, released in January 1977 on ...
Cliff Richard ‎– Every Face Tells a Story (1977)
Every Face Tells a Story is a 1977 studio album by Cliff Richard, produced by Bruce Welch for EMI Re...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *