Charge ‎– Perfection (1982)

Perfection is the lone full-length studio album by English art-punk/goth band Charge, released in 1982 on Kamera. Tracklist: A1. “Dancing on Graves” A2. “Luxury” A3. “Illusion of Fairness” A4. “Advanced State” A5. “Dead for Years” A6. “1st for a Title” B1. “Perfection” B2. “Revenge of the Midsummer Night’s Dream” B3. “Sir Hugo” B4. “Gasman” B5. “King […]

Ultravox ‎– Quartet (1982)

Quartet is the sixth album by English art rock/New Wave band Ultravox, released in 1982 on Chrysalis Records. Tracklist: A1. “Reap the Wild Wind” (3:47) A2. “Serenade” (5:02) A3. “Mine for Life” (4:44) A4. “Hymn” (5:45) B1. “Visions in Blue” (4:37) B2. “When the Scream Subsides” (4:16) B3. “We Came to Dance” (4:12) B4. “Cut […]

Polyphonic Size ‎– Live for Each Moment / Vivre Pour Chaque Instant (1982)

Live for Each Moment — English for “Vivre Pour Chaque Instant” — is the first full-length album by Belgian coldwave/art-pop combo Polyphonic Size, released in 1982 on New Rose. Initial pressings of the album feature Francisco Goya’s 1814 painting The Third of May 1808 on the front cover. Though technically a debut album, the band […]

Judas Priest ‎– Screaming for Vengeance (1982)

Screaming for Vengeance is the eighth studio album by English metal band Judas Priest, released in 1982 on Columbia. Tracklist: A1. “The Hellion” (0:41) A2. “Electric Eye” (3:39) A3. “Riding on the Wind” (3:07) A4. “Bloodstone” (3:51) A5. “(Take These) Chains” (3:07) A6. “Pain and Pleasure” (4:17) B1. “Screaming for Vengeance” (4:43) B2. “You’ve Got […]

Marshall Crenshaw ‎– Marshall Crenshaw (1982)

Marshall Crenshaw is the debut album by the namesake American guitarist/songwriter, released in 1982 on Warner Bros. Tracklist: A1. “There She Goes Again” (2:37) A2. “Someday, Someway” (2:49) A3. “Girls…” (3:01) A4. “I’ll Do Anything” (3:00) A5. “Rockin’ Around in N.Y.C.” (3:07) A6. “The Usual Thing” (3:02) B1. “She Can’t Dance” (2:45) B2. “Cynical Girl” (2:35) […]

Blanket of Secrecy ‎– Ears Have Walls (1982)

Ears Have Walls is the lone album by phantom English art-pop trio Blanket of Secrecy, released in 1982 on Warner Bros. Vocalist/guitarist “Tinker” was later revealed to be former Easy Street co-head Peter Marsh. Bassist “Tailor” turned out to be veteran soundman Andy Howell, whose prior engineering credits include albums by The Jam, Elvis Costello, […]

Lawrence Gowan ‎– Gowan (1982)

Gowan is the debut album by Scottish/Canadian hard-rock vocalist Lawrence Gowan, released in 1982 on Columbia/CBS. Tracklist: A1. “Jet White” (3:45) A2. “Keep Up the Fight” (4:08) A3. “Give In” (4:32) A4. “Come a Little Closer” (3:38) A5. “Make It Alone” (4:15) B1. “Oceania” (4:20) B2. “Send Me Energy” (3:53) B3. “I’m Not Involved” (4:33) B4. […]

Heart ‎– Private Audition (1982)

Private Audition is the fifth proper studio album by American hard rockers Heart, released in 1982 on Epic. Tracklist: A1. “City’s Burning” (4:25) A2. “Bright Light Girl” (3:22) A3. “Perfect Stranger” (3:52) A4. “Private Audition” (3:21) A5. “Angels” (2:59) A6. “This Man Is Mine” (3:02) B1. “The Situation” (4:17) B2. “Hey Darlin’ Darlin’” (4:00) B3. […]

Culture Club ‎– Kissing to Be Clever (1982)

Kissing to Be Clever is the debut album by English soul/pop foursome the Culture Club, released in 1982 on Virgin Records. Stateside copies include the band’s late-1982 single release “Time (Clock of the Heart).” Tracklist: A1. “White Boy (Dance Mix)” (4:40) A2. “You Know I’m Not Crazy” (3:35) A3. “I’ll Tumble 4 Ya” (2:34) A4. […]

