Faust was a German krautrock band from Hamburg that released the 1971/72 Polydor albums Faust and So Far, followed in 1973 by the Virgin albums The Faust Tapes and Faust IV, plus a collaboration with American composer Tony Conrad on the Caroline release Outside the Dream Syndicate. A decade after their split, unreleased material surfaced on the 1986–88 ReR Megacorp titles Return of a Legend: Munic and Elsewhere and The Last LP.

Members: Zappi W. Diermaier (drums, percussion), Hans Joachim Irmler (organ), Jean-Hervé Peron (bass, vocals, guitar, trumpet, french horn, 1971-97, 2005-present), Rudolf Sosna (guitar, keyboards, vocals, 1971-96), Gunther Wüsthoff (saxophone, synthesizer, 1971-75), Arnulf Meifert (drums, 1971), Peter Blegvad (guitar, clarinet, vocals, 1973), Uli Trepte (bass, 1973)

Faust formed in rural Wümme in 1971 by producer and one-time music journalist Uwe Nettelbeck.


  • Faust (1971)
  • So Far (1972)
  • Outside the Dream Syndicate (1973 • Tony Conrad With Faust)
  • The Faust Tapes (1973)
  • Faust IV (1973)
  • Return of a Legend: Munic and Elsewhere (1986)
  • The Last LP (1988)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *