Brainstorm were an American soul-funk band from Detroit that released three albums on Tabu Records between 1977 and 1979.

Members: Belita Woods (lead vocals), Charles “Chuck” Overton (alto saxophone, soprano saxophone), Jeryl Bright (trombone), Professor R J Ross [Bob Ross] (keyboards), Renell Gonsalves (drums), Larry H. “Leap” Sims, Gerald Kent (lead guitar, rhythm guitar), Bongo Lady Way [Trenita Womack] (vocals), E. Lamont Johnson (bass), Willie Wooten (keyboards), Deon Estus (bass)


  • Stormin’ (1977)
  • Journey to the Light (1978)
  • Funky Entertainment (1979)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *