Mtume were an American soul-funk band that released five albums on Epic between 1978 and 1986. The band was led by the namesake percussionist, who played on numerous spiritual jazz recordings during the 1970s as both a sideman and bandleader.

Members: Mtume (vocals, keyboards, congas), Reggie Lucas (guitar), Tawatha (vocals, guitar), Basil Fearington (bass), Hubert Eaves (keyboards, synthesizer), Howard King (drums, backing vocals), Philip Field (keyboards, backing vocals), Raymond Jackson (bass, guitar, synthesizer, backing vocals)


  • Kiss This World Goodbye (1978)
  • In Search of the Rainbow Seekers (1980)
  • Juicy Fruit (1983)
  • You, Me and He (1984)
  • Theater of the Mind (1986)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *