Hatfield and the North

Hatfield and the North were an English jazz-rock band that released the 1974/75 Virgin albums Hatfield and the North and The Rotter’s Club. They were formed by ex-members of Caravan, Delivery, and Matching Mole. Keyboardist Dave Stewart (Arzachel, Egg, Khan) completed the band. Their backing vocalists, The Northettes, included singer Barbara Gaskin (Spirogyra). Three-fourths of Hatfield […]

National Health

National Health was an English avant-jazz/rock band from Canterbury that released a self-titled album on Affinity in 1978, followed that same year by Of Queues and Cures on parent-label Charly. The band featured three-fourths of Hatfield and the North — keyboardist Dave Stewart, guitarist Phil Miller, and drummer Pip Pyle — with a revolving line […]


Delivery — alternately billed as Carol Grimes & Delivery — was an English jazz-rock/soul band that released the album Fools Meeting on B & C Records in 1970. The band served as an early vehicle for future members of Soft Machine, Hatfield & the North, and National Health. Members: Phil Miller (guitar), Steve Miller (piano), […]

Patrice Meyer ‎– Dromadaire Viennois (1986)

Dromadaire Viennois is the third album by French guitarist Patrice Meyer, released in 1986 on FMR. Tracklist: The Quartet A1. “Amusante Clémentine” (5:53) A2. “Dromadaire viennois” (5:23) A3. “Rasoir” (8:26) Cinq Bucoliques B1. a. “Les flocons d’avoine” (1:11) B2. b. “La valse lydienne” (5:27) B3. c. “L’école buissonnière” (2:18) B4. d. “La retenue” (2:59) B5. […]

National Health ‎– D.S. Al Coda (1982)

D.S. Al Coda is the third and final album by English jazz-rock ensemble National Health, released in 1982 Europa. The album consists of material composed by early member Alan Gowan, who passed from leukemia the prior year. Tracklist: A1. “Portrait of a Shrinking Man” (5:35) A2. “TNTFX” (3:11) A3. “Black Hat” (4:52) A4. “I Feel […]

The Ghoulies – Dogged by Dogma (1982)

Dogged by Dogma is a 1982 album by one-off project The Ghoulies, with songs written by Welsh multi-instrumentalist Charlie Summers and released on his own Lounging Records label. Of the album’s nine tracks, six feature a studio collective that includes Hatfield and the North/National Health alumni Dave Stewart and Pip Pyle. Tracklist: A1. “Listening to […]

National Health ‎– Of Queues and Cures (1978)

Of Queues and Cures is the second album by English jazz-rock ensemble National Health, released in 1978 on Charly. Tracklist: A1. “The Bryden 2-Step (For Amphibians) Part 1” (8:45) A2. “The Collapso” (6:09) A3. “Squarer for Maud” (11:30) B1. “Dreams Wide Awake” (8:36) B2. “Binoculars” (11:30 — 1:00-5:10-7:44-8:57-11:40) B3. “Phlâkatön” (0:08) B4. “The Bryden 2-Step […]

The Ghoulies

The Ghoulies was an avant-jazz/rock project assembled by Welsh musician Charlie Summers with an assortment of U.K. musicians, including Hatfield and the North/National Health alumni Dave Stewart and Pip Pyle. The project yielded the album Dogged by Dogma, released on Summers’ Lounging Records label in 1982. Members: Charlie Summers (guitar, vocals, flageolet, organ), Dave Stewart […]

Hatfield and the North ‎– The Rotters’ Club (1975)

The Rotters’ Club is the second of two albums by Canterburian jazz-rock ensemble Hatfield and the North, released in 1975 on Virgin. Tracklist: A1. “Share It” (3:02) A2. “Lounging There Trying” (3:10) A3. “(Big) John Wayne Socks Psychology on the Jaw” (0:46) A4. “Chaos at the Greasy Spoon” (0:30) A5. “The Yes No Interlude” (7:02) […]

Hatfield and the North ‎– Hatfield and the North (1974)

Hatfield and the North is the first of two albums by the namesake Canterburian jazz-rock ensemble, released in 1974 on Virgin. Tracklist: A1. “The Stubbs Effect” (0:22) A2. “Big Jobs (Poo Poo Extract)” (0:36) A3. “Going Up to People and Tinkling” (2:25) A4. “Calyx” (2:45) A5. “Son of ‘There’s No Place Like Homerton’” (10:10) A6. […]

National Health ‎– National Health (1977)

National Health is the debut album by the namesake English jazz-rock ensemble, recorded in 1977 and released in February 1978 on Affinity/Passport. Tracklist: A1. “Tenemos Roads” (14:43) A2. “Brujo” (10:19 — :01-4:05-10:10) B1. “Borogoves (Excerpt From Part 2)” (4:16) B2. “Borogoves (Part 1)” (6:37) B3. “Elephants” (14:37) Credits: Dave Stewart — organ, piano, electric piano, […]