Split Enz ‎– Time and Tide (1982)

Time and Tide is the seventh album by kiwi art-rock band Split Enz, released in 1982 on A&M Records. Tracklist: A1. “Dirty Creature” (4:00) A2. “Giant Heartbeat” (3:52) A3. “Hello Sandy Allen” (3:46) A4. “Never Ceases to Amaze Me” (3:03) A5. “Lost for Words” (2:56) A6. “Small World” (3:33) B1. “Take a Walk” (3:33) B2. […]

The Beat ‎– Special Beat Service (1982)

Special Beat Service is the third and final album by English New Wav/ska-pop/reggae band The Beat, released in 1982 on Go Feet/I.R.S. Tracklist: A1. “I Confess” (4:35) A2. “Jeanette” (2:49) A3. “Sorry” (2:44) A4. “Sole Salvation” (3:24) A5. “Spar Wid Me” (5:17) A6. “Rotating Heads” (3:25) B1. “Save It for Later” (3:37) B2. “She’s Going” […]

Rupert Hine ‎– Waving Not Drowning (1982)

Waving Not Drowning is the fourth solo album by English art-rock musician/producer Rupert Hine, released in 1982 on A&M. Tracklist: A1. “Eleven Faces” (3:46) A2. “The Curious Kind” (4:47) A3. “The Set Up” (4:24)* A4. “Dark Windows” (3:31) A5. “The Sniper” (5:30) B1. “Innocence in Paradise” (3:24) B2. “House Arrest” (4:17) B3. “The Outsider” (5:28) […]

Begnagrad ‎– Konzert for a Broken Dance (1982)

Begnagrad is the first and only proper album by the namesake Yugoslavian avant-garde rock/folk/instrumental ensemble, released in 1982 on ZKP RTVLJ. In 1991, a CD issue of the album entitled Konzert for a Broken Dance appeared on French RēR-affiliate Ayaa Disques. Tracklist (Ayaa CD): 1. “Romantična (The Romantic One)” (4:29) 2. “Pjanska (The Drinking One)” […]

Joe Jackson ‎– Night and Day (1982)

Night and Day is the fourth album of original studio material by English musician/vocalist Joe Jackson, released in 1982 on A&M. Tracklist: A1. “Another World” (4:00) A2. “Chinatown” (4:08) A3. “T.V. Age” (3:45) A4. “Target” (3:52) A5. “Steppin’ Out” (4:34) B1. “Breaking Us in Two” (4:57) B2. “Cancer” (6:06) B3. “Real Men” (4:05) B4. “A […]

The Fixx ‎– Shuttered Room (1982)

Shuttered Room is the debut album by English New Wave/art-rock band The Fixx, produced by Rupert Hine and released in 1982 on MCA. The UK and US versions of the album feature slightly different tracklists. Tracklist (UK): A1. “Some People” (3:01) A2. “Stand or Fall” (4:00) A3. “Cameras in Paris” (3:52) A4. “Shuttered Room” (2:47) […]

Super Freego ‎– Pourquoi Es-Tu Si Méchant? (1982)

Pourquoi Es-Tu Si Méchant? is the singular album by French avant-garde/New Wave band Super Freego, released in 1982 on RCA. Tracklist: A1. “Yekto le Kreutre” (3:40) A2. “Il y a” (4:16) A3. “Tu peux crever” (4:10) A4. “M’en fous” (3:27) A5. “Dommage tu avais l’âge” (3:51) B1. “À la folie” (3:43) B2. “Rock II (Pour une […]

ABC ‎– The Lexicon of Love (1982)

The Lexicon of Love is the debut album by Sheffield sophisti-pop/blue-eyed soul act ABC, produced by Trevor Horn and released in 1982 on Vertigo/Neutron/Mercury. Tracklist: A1. “Show Me” (4:02) A2. “Poison Arrow” (3:24) A3. “Many Happy Returns” (3:57) A4. “Tears Are Not Enough” (3:31) A5. “Valentine’s Day” (3:42) B1. “The Look of Love (Part One)” […]

Iron Maiden ‎– The Number of the Beast (1982)

The Number of the Beast is the third album by English metal band Iron Maiden, released in 1982 on EMI.   Tracklist: A1. “Invaders” 3:20 A2. “Children of the Damned” 4:34 A3. “The Prisoner” 5:34 A4. “22 Acacia Avenue” 6:34 B1. “The Number of the Beast” 4:25 B2. “Run to the Hills” 3:50 B3. “Gangland” […]