Grover Washington, Jr. – Soul Box (1973)

Soul Box is a double album by American jazz-funk saxist Grover Washington Jr., released in 1973 on CTI-subsidiary Kudu, which also released the records separately as Soul Box Vol. 1 and Vol. 2.

A1. “Aubrey” (3:40)
A2. “Masterpiece” (13:20)
B. “Trouble Man” (15:55)
C1. “You Are the Sunshine of My Life” (6:00)
C2. “Don’t Explain” (11:20)
D1. “Easy Living / Ain’t Nobody’s Business (Medley)” (10:00)
D2. “Taurian Matador” (8:09)

Grover Washington Jr. – tenor, alto and soprano saxophone
Bob James – piano, arranger, conductor
Richard Tee – organ
Eric Gale – electric guitar
Bernie Glow, John Frosk, Jon Faddis, Randy Brecker – trumpet, flugelhorn
Wally Kane – flute, clarinet, clarinet [Contra Bass], saxophone
Santo Russo, Wayne Andre – trombone
Alan Raph, Paul Faulise, Tony Studd – trombone (bass)
Hubert Laws – flute, piccolo flute
Romeo Penque – flute, piccolo flute, clarinet, clarinet (bass), oboe, English horn
George Marge – flute, piccolo flute, oboe
Harvey Estrin – flute, piccolo flute
Brooks Tillotson, Jim Buffington, Peter Gordon – French horn
Ron Carter – bass, bass (arco)
Richard Davis – bass (arco)
Donald MacCourt – bassoon
Idris Muhammad, Billy Cobham – drums
Airto Moreira, David Friedman, Phil Kraus, Ralph MacDonald – percussion
Barbara Massey, Bernard Thacker, Eileen Gilbert, Maeretha Stewart, Randolph Peyton, Bill Eaton – vocals
Alfred Brown, Emanuel Vardi, Theodore Israel – viola
Charles Libove, David Nadien, Elliot Rosoff, Emanuel Green, Gene Orloff, Harold Kohon, Harry Cykman, Harry Lookofsky, Joe Malin, Max Ellen, Paul Gershman – violin
Charles McCracken, George Ricci, Seymour Barab – cello

Creed Taylor – producer

Artist/Album Pages:

Secret Oyster ‎– Secret Oyster (1973)
Secret Oyster is the debut album by the namesake Danish jazz-rock quintet, released in 1973 on CBS. ...
Zao - Z=7L (1973)
Z=7L is the debut album by French chamber-rock/Zeuhl combo Zao, released in 1973 on Vertigo. ...
David Sancious ‎– Forest of Feelings (1975)
Forest of Feelings is the debut solo album by American jazz-rock keyboardist/composer David Sancious...
Hermeto Pascoal ‎– Hermeto (1970)
Hermeto is the debut solo album by Brazilian samba-jazz musician/composer Hermeto Pascoal, released ...
Luther Vandross ‎– Forever, for Always, for Love (1982)
Forever, for Always, for Love is the fourth album by American soul singer Luther Vandross, released ...
Hanson - Now Hear This (1973)
Now Hear This is the first of two albums by English/Afro-Caribbean funk combo Hanson, released in 19...
Alphataurus ‎– Alphataurus (1973)
Alphataurus is an album by the namesake Italian symphonic/hard-rock band, released in 1973 on Magma....
Duncan Browne ‎– Duncan Browne (1973)
Duncan Browne is the self-titled second album by English singer/songwriter Duncan Browne, released i...
Jon Lucien ‎– Rashida (1973)
Rashida is the second album by Caribbean soul singer Jon Lucien, released in 1973 on RCA. Tra...
Cláudia ‎– Deixa eu Dizer (1973)
Deixa Eu Dizer is the fourth album by Brazilian samba-pop singer Cláudia, released in 1973 on Odeon....
Area ‎– Arbeit Macht Frei (Il Lavoro Rende Liberi) (1973)
Arbeit Macht Frei (Il Lavoro Rende Liberi) is the debut album by Italian avant-garde/jazz-rock band ...
Puppenhaus – Jazz macht Spazz (1973)
Jazz macht Spazz is an archival CD that collects the recorded legacy of early '70s German jazz-rock ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *