Cry Freedom

Cry Freedom were a German jazz-rock band that self-released the album Volcano in 1976, followed by two albums in 1979 and 1980 on Erlkönig Schallplatten.

Members: Reiner Kleber (piano), Benny Melzer (drums), “Higgers” Schneider (bass), Rudi [Rudolf Madsius] (vocals, guitar), Gerhard Billmann (piano, organ, Moog, synthesizer), Dieter Urbassik (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone), Klaus Kukla (bass), Klaus Braun (drums, percussion), Helmut Körber (bass), James T. Durham (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, percussion), Don Braun-Hessing (drums)


  • Volcano (1976)
  • Sunny Day (1979)
  • Nobody’s Fool (1980)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *