Ikarus were a German art-rock/psych band that released a self-titled album on the +plus+ label in 1971. Members: Lorenz Köhler (lead vocals), Wolfgang Kracht (bass, backing vocals), Jochen Petersen (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet, backing vocals), Bernd Schröder (drums, percussion), Wulf-Dieter Struntz (organ, piano), Manfred Schulz (guitar, vocals) Discography: Ikarus […]


Ibliss were a German jazz-rock/psych band that released the album Supernova on Spiegelei in 1972. Members: Rainer Buechel (saxophone, flute), Wolfgang Buellmeyer (guitar, percussion), Norbert Buellmeyer (bass, percussion), Andreas Homann [Andreas Hohmann] (drums, percussion), Basil Hammoudi (percussion, flute, vocals) Discography: Supernova (1972)


Humus were a German jazz-rock band that released the album Offshore on Pläne in 1976. Twelve years later, saxist/bandleader Rüdiger Schulz resurrected the nameplate for the self-pressed album Chess Music. Members: Rüdiger Schulz (tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone), Otmar Desch (electric piano, synthesizer), Ede Brumund-Rüther (bass), Gernot Meyer (drums) Discography: Offshore (1976) Chess Music (1988)


Hoelderlin — originally spelled Hölderlin — were a German super-band from Wuppertal, Nordrhein-Westfalen, formed in 1970. In 1972, the band debuted with a folk-psych album under the umlauted nameplate on Pilz. Between 1975 and 1981, a symphonic/art-rock incarnation of the band released five studio albums and a live double-LP on Spiegelei. Members: Nanny de Ruig […]

Holde Fee

Holde Fee were a German jazz-rock/funk band that self-released a standalone single and the album Malaga in 1974. Members: Lothar Brandes (keyboards), Reinhard Lewitzki (drums), Thomas Ruhstorfer (vocals, percussion), Gerhard Reulecke (bass), Hartmut Frenk (guitar), Andreas Becker (guitar), Heike Brinkmann (vocals) Discography: Malaga (1974) “Did You Ever Wonder Why” / “Come and Lead My Mind” […]


Herrgottsax were a German jazz-rock band that released the album Siebold Seiergesicht’s Sündige Saxofone on Eigelstein in 1981. Members: Bernd Konrad (saxophone), Büdi Siebert (saxophone, flute, marimba, vocals), Klaus Osterich (trumpet, flugelhorn), Uli Gutscher (trombone), Martin Schrack (keyboards), Wolfgang Dauner (piano), Helmut Weber (piano), Thomas Robenschlag (piano, synthesizer), Capo Mayer (bass), Horst Götz (bass), Albert […]


Helloween were a German heavy metal band that released three albums and an EP on Noise International between 1985 and 1988. More than 15 live and studio albums have appeared in the decades since on EMI, RCA, Sony and the specialty labels Castle, Raw Power, Nuclear Blast, and Steamhammer. Members: Michael Weikath (guitar), Markus Grosskopf […]


Headband were a German jazz-rock band that released three albums on Pläne and veraBra between 1979 and 1982. Members: Norbert Stein (saxophone), Jan Reimer (guitar, congas), Michael Herting (keyboards, vocals), Cläusel Quitschau (bass, percussion), Man Breuer (drums, percussion), Manfred von Bohr (drums) Discography: Straight Ahead! (1979) Suntalk (1980) Fette Brühe (1982)

Head, Heart & Hands

Head, Heart & Hands were a German jazz-rock band that debuted with the 1976 Vertigo release Libra, recorded in collaboration with American saxophonist Bobby Stern. In 1978, the band issued a self-titled album on Metronome, followed in 1980 by the Mood Records release Flor di Anglo. Members: Bobby Stern, Elmer Louis, Geoff Stradling, Guillermo Marchena, […]


Hanuman were a German art-rock/psych band that released a self-titled album on Kuckuck in 1971. Members: Wolf-Rüdiger Uhlig (organ, piano, vocals), Peter Barth (flute, alto saxophone, vocals), Jörg Hahnfeld (bass), Thomas Holm (drums) Discography: Hanuman (1971)


Zarathustra were a German symphonic/art-rock band that self-released the album Also Spielt in 1982. Members: Matthias Kamm (organ, piano, synthesizer, clavinet), Thomas Launhardt (guitar, synthesizer), Andreas “Andi” Kupfer (drums), Jürgen Rindfuss (bass, 1980-81), Dieter Müller (bass, 1981), Thilo Spenger (vocals, 1981), Thomas F. Weigel [Mäc] (bass, 1981-83), Michael “Migo” Dild (drums, 1981-83), Stefan Muth (vocals, […]


Gravestone were a German hard-rock/metal band that released two albums circa 1979/80 on AVC, followed by three albums on Scratch between 1984 and 1986. Members: Wolfgang Rittner (lead guitar, 1977-79), Rudi Dorner (rhythm guitar, lead guitar, 1977-80), Berti Majdan [aka Jorgoz!] (bass, vocals, 1977-80, 1984-?), Andy Müller (organ, backing vocals, 1977-80), Mike Schmidt (drums, percussion, […]


Grobschnitt was a German symphonic/space-rock band that released eight studio albums and three live sets on Brain between 1972 and 1985. Members: Stefan Danielak (guitar, vocals), Eroc [Joachim Heinz Ehrig] (synthesizer, percussion, drums, vocals, 1972-83), Gerd Otto Kühn (guitar, vocals, 1972-89), Bernhard Uhlemann (bass, flute, percussion, 1972), Hermann Quetting (keyboards, 1972), Axel Harlos (drums, percussion, […]


Gomorrha were a German hard-rock/psych band that released three albums between 1970 and 1972 on Cornet, BASF, and Brain. Members: Helmut Pohl (drums), Eberhard Krietsch (bass, organ, piano, vocals), Ali Claudi (guitar, vocals), Ad Ochel (guitar, vibraphone, vocals), Peter Otten (vocals), Mike Euler (bass) Discography: Gomorrha (1970) Trauma (1971) I Turned to See Whose Voice […]


Zyma were a German symphonic/jazz-rock band that debuted with two songs on the multi-artist Proton 1 compilation, released on Kerston Records in 1975. The band reemerged with the album Thoughts on their own Z-Productions label in 1978, followed by the similarly self-pressed Brave New World in 1979. Members: Karl-Heinz Weiler (drums, 1972-73), Bodo Brandl (bass), […]

Zomby Woof

Zomby Woof were a German symphonic-rock band that released the album Riding on a Tear on Jupiter Records in 1977. Members: Ulrich Herter (vocals, guitar, synthesizer), Heinrich Winter (vocals, guitar, clavinet, 1973-79), Matthias Zumbroich (piano, organ, synthesizer, Mellotron, saxophone), Udo Kreuß (bass), Berthold Mayer [Bea Maier] (drums, percussion, 1976-79), Matthias Seelmann-Eggebert (Hammond organ, 1973-76), Thomas […]


Zebulon were a German symphonic-rock band that released an eponymous album on self-press Pollux Records in 1980. Members: Thomas Krenz (guitar, percussion), Micky Schmidt (drums, percussion), Michael Krenke (bass), Ollie Ernst (keyboards) Discography: Zebulon (1980)


Zarathustra were a German hard-rock/psych band that released a self-titled album on Metronome in 1972. Members: Ernst Herzner (lead vocals), Wolfgang Reimer (guitar, vocals, percussion), Michael Just (bass, vocals), Klaus Werner (organ), Wolfgang Behrmann (drums, percussion) Discography: Zarathustra (1972)


Werwolf were a German symphonic-rock band that self-released the album Creation in 1982. Members: Peter Besting (drums, percussion, vocals), Hartwig Kugoth (guitar, bass, 1970-79), Peter Lorenz (bass, vocals, 1970-78, 2012), Jürgen Göckler (keyboards, organ, piano, backing vocals, 1976-79), Michael Schlimm (saxophone, flute, 1976-79), Ellen Wiederstein (vocals, ?-1979), Gerd Heuel (guitar, vocals, 1979-present), Burkhard Huckestein (bass, […]


You were a German electro/space-rock band released a standalone single and the album Electric Day on Cain circa 1980/81, followed by two albums on Rock City Records between 1982 and 1984. A final album, Laserscape, appeared on Racket in 1986. Members: Ulrich Weber (guitar, gongs), Udo Hanten (synthesizer, loops), Albin Meskes (synthesizer, sequencer, Mellotron), Lhan […]