Peter Gabriel ‎– Peter Gabriel (1980)

Peter Gabriel — aka the “melting face” album — is the third consecutive self-titled solo album from Peter Gabriel. The album was issued in 1980 by Geffen after having been rejected by the artist’s longtime label Atlantic. Stylistically, the songs experiment with the buzzy, trebly sonorities of the day. Percussive ethno sounds course through “No […]

Morrissey Mullen

Morrissey Mullen was the jazz-funk duo of English saxophonist Dick Morrissey and Scottish guitarist Jim Mullen, who began their partnership with the album Up on Embryo Records in 1977, followed by Cape Wrath on Harvest in 1979. Between 1981 and 1983, the pair released three albums on Beggars Banquet, followed by two further titles on […]

Morrissey Mullen ‎– It’s About Time… (1983)

It’s About Time… is the fifth album by the jazz-funk duo of saxophonist Dick Morrissey and guitarist Jim Mullen, released in 1983 on Beggars Banquet. The album features the vocals of Tessa Niles, the woman pictured on the cover with the duo. Tracklist: A1. “Stop and Look Around” (5:07) A2. “It’s About Time…” (3:29) A3. “Ounce […]

Orange Juice ‎– Rip It Up (1982)

Rip It Up is the second album by Scottish New Wave/funk-pop band Orange Juice, released in November 1982 on Polydor. Tracklist: A1. “Rip It Up” (5:19) A2. “A Million Pleading Faces” (3:15) A3. “Mud in Your Eye” (3:56) A4. “Turn Away” (3:19) A5. “Breakfast Time” (5:10) B1. “I Can’t Help Myself” (5:06) B2. “Flesh of […]


If was an English sax-rock band from London that released two albums on Island in 1970, followed by a second pair of titles on U.A.–Metromedia in 1972–73 and a further pair on Gull during the mid-1970s. Saxophonist Dick Morrissey later formed a prolific partnership with ex-Piblokto!–Oblivion guitarist Jim Mullen in the duo Morrissey Mullen. Members: […]

Gino Vannelli ‎– A Pauper in Paradise (1977)

A Pauper in Paradise is the fifth album by Canadian symphonic/soul artist Gino Vannelli, released in 1977 on A&M. Tracklist: A1. “Mardi Gras” (3:26) A2. “Valleys of Valhalla” (4:23) A3. “Surest Things Can Change” (4:35) A4. “One Night With You” (4:18) A5. “Song and Dance” (3:37) B1. “Black and Blue” (4:21) B2. “Pauper in Paradise […]

If ‎– If 2 (1970)

If 2 is the second album by English sax-rock ensemble If, released in 1970 on Island/Capitol. Tracklist: A1. “Your City Is Falling” (5:04) A2. “Sunday Sad” (8:18) A3. “Tarmac T. Pirate and the Lonesome Nymphoniac” (5:12) B1. “I Couldn’t Write and Tell You” (8:23) B2. “Shadows and Echoes” (4:24) B3. “A Song for Elsa, Three […]

IF ‎– If 3 (1971)

If 3 is the third album by English sax-rock ensemble If, released in 1971 on United Artists/Capitol. Tracklist: A1. “Fibonacci’s Number” (7:38) A2. “Forgotten Roads” (4:23) A3. “Sweet January” (4:30) A4. “Child of Storm” (3:39) B1. “Far Beyond” (4:57) B2. “Seldom Seen Sam” (4:50) B3. “Upstairs” (4:42) B4. “Here Comes Mr. Time” (4:43) Credits: John […]