Morrissey Mullen

Morrissey Mullen was the jazz-funk duo of English saxophonist Dick Morrissey and Scottish guitarist Jim Mullen, who began their partnership with the album Up on Embryo Records in 1977, followed by Cape Wrath on Harvest in 1979. Between 1981 and 1983, the pair released three albums on Beggars Banquet, followed by two further titles on Coda Records between 1985 and 1987. The pair worked with a series of vocalists, including Linda Taylor (Gonzalez), Carol Kenyon, Tessa Niles, and Noel McCalla (Moon).

Morrissey first appeared fronting a namesake post-bop quartet during the early 1960s and later steered brass-rockers If through seven studio albums between 1970 and 1975. Mullen played on the two 1970 albums by Pete Brown & Piblokto!, followed by a three-albums stint with Brian Auger’s Oblivion Express and a founding role in Kokomo.

Members: Dick Morrissey (saxophone), Jim Mullen (guitar)


  • Up (1977 • Jim Mullen & Dick Morrissey)
  • Cape Wrath (1979 • Dick Morrissey / Jim Mullen)
  • Badness (1981)
  • Life on the Wire (1982)
  • Its About Time (1983)
  • This Must Be the Place (1985)
  • Happy Hour (1988)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